Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Waffle, chocolate calories: 328 per 1 medium waffle (75 g)

This exact USDA record reports 328 calories for 1 medium waffle (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium waffle · 75 g

Calories
328 kcal
Protein
6.8 g
Carbohydrate
36.5 g
Total fat
17 g
Fiber
2.2 g
Sodium
388 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium waffle · 75 g

328calories

Waffle, chocolate

Protein
6.8 g
Carbs
36.5 g
Fat
17 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708327

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 328 calories for 1 medium waffle at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 437 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.8 g protein, 2.2 g fiber, and 388 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 34.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium waffle at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–590 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708327: “Waffle, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708327, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 thick / Belgian waffle” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure 2.5 g 11 kcal 0.2 g 0.1 g 13 mg
1 medium waffleUSDA-listed household measure 75 g 328 kcal 6.8 g 2.2 g 388 mg
1 thick / Belgian waffleUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 590 kcal 12.2 g 3.9 g 698 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pancakes, waffles, French toast

The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708327’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

437 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
273 kcal
Middle 50%
245–315 kcal

Based on 43 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

9.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
7.4 g
Middle 50%
6.1–8.4 g

Based on 43 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
1.8–2.9 g

Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

517 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
467 mg
Middle 50%
409–543 mg

Based on 43 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708327’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium185 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron1 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.9 g

≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium388 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Waffle, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708321 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 surface inch to 1 thick / Belgian waffle

    USDA assigns those measures 2.5 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 590 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708321

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 6.2 g less total fat than “Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Milk, NFS

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 34.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2708321 when “chocolate; fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Waffle, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Waffle, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708327 · FNDDS 55203600
Named qualifiers
chocolate

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708321 · FNDDS 55200110
Named qualifiers
chocolate · fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Salt, table

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordWaffle, chocolate 75 g328 kcal 437 kcal 9.1 g 22.7 g 2.9 g 517 mg
Waffle, chocolate, frozen 80 g256 kcal 320 kcal 7.4 g 10.5 g 2.6 g 441 mg
Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant 75 g360 kcal 480 kcal 8.6 g 28.9 g 2.7 g 541 mg
Waffle, plain 75 g280 kcal 373 kcal 8.7 g 18.8 g 2.5 g 597 mg
Waffle, cinnamon 75 g280 kcal 373 kcal 8.7 g 18.8 g 2.7 g 596 mg
Pancakes, chocolate 100 g341 kcal 341 kcal 7.7 g 15.9 g 2.4 g 438 mg
Waffle, fruit 75 g230 kcal 307 kcal 6.9 g 14.9 g 2.8 g 467 mg

How to compare FDC 2708327: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708327, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature/bite size waffle

44 kcal

10 g

1 small waffle

175 kcal

40 g

1 medium waffle

328 kcal

75 g

1 large waffle

546 kcal

125 g

1 thick / Belgian waffle

590 kcal

135 g

1 surface inch

11 kcal

3 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708327, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

5.9 g≈ 29% Daily Value

Total fat

17 g≈ 22% Daily Value

Cholesterol

53.3 mg≈ 18% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708327’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708327 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 388 mg sodium, about 17% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 328 kcal Not established
Protein 6.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 36.5 g 13%
Total fat 17 g 22%
Dietary fiber 2.2 g 8%
Sugars 14.3 g Not established
Sodium 387.8 mg 17%
Saturated fat 5.9 g 29%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 53.3 mg 18%
Potassium 193.5 mg 4%
Calcium 185.3 mg 14%
Iron 1.5 mg 8%
Magnesium 25.5 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.7 µg 3%
Vitamin A 66.8 µg 7%
Caffeine 3.8 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 12.3 g Not established

For FDC 2708327, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708327 to 7 source inputs totaling 516 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Waffle, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk), Candies, milk chocolate. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

516 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk)USDA ingredient 18291 · encyclopedia page available 140 GM 140 g 27.1%
2 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 13 GM 13 g 2.5%
3 Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available 180 GM 180 g 34.9%
4 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 9.7%
5 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 28 GM 28 g 5.4%
6 Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 3.9%
7 Candies, milk chocolateUSDA ingredient 19120 · encyclopedia page available 85 GM 85 g 16.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708327, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories437 kcal480 kcal−43 kcal
Protein9.1 g8.6 g+0.5 g
Carbohydrate48.6 g46.1 g+2.5 g
Total fat22.7 g28.9 g−6.2 g
Dietary fiber2.9 g2.7 g+0.2 g
Sodium517 mg541 mg−24 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 43 less calories and 6.2 g less total fat than “Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant.”

Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk); Sugars, granulated; Milk, NFS; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 3 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708327 with FDC 2708321 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708327 versus FDC 2708321 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708327 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Waffle, chocolate,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708327 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 437 kcal per 100 g becomes 328 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium waffle has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708327

FNDDS food code: 55203600

The scaling for FDC 2708327 can be exact while the match to “Waffle, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.