Energy
upper quarter428 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 273 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 245–315 kcal
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 321 calories for 1 medium waffle (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant
Quick facts
1 medium waffle · 75 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium waffle · 75 g
321calories
Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 321 calories for 1 medium waffle at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 428 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.1 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 465 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 39.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium waffle at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–578 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708320: “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708320, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 thick / Belgian waffle” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure | 2.5 g | 11 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 16 mg |
| 1 medium waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 321 kcal | 6.1 g | 1.8 g | 465 mg |
| 1 thick / Belgian waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 578 kcal | 11 g | 3.2 g | 837 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708320’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter428 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter620 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708320’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium170 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A63.8 µg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium465 mg
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.8 g
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708321 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2.5 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 578 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.2 g less carbohydrate than “Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 39.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “plain; fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2708321 when “chocolate; fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “plain” and “fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordWaffle, plain, fast food / restaurant | 75 g321 kcal | 428 kcal | 8.2 g | 26.4 g | 2.4 g | 620 mg |
| Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant | 75 g360 kcal | 480 kcal | 8.6 g | 28.9 g | 2.7 g | 541 mg |
| Waffle, fruit, fast food / restaurant | 75 g266 kcal | 354 kcal | 6.6 g | 21.1 g | 2.7 g | 492 mg |
| Waffle, whole grain, fast food / restaurant | 75 g316 kcal | 421 kcal | 8.6 g | 26.9 g | 3.5 g | 855 mg |
| Pancakes, plain, fast food / restaurant | 100 g307 kcal | 307 kcal | 7.2 g | 15.5 g | 2.1 g | 544 mg |
| Pancakes, chocolate, fast food / restaurant | 100 g360 kcal | 360 kcal | 7.5 g | 18.7 g | 2.4 g | 470 mg |
| Waffle, plain | 75 g280 kcal | 373 kcal | 8.7 g | 18.8 g | 2.5 g | 597 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708320: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708320, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
43 kcal
10 g
171 kcal
40 g
321 kcal
75 g
535 kcal
125 g
578 kcal
135 g
11 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708320, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
19.8 g≈ 25% Daily ValueSodium
465 mg≈ 20% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.8 g≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708320’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708320 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 321 kcal 428 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.1 g 8.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 29.2 g 38.9 g | 11% 14% |
| Total fat | 19.8 g 26.4 g | 25% 34% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 2.4 g | 6% 9% |
| Sugars | 5.8 g 7.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 465 mg 620 mg | 20% 27% |
| Saturated fat | 3.8 g 5.1 g | 19% 25% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 7.7 g 10.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 6.7 g 8.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 54.8 mg 73 mg | 18% 24% |
| Potassium | 144 mg 192 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 170.3 mg 227 mg | 13% 17% |
| Iron | 1.2 mg 1.6 mg | 7% 9% |
| Magnesium | 16.5 mg 22 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 1.1 µg | 4% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 63.8 µg 85 µg | 7% 9% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 17.6 g 23.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708320, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708320 to 7 source inputs totaling 459.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk), Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
459.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk)USDA ingredient 18291 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 30.5% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 13 GM | 13 g | 2.8% |
| 3 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 180 GM | 180 g | 39.2% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 10.9% |
| 5 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 56 GM | 56 g | 12.2% |
| 6 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 4.4% |
| 7 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708320, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 428 kcal | 480 kcal | −52 kcal |
| Protein | 8.2 g | 8.6 g | −0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 38.9 g | 46.1 g | −7.2 g |
| Total fat | 26.4 g | 28.9 g | −2.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.4 g | 2.7 g | −0.3 g |
| Sodium | 620 mg | 541 mg | +79 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 52 less calories, 7.2 g less carbohydrate, and 79 mg more sodium than “Waffle, chocolate, fast food / restaurant.”
Only the comparison record lists Candies, milk chocolate. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk); Sugars, granulated; Milk, NFS; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 3 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Candies, milk chocolate.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708320 with FDC 2708321 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708320 versus FDC 2708321 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708320 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708320 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat.
For “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708320 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 428 kcal per 100 g becomes 321 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium waffle has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708320
FNDDS food code: 55200100
The scaling for FDC 2708320 can be exact while the match to “Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.