Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten calories: 822 per 1 regular (300 g)

This exact USDA record reports 822 calories for 1 regular (300 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten

Quick facts

1 regular · 300 g

Calories
822 kcal
Protein
75.6 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
55.2 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
1,113 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular · 300 g

822calories

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten

Protein
75.6 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
55.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705839

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 822 calories for 1 regular at 300 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 274 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 75.6 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 1,113 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, representing 99.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 47–1,233 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705839: “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705839, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 thick” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 17 g 47 kcal 4.3 g 0 g 63 mg
1 regularUSDA-listed household measure 300 g 822 kcal 75.6 g 0 g 1,113 mg
1 thickUSDA-listed household measure 450 g 1,233 kcal 113.4 g 0 g 1,670 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Beef, excludes ground

The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Beef, excludes ground USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705839’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

274 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
251 kcal
Middle 50%
225–257 kcal

Based on 25 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

25.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
26.5 g
Middle 50%
25.9–28.4 g

Based on 25 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

371 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
370 mg
Middle 50%
361–377 mg

Based on 25 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705839’s 300 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron9 mg

≈ 50% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium765 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat22.3 g

≈ 111% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium1,113 mg

≈ 48% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705840 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 thick

    USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 450 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 47 kcal to 1,233 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705840

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.7 g more total fat than “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled supplies 99.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “steak; T-bone; lean and fat eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705840 when “steak; T-bone; lean only eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten

Exact source wording
“Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705839 · FNDDS 21103160
Named qualifiers
steak · T-bone · lean and fat eaten

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten

Exact source wording
“Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705840 · FNDDS 21103170
Named qualifiers
steak · T-bone · lean only eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “steak”, “T-bone”, and “lean and fat eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBeef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten 300 g822 kcal 274 kcal 25.2 g 18.4 g 0 g 371 mg
Beef, steak, sirloin, lean and fat eaten 160 g419 kcal 262 kcal 26.2 g 16.6 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, strip, lean and fat eaten 240 g629 kcal 262 kcal 26.2 g 16.6 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, ribeye, lean and fat eaten 240 g694 kcal 289 kcal 23.5 g 21.6 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten 300 g690 kcal 230 kcal 27.1 g 12.7 g 0 g 373 mg
Beef, steak, ribeye, lean only eaten 240 g552 kcal 230 kcal 26.5 g 13.8 g 0 g 364 mg
Beef, steak, sirloin, lean only eaten 160 g346 kcal 216 kcal 28 g 11.3 g 0 g 361 mg

How to compare FDC 2705839: its source amount is 300 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705839, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece/slice, any size

82 kcal

30 g

1 thin

617 kcal

225 g

1 regular

822 kcal

300 g

1 thick

1,233 kcal

450 g

1 oz yields

55 kcal

20 g

1 cubic inch

47 kcal

17 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705839, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

22.3 g≈ 111% Daily Value

Cholesterol

246 mg≈ 82% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705839’s 300 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705839 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 75.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705839 at 300 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1113 mg sodium, about 48% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 300 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 822 kcal Not established
Protein 75.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 55.2 g 71%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 1,113 mg 48%
Saturated fat 22.3 g 111%
Monounsaturated Fat 24.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 246 mg 82%
Potassium 765 mg 16%
Calcium 57 mg 4%
Iron 8.9 mg 50%
Magnesium 60 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 21 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 165.6 g Not established

For FDC 2705839, approximate percentages divide the displayed 300 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705839 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilledUSDA ingredient 23002 100 GM 100 g 99.2%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.8 GM 0.8 g 0.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705839, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Beef, excludes ground” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories274 kcal230 kcal+44 kcal
Protein25.2 g27.1 g−1.9 g
Carbohydrate0 g0 gSame listed value
Total fat18.4 g12.7 g+5.7 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium371 mg373 mg−2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 44 more calories and 5.7 g more total fat than “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten.”

Only the comparison record lists Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled; Salt, table.

Listed only in the comparison: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 300 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (300 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 300 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (300 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705839 with FDC 2705840 at equal mass; use their 300 g and 300 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705839 versus FDC 2705840 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full beef, excludes ground source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705839 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705839 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 274 kcal per 100 g becomes 822 kcal at 300 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Exact USDA description: Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705839

FNDDS food code: 21103160

The scaling for FDC 2705839 can be exact while the match to “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 300 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.