Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten calories: 690 per 1 regular (300 g)

This exact USDA record reports 690 calories for 1 regular (300 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 regular · 300 g

Calories
690 kcal
Protein
81.3 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
38.1 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
1,119 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular · 300 g

690calories

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten

Protein
81.3 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
38.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705840

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 690 calories for 1 regular at 300 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 230 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 81.3 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 1,119 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, representing 69.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 39–1,035 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705840: “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705840, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 thick” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 17 g 39 kcal 4.6 g 0 g 63 mg
1 regularUSDA-listed household measure 300 g 690 kcal 81.3 g 0 g 1,119 mg
1 thickUSDA-listed household measure 450 g 1,035 kcal 122 g 0 g 1,679 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Beef, excludes ground

The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Beef, excludes ground USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705840’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

230 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
251 kcal
Middle 50%
225–257 kcal

Based on 25 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

27.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
26.5 g
Middle 50%
25.9–28.4 g

Based on 25 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

373 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
370 mg
Middle 50%
361–377 mg

Based on 25 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705840’s 300 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron9 mg

≈ 52% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium837 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat15.1 g

≈ 75% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium1,119 mg

≈ 49% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705839 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 thick

    USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 450 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 39 kcal to 1,035 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705839

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.7 g less total fat than “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled supplies 69.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “steak; T-bone; lean only eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705839 when “steak; T-bone; lean and fat eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten

Exact source wording
“Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705840 · FNDDS 21103170
Named qualifiers
steak · T-bone · lean only eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten

Exact source wording
“Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705839 · FNDDS 21103160
Named qualifiers
steak · T-bone · lean and fat eaten

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “steak”, “T-bone”, and “lean only eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBeef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten 300 g690 kcal 230 kcal 27.1 g 12.7 g 0 g 373 mg
Beef, steak, ribeye, lean only eaten 240 g552 kcal 230 kcal 26.5 g 13.8 g 0 g 364 mg
Beef, steak, sirloin, lean only eaten 160 g346 kcal 216 kcal 28 g 11.3 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, strip, lean only eaten 240 g518 kcal 216 kcal 28 g 11.3 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten 300 g822 kcal 274 kcal 25.2 g 18.4 g 0 g 371 mg
Beef, steak, sirloin, lean and fat eaten 160 g419 kcal 262 kcal 26.2 g 16.6 g 0 g 361 mg
Beef, steak, strip, lean and fat eaten 240 g629 kcal 262 kcal 26.2 g 16.6 g 0 g 361 mg

How to compare FDC 2705840: its source amount is 300 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705840, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece/slice, any size

69 kcal

30 g

1 thin

518 kcal

225 g

1 regular

690 kcal

300 g

1 thick

1,035 kcal

450 g

1 oz yields

46 kcal

20 g

1 cubic inch

39 kcal

17 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705840, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

246 mg≈ 82% Daily Value

Saturated fat

15.1 g≈ 75% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705840’s 300 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705840 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 81.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705840 at 300 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1119 mg sodium, about 49% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 300 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 690 kcal Not established
Protein 81.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 38.1 g 49%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 1,119 mg 49%
Saturated fat 15.1 g 75%
Monounsaturated Fat 16.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 246 mg 82%
Potassium 837 mg 18%
Calcium 57 mg 4%
Iron 9.4 mg 52%
Magnesium 66 mg 16%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 21 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 177 g Not established

For FDC 2705840, approximate percentages divide the displayed 300 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705840 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilledUSDA ingredient 13465 70 GM 70 g 69.4%
2 Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilledUSDA ingredient 23002 30 GM 30 g 29.8%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.8 GM 0.8 g 0.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705840, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Beef, excludes ground” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories230 kcal274 kcal−44 kcal
Protein27.1 g25.2 g+1.9 g
Carbohydrate0 g0 gSame listed value
Total fat12.7 g18.4 g−5.7 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium373 mg371 mg+2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 44 less calories and 5.7 g less total fat than “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean and fat eaten.”

Only this record lists Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Beef, short loin, porterhouse steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 300 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (300 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 300 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (300 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705840 with FDC 2705839 at equal mass; use their 300 g and 300 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705840 versus FDC 2705839 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full beef, excludes ground source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705840 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705840 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 230 kcal per 100 g becomes 690 kcal at 300 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705840

FNDDS food code: 21103170

The scaling for FDC 2705840 can be exact while the match to “Beef, steak, T-bone, lean only eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 300 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.