Energy
lower quarter196 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 251 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 225–257 kcal
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 314 calories for 1 regular (160 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 160 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 160 g
314calories
Beef, steak, tenderloin
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 314 calories for 1 regular at 160 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 196 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 48.8 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 586 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, representing 99.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 33–470 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705841: “Beef, steak, tenderloin.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705841, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 thick” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 17 g | 33 kcal | 5.2 g | 0 g | 62 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 160 g | 314 kcal | 48.8 g | 0 g | 586 mg |
| 1 thickUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 470 kcal | 73.2 g | 0 g | 878 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Beef, excludes ground USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705841’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter196 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter30.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half366 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705841’s 160 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron6 mg
≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium619 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.2 g
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium586 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beef, steak, tenderloin,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705825 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 240 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 33 kcal to 470 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.2 g less total fat than “Beef, steak, chuck.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled supplies 99.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “steak; tenderloin” fits. Inspect FDC 2705825 when “steak; chuck” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “steak” and “tenderloin”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeef, steak, tenderloin | 160 g314 kcal | 196 kcal | 30.5 g | 8.3 g | 0 g | 366 mg |
| Beef, steak, cube | 160 g299 kcal | 187 kcal | 28.8 g | 7.1 g | 0 g | 379 mg |
| Beef, steak, chuck | 160 g360 kcal | 225 kcal | 26 g | 13.4 g | 0 g | 380 mg |
| Beef, steak, round | 160 g266 kcal | 166 kcal | 29.7 g | 4.3 g | 0 g | 382 mg |
| Beef, steak, flank | 160 g389 kcal | 243 kcal | 29.1 g | 14.1 g | 0 g | 370 mg |
| Beef, sandwich steak | 60 g196 kcal | 326 kcal | 18.3 g | 27.6 g | 0 g | 359 mg |
| Beef, steak, country fried | 160 g490 kcal | 306 kcal | 19.9 g | 21 g | 0.3 g | 432 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705841: its source amount is 160 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705841, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
59 kcal
30 g
235 kcal
120 g
314 kcal
160 g
470 kcal
240 g
39 kcal
20 g
33 kcal
17 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705841, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
147.2 mg≈ 49% Daily ValueIron
5.7 mg≈ 32% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705841’s 160 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705841 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 48.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705841 at 160 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 160 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 314 kcal 196 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 48.8 g 30.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 13.2 g 8.3 g | 17% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 585.6 mg 366 mg | 25% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 5.2 g 3.3 g | 26% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.9 g 3.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.9 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 147.2 mg 92 mg | 49% 31% |
| Potassium | 619.2 mg 387 mg | 13% 8% |
| Calcium | 24 mg 15 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 5.7 mg 3.6 mg | 32% 20% |
| Magnesium | 32 mg 20 mg | 8% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 3.2 µg 2 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 96.5 g 60.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705841, approximate percentages divide the displayed 160 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705841 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef, steak, tenderloin” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilledUSDA ingredient 13442 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.2% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705841, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Beef, excludes ground” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 196 kcal | 225 kcal | −29 kcal |
| Protein | 30.5 g | 26 g | +4.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Total fat | 8.3 g | 13.4 g | −5.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 366 mg | 380 mg | −14 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 29 less calories, 4.5 g more protein, and 5.2 g less total fat than “Beef, steak, chuck.”
Only this record lists Beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled. Only the comparison record lists Beef, chuck, under blade center steak, boneless, Denver Cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Beef, loin, tenderloin steak, boneless, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled.
Listed only in the comparison: Beef, chuck, under blade center steak, boneless, Denver Cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, grilled.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 160 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (160 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 160 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (160 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705841 with FDC 2705825 at equal mass; use their 160 g and 160 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705841 versus FDC 2705825 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full beef, excludes ground source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Beef, steak, tenderloin” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705841 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Beef, steak, tenderloin,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705841 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 196 kcal per 100 g becomes 314 kcal at 160 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705841
FNDDS food code: 21103180
The scaling for FDC 2705841 can be exact while the match to “Beef, steak, tenderloin” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 160 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.