Energy
upper quarter306 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 70 calories for 1 slice (23 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 23 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 23 g
70calories
Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 70 calories for 1 slice at 23 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 306 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.6 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 138 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, native, water, puerto rican style, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707607: “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707607, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 17.3 g | 53 kcal | 2 g | 0.3 g | 103 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 23 g | 70 kcal | 2.6 g | 0.5 g | 138 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 28.8 g | 88 kcal | 3.3 g | 0.6 g | 172 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707607’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter306 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half11.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter598 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707607’s 23 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium138 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.2 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707606 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 17.3–28.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 53 kcal and 88 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 27 kcal more calories than “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “native; water; toasted; Puerto Rican style” fits. Inspect FDC 2707606 when “native; water; Puerto Rican style” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “native”, “water”, “toasted”, and “Puerto Rican style”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style | 23 g70 kcal | 306 kcal | 11.4 g | 3.6 g | 2 g | 598 mg |
| Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style | 25 g70 kcal | 279 kcal | 10.4 g | 3.3 g | 1.8 g | 544 mg |
| Bread, lard, toasted, Puerto Rican style | 23 g72 kcal | 314 kcal | 8.1 g | 3.6 g | 2.2 g | 482 mg |
| Bread, lard, Puerto Rican style | 25 g71 kcal | 282 kcal | 7.3 g | 3.3 g | 2 g | 433 mg |
| Bread, barley, toasted | 25 g75 kcal | 301 kcal | 11.7 g | 5 g | 4.4 g | 495 mg |
| Bread, Cuban, toasted | 18 g54 kcal | 299 kcal | 11.8 g | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | 662 mg |
| Bread, raisin, toasted | 25 g74 kcal | 297 kcal | 9.7 g | 3.6 g | 2.8 g | 448 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707607: its source amount is 23 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707607, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
70 kcal
23 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707607, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
137.5 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueIron
1 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707607’s 23 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707607 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 23 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 70 kcal 306 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.6 g 11.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 13.2 g 57.3 g | 5% 21% |
| Total fat | 0.8 g 3.6 g | 1% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.5 g 2 g | 2% 7% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 137.5 mg 598 mg | 6% 26% |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g 0.8 g | 1% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 29.4 mg 128 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 7.1 mg 31 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 1 mg 4.3 mg | 5% 24% |
| Magnesium | 6.9 mg 30 mg | 2% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 5.9 g 25.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707607, approximate percentages divide the displayed 23 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707607 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican styleUSDA ingredient 51106010 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707607, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 306 kcal | 279 kcal | +27 kcal |
| Protein | 11.4 g | 10.4 g | +1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 57.3 g | 52.2 g | +5.1 g |
| Total fat | 3.6 g | 3.3 g | +0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 1.8 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 598 mg | 544 mg | +54 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 more calories than “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style.”
Only this record lists Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style. Only the comparison record lists Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Salt, table; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style.
Listed only in the comparison: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Salt, table; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed; and 3 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 23 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (23 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 25 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (25 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707607 with FDC 2707606 at equal mass; use their 23 g and 25 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707607 versus FDC 2707606 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707607 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707607 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 306 kcal per 100 g becomes 70 kcal at 23 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707607
FNDDS food code: 51106020
The scaling for FDC 2707607 can be exact while the match to “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 23 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.