Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style calories: 70 per 1 slice (25 g)

This exact USDA record reports 70 calories for 1 slice (25 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 slice · 25 g

Calories
70 kcal
Protein
2.6 g
Carbohydrate
13.1 g
Total fat
0.8 g
Fiber
0.5 g
Sodium
136 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice · 25 g

70calories

Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style

Protein
2.6 g
Carbs
13.1 g
Fat
0.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707606

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 70 calories for 1 slice at 25 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.6 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 136 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, representing 58.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707606: “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707606, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 18.8 g 52 kcal 2 g 0.3 g 102 mg
1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure 25 g 70 kcal 2.6 g 0.5 g 136 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 31.3 g 87 kcal 3.3 g 0.6 g 170 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Yeast breads

The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707606’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

279 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
277 kcal
Middle 50%
262–299 kcal

Based on 104 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

10.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
8.8–11.4 g

Based on 104 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–6.3 g

Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

544 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
495 mg
Middle 50%
447–585 mg

Based on 104 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707606’s 25 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium136 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.2 g

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707607 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 25 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 18.8–31.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 52 kcal and 87 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707607

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 27 kcal less calories than “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached supplies 58.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “native; water; Puerto Rican style” fits. Inspect FDC 2707607 when “native; water; toasted; Puerto Rican style” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style

Exact source wording
“Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707606 · FNDDS 51106010
Named qualifiers
native · water · Puerto Rican style
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached · Beverages, water, tap, municipal · Salt, table

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style

Exact source wording
“Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707607 · FNDDS 51106020
Named qualifiers
native · water · toasted · Puerto Rican style
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “native”, “water”, and “Puerto Rican style”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBread, native, water, Puerto Rican style 25 g70 kcal 279 kcal 10.4 g 3.3 g 1.8 g 544 mg
Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style 23 g70 kcal 306 kcal 11.4 g 3.6 g 2 g 598 mg
Bread, lard, Puerto Rican style 25 g71 kcal 282 kcal 7.3 g 3.3 g 2 g 433 mg
Bread, lard, toasted, Puerto Rican style 23 g72 kcal 314 kcal 8.1 g 3.6 g 2.2 g 482 mg
Bread, pita 57 g157 kcal 275 kcal 9.1 g 1.2 g 2.2 g 536 mg
Bread, barley 28 g77 kcal 274 kcal 10.7 g 4.5 g 4 g 450 mg
Bread, Cuban 20 g54 kcal 272 kcal 10.8 g 2.4 g 2.2 g 602 mg

How to compare FDC 2707606: its source amount is 25 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707606, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 slice

70 kcal

25 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707606, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

136 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

Iron

1 mg≈ 5% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707606’s 25 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707606 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 25 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 70 kcal Not established
Protein 2.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 13.1 g 5%
Total fat 0.8 g 1%
Dietary fiber 0.5 g 2%
Sugars 0.4 g Not established
Sodium 136 mg 6%
Saturated fat 0.2 g 1%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 29 mg 1%
Calcium 7 mg 1%
Iron 1 mg 5%
Magnesium 6.8 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 8.1 g Not established

For FDC 2707606, approximate percentages divide the displayed 25 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707606 to 7 source inputs totaling 7,729.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, Beverages, water, tap, municipal, Shortening industrial, soybean (hydrogenated) and cottonseed. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

7,729.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20083 · encyclopedia page available 4,540 GM 4,540 g 58.7%
2 Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available 2,720 GM 2,724 g 35.2%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 90.8 GM 90.8 g 1.2%
4 Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressedUSDA ingredient 18374 · encyclopedia page available 102 GM 102.2 g 1.3%
5 Milk, dry, nonfat, regular, without added vitamin A and vitamin DUSDA ingredient 1091 · encyclopedia page available 68.1 GM 68.1 g 0.9%
6 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 68.1 GM 68.1 g 0.9%
7 Shortening industrial, soybean (hydrogenated) and cottonseedUSDA ingredient 4554 · encyclopedia page available 136 GM 136.2 g 1.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707606, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories279 kcal306 kcal−27 kcal
Protein10.4 g11.4 g−1 g
Carbohydrate52.2 g57.3 g−5.1 g
Total fat3.3 g3.6 g−0.3 g
Dietary fiber1.8 g2 g−0.2 g
Sodium544 mg598 mg−54 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 less calories than “Bread, native, water, toasted, Puerto Rican style.”

Only this record lists Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Salt, table; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed. Only the comparison record lists Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Salt, table; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed; and 3 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 25 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (25 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 23 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (23 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707606 with FDC 2707607 at equal mass; use their 25 g and 23 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707606 versus FDC 2707607 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707606 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 70 kcal at 25 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707606

FNDDS food code: 51106010

The scaling for FDC 2707606 can be exact while the match to “Bread, native, water, Puerto Rican style” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 25 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.