Energy
upper quarter410 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 322 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 285–368 kcal
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 718 calories for 1 cake slice (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake slice · 175 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 175 g
718calories
Cake or cupcake, gluten free
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 718 calories for 1 cake slice at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 410 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 8.5 g protein, 4.2 g fiber, and 208 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, semisweet chocolate, representing 38.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 369–718 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707870: “Cake or cupcake, gluten free.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707870, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cupcake, any size” through “1 piece/slice, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupcake, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 369 kcal | 4.4 g | 2.2 g | 107 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 410 kcal | 4.9 g | 2.4 g | 119 mg |
| 1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 718 kcal | 8.5 g | 4.2 g | 208 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707870’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter410 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter4.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter119 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707870’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A313.3 µg
≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium88 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat28.4 g
≈ 142% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium208 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cake or cupcake, gluten free,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707876 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 175 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 369 kcal to 718 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 292 mg less sodium than “Cake or cupcake, gingerbread.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Candies, semisweet chocolate supplies 38.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “gluten free” fits. Inspect FDC 2707876 when “gingerbread” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “gluten free”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCake or cupcake, gluten free | 175 g718 kcal | 410 kcal | 4.9 g | 29.4 g | 2.4 g | 119 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, spice | 175 g718 kcal | 410 kcal | 2.7 g | 19.4 g | 0.9 g | 311 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, banana | 200 g758 kcal | 379 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 1 g | 280 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, apple | 200 g752 kcal | 376 kcal | 2.4 g | 17.5 g | 0.9 g | 280 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, carrot | 200 g748 kcal | 374 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 1.1 g | 288 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, pumpkin | 200 g746 kcal | 373 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 1.1 g | 280 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, zucchini | 200 g742 kcal | 371 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 0.9 g | 280 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707870: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707870, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
369 kcal
90 g
718 kcal
175 g
410 kcal
100 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707870, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
28.4 g≈ 142% Daily ValueCholesterol
246.8 mg≈ 82% Daily ValueTotal fat
51.5 g≈ 66% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707870’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707870 at 175 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 718 kcal 410 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 8.5 g 4.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 66.3 g 37.9 g | 24% 14% |
| Total fat | 51.5 g 29.4 g | 66% 38% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.2 g 2.4 g | 15% 9% |
| Sugars | 59.5 g 34 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 208.3 mg 119 mg | 9% 5% |
| Saturated fat | 28.4 g 16.2 g | 142% 81% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 14 g 8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.3 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 246.8 mg 141 mg | 82% 47% |
| Potassium | 325.5 mg 186 mg | 7% 4% |
| Calcium | 50.8 mg 29 mg | 4% 2% |
| Iron | 3 mg 1.7 mg | 17% 9% |
| Magnesium | 87.5 mg 50 mg | 21% 12% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1.2 µg 0.7 µg | 6% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 313.3 µg 179 µg | 35% 20% |
| Caffeine | 43.8 mg 25 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 46.7 g 26.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707870, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707870 to 6 source inputs totaling 100.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake or cupcake, gluten free” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, semisweet chocolate, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Butter, stick, unsalted. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Candies, semisweet chocolateUSDA ingredient 19080 · encyclopedia page available | 39 GM | 39 g | 38.9% |
| 2 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 23 GM | 23 g | 23% |
| 3 | Butter, stick, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 1145 · encyclopedia page available | 17 GM | 17 g | 17% |
| 4 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 11 GM | 11 g | 11% |
| 5 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707870, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 410 kcal | 276 kcal | +134 kcal |
| Protein | 4.9 g | 3.6 g | +1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 37.9 g | 45.3 g | −7.4 g |
| Total fat | 29.4 g | 9.2 g | +20.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.4 g | 1 g | +1.4 g |
| Sodium | 119 mg | 411 mg | −292 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 134 more calories, 1.2 g more protein, and 7.4 g less carbohydrate than “Cake or cupcake, gingerbread.”
Only this record lists Candies, semisweet chocolate; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table. Only the comparison record lists Cake, gingerbread, dry mix. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.
Listed only in this record: Candies, semisweet chocolate; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Cake, gingerbread, dry mix.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (175 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (115 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707870 with FDC 2707876 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 115 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707870 versus FDC 2707876 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cake or cupcake, gluten free” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707870 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cake or cupcake, gluten free,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707870 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 410 kcal per 100 g becomes 718 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707870
FNDDS food code: 53105310
The scaling for FDC 2707870 can be exact while the match to “Cake or cupcake, gluten free” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.