Energy
lower quarter353 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 384 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 379–388 kcal
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 212 calories for 1 cup (60 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 60 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 60 g
212calories
Cereal, bran flakes, flavored
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 212 calories for 1 cup at 60 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 353 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.9 g protein, 7.4 g fiber, and 208 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, representing 63.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 9 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 106–212 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708469: “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708469, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 prepackaged single serving” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 106 kcal | 2.4 g | 3.7 g | 104 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 45 g | 159 kcal | 3.7 g | 5.6 g | 156 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 60 g | 212 kcal | 4.9 g | 7.4 g | 208 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708469’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter353 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter8.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter12.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter347 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708469’s 60 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron6 mg
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber7.4 g
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium208 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708474 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 60 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 106 kcal to 212 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 9.8 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal, corn flakes, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 9 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached supplies 63.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “bran flakes; flavored” fits. Inspect FDC 2708474 when “corn flakes; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “bran flakes” and “flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal, bran flakes, flavored | 60 g212 kcal | 353 kcal | 8.1 g | 1.2 g | 12.4 g | 347 mg |
| Cereal, corn flakes, flavored | 40 g150 kcal | 375 kcal | 4.8 g | 1.3 g | 2.6 g | 516 mg |
| Cereal, K's, flavored | 35 g127 kcal | 363 kcal | 7.3 g | 1.2 g | 8 g | 617 mg |
| Cereal, O's, flavored | 40 g154 kcal | 385 kcal | 8.6 g | 5.4 g | 7.6 g | 580 mg |
| Cereal, flavored puffs | 30 g114 kcal | 380 kcal | 5.7 g | 2.2 g | 2.2 g | 424 mg |
| Cereal, rice crispy, flavored | 40 g149 kcal | 372 kcal | 5 g | 0.9 g | 0.3 g | 355 mg |
| Cereal, corn squares, flavored | 40 g152 kcal | 380 kcal | 5.6 g | 3.3 g | 4.7 g | 662 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708469: its source amount is 60 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708469, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
212 kcal
60 g
106 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708469, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
5.9 mg≈ 33% Daily ValueDietary fiber
7.4 g≈ 27% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
47.2 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708469’s 60 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708469 at 60 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 60 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 212 kcal 353 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.9 g 8.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 47.2 g 78.7 g | 17% 29% |
| Total fat | 0.7 g 1.2 g | 1% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 7.4 g 12.4 g | 27% 44% |
| Sugars | 17.6 g 29.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 208.2 mg 347 mg | 9% 15% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | 0% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 123 mg 205 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 14.4 mg 24 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 5.9 mg 9.9 mg | 33% 55% |
| Magnesium | 16.8 mg 28 mg | 4% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.3 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.9 µg 4.9 µg | 15% 25% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 5.6 g 9.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708469, approximate percentages divide the displayed 60 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708469 to 9 source inputs totaling 102 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached, Sugars, granulated, Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
102 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20481 · encyclopedia page available | 65 GM | 65 g | 63.7% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.6% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.9 GM | 0.9 g | 0.9% |
| 4 | Fiber, total dietary, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999291 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 1% |
| 5 | Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 9298 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 14.7% |
| 6 | Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available | 0.02 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 7 | Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available | 0.01 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 8 | Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available | 0.01 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 9 | Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available | 0.05 GM | 0.1 g | 0% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708469, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 353 kcal | 375 kcal | −22 kcal |
| Protein | 8.1 g | 4.8 g | +3.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 78.7 g | 84.7 g | −6 g |
| Total fat | 1.2 g | 1.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 12.4 g | 2.6 g | +9.8 g |
| Sodium | 347 mg | 516 mg | −169 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 22 less calories, 3.4 g more protein, and 9.8 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal, corn flakes, flavored.”
Only this record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). Only the comparison record lists Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Vitamin B composite in cereals; Folic acid as ingredient; and 2 more.
Listed only in this record: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Listed only in the comparison: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (60 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708469 with FDC 2708474 at equal mass; use their 60 g and 40 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708469 versus FDC 2708474 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708469 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708469 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 353 kcal per 100 g becomes 212 kcal at 60 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708469
FNDDS food code: 57329000
The scaling for FDC 2708469 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, bran flakes, flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 60 g weight, 9-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.