Energy
middle half455 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 416 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 389–473 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 159 calories for 1 bar (35 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating
Quick facts
1 bar · 35 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 bar · 35 g
159calories
Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 159 calories for 1 bar at 35 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 455 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 170 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, granola bars, soft, almond, confectioners coating, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708110: “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708110, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 26.3 g | 119 kcal | 2.3 g | 1.1 g | 128 mg |
| 1 barUSDA-listed household measure | 35 g | 159 kcal | 3 g | 1.5 g | 170 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 43.8 g | 199 kcal | 3.8 g | 1.9 g | 213 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Cereal bars USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708110’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half455 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter486 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708110’s 35 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium33 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.5 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium170 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708111 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 26.3–43.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 119 kcal and 199 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 293 mg more sodium than “Cereal or granola bar, coated with non-chocolate coating.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “oats; nuts; coated with non-chocolate coating” fits. Inspect FDC 2708111 when “coated with non-chocolate coating” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “oats”, “nuts”, and “coated with non-chocolate coating”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating | 35 g159 kcal | 455 kcal | 8.6 g | 20 g | 4.3 g | 486 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, coated with non-chocolate coating | 28 g142 kcal | 508 kcal | 10.2 g | 31.1 g | 2.8 g | 193 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar with nuts, chocolate coated | 35 g188 kcal | 536 kcal | 9.6 g | 31.2 g | 3.8 g | 193 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, high fiber, coated with non-chocolate yogurt coating | 28 g109 kcal | 389 kcal | 5 g | 10 g | 22.5 g | 237 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, with coconut, chocolate coated | 39 g207 kcal | 531 kcal | 5.2 g | 32.2 g | 6.2 g | 152 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ | 43 g203 kcal | 471 kcal | 10.1 g | 19.8 g | 5.3 g | 294 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Granola Bites) | 20 g90 kcal | 451 kcal | 7.2 g | 17.5 g | 5.7 g | 167 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708110: its source amount is 35 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708110, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
159 kcal
35 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708110, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
2 g≈ 10% Daily ValueTotal fat
7 g≈ 9% Daily ValueMagnesium
33.3 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708110’s 35 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 35 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 159 kcal 455 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3 g 8.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 21 g 60.1 g | 8% 22% |
| Total fat | 7 g 20 g | 9% 26% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 4.3 g | 5% 15% |
| Sugars | 11.9 g 34 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 170.1 mg 486 mg | 7% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 2 g 5.7 g | 10% 28% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.3 g 9.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 112 mg 320 mg | 2% 7% |
| Calcium | 47.6 mg 136 mg | 4% 10% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 1.5 mg | 3% 8% |
| Magnesium | 33.3 mg 95 mg | 8% 23% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.8 µg 5 µg | 0% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 3.1 g 8.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708110, approximate percentages divide the displayed 35 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708110 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, granola bars, soft, almond, confectioners coating is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, granola bars, soft, almond, confectioners coatingUSDA ingredient 25038 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708110, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cereal bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 455 kcal | 508 kcal | −53 kcal |
| Protein | 8.6 g | 10.2 g | −1.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 60.1 g | 53.4 g | +6.7 g |
| Total fat | 20 g | 31.1 g | −11.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g | 2.8 g | +1.5 g |
| Sodium | 486 mg | 193 mg | +293 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 53 less calories, 1.6 g less protein, and 6.7 g more carbohydrate than “Cereal or granola bar, coated with non-chocolate coating.”
Only this record lists Snacks, granola bars, soft, almond, confectioners coating. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, granola bars, soft, coated, milk chocolate coating, peanut butter. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Snacks, granola bars, soft, almond, confectioners coating.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, granola bars, soft, coated, milk chocolate coating, peanut butter.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (35 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708110 with FDC 2708111 at equal mass; use their 35 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708110 versus FDC 2708111 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cereal bars source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708110 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708110 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 455 kcal per 100 g becomes 159 kcal at 35 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708110
FNDDS food code: 53714230
The scaling for FDC 2708110 can be exact while the match to “Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 35 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.