Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cereal or granola bar, peanuts, oats, sugar, wheat germ calories: 203 per 1 bar (43 g)

This exact USDA record reports 203 calories for 1 bar (43 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ

Quick facts

1 bar · 43 g

Calories
203 kcal
Protein
4.3 g
Carbohydrate
27.7 g
Total fat
8.5 g
Fiber
2.3 g
Sodium
126 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 bar · 43 g

203calories

Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ

Protein
4.3 g
Carbs
27.7 g
Fat
8.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708106

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 203 calories for 1 bar at 43 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 471 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.3 g protein, 2.3 g fiber, and 126 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, granola bars, hard, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708106: “Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708106, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 32.3 g 152 kcal 3.3 g 1.7 g 95 mg
1 barUSDA-listed household measure 43 g 203 kcal 4.3 g 2.3 g 126 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 53.8 g 253 kcal 5.4 g 2.8 g 158 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cereal bars

The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Cereal bars USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708106’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

471 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
416 kcal
Middle 50%
389–473 kcal

Based on 28 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

10.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–9.2 g

Based on 28 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

5.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4.3 g
Middle 50%
3–5.7 g

Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

294 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
293 mg
Middle 50%
193–350 mg

Based on 28 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708106’s 43 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium42 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2.3 g

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium126 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1 g

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708094 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 43 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 32.3–53.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 152 kcal and 253 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708094

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “peanuts; oats; sugar; wheat germ” fits. Inspect FDC 2708094 when the exact wording “Cereal or granola bar (General Mills Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bar)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ

Exact source wording
“Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708106 · FNDDS 53713100
Named qualifiers
peanuts · oats · sugar · wheat germ

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “peanuts”, “oats”, “sugar”, and “wheat germ”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ 43 g203 kcal 471 kcal 10.1 g 19.8 g 5.3 g 294 mg
Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy 25% Less Sugar Granola Bar) 24 g99 kcal 412 kcal 5.6 g 12.5 g 3.1 g 312 mg
Cereal or granola bar, oats, nuts, coated with non-chocolate coating 35 g159 kcal 455 kcal 8.6 g 20 g 4.3 g 486 mg
Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Granola Bites) 20 g90 kcal 451 kcal 7.2 g 17.5 g 5.7 g 167 mg
Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal 28 g117 kcal 417 kcal 3.4 g 9 g 0 g 351 mg
Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy Dipps Granola Bar) 31 g149 kcal 480 kcal 7.5 g 20.4 g 3.2 g 269 mg
Cereal or granola bar, fruit and nut 40 g201 kcal 502 kcal 13.9 g 32.3 g 5.8 g 45 mg

How to compare FDC 2708106: its source amount is 43 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708106, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 bar

203 kcal

43 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708106, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

8.5 g≈ 11% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

27.7 g≈ 10% Daily Value

Magnesium

41.7 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708106’s 43 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 43 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 203 kcal Not established
Protein 4.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 27.7 g 10%
Total fat 8.5 g 11%
Dietary fiber 2.3 g 8%
Sugars 12.3 g Not established
Sodium 126.4 mg 5%
Saturated fat 1 g 5%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 5.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 144.5 mg 3%
Calcium 26.2 mg 2%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 41.7 mg 10%
Vitamin C 0.4 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0.9 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 1.7 g Not established

For FDC 2708106, approximate percentages divide the displayed 43 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708106 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, granola bars, hard, plainUSDA ingredient 19015 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708106, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cereal bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories471 kcal471 kcalSame listed value
Protein10.1 g10.1 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate64.4 g64.4 gSame listed value
Total fat19.8 g19.8 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber5.3 g5.3 gSame listed value
Sodium294 mg294 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations match

The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.

Shared listed inputs: Snacks, granola bars, hard, plain.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 43 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (43 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (21 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708106 with FDC 2708094 at equal mass; use their 43 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708106 versus FDC 2708094 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cereal bars source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708106 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 471 kcal per 100 g becomes 203 kcal at 43 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708106

FNDDS food code: 53713100

The scaling for FDC 2708106 can be exact while the match to “Cereal or granola bar, peanuts , oats, sugar, wheat germ” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 43 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.