Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Cereal, other, peanut butter calories: 169 per 1 cup (40 g)

This exact USDA record reports 169 calories for 1 cup (40 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 40 g

Calories
169 kcal
Protein
2.9 g
Carbohydrate
29.2 g
Total fat
4.4 g
Fiber
2 g
Sodium
210 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 40 g

169calories

Cereal, other, peanut butter

Protein
2.9 g
Carbs
29.2 g
Fat
4.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708485

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 169 calories for 1 cup at 40 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 422 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.9 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 210 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow, representing 44.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 14 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 127–169 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708485: “Cereal, other, peanut butter.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708485, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 prepackaged single serving” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 127 kcal 2.2 g 1.5 g 158 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 40 g 169 kcal 2.9 g 2 g 210 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 50 g 211 kcal 3.7 g 2.5 g 263 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)

The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708485’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

422 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
384 kcal
Middle 50%
379–388 kcal

Based on 20 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

7.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.6 g
Middle 50%
5.1–8 g

Based on 20 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5 g
Middle 50%
2.7–6.4 g

Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

525 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
524 mg
Middle 50%
471–580 mg

Based on 20 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708485’s 40 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron4 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium132 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium210 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.5 g

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal, other, peanut butter,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708446 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 prepackaged single serving to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 40 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 127 kcal to 169 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708446

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.7 g more total fat than “Cereal, O's, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow

    The source formulation has 14 input rows; Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow supplies 44.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “other; peanut butter” fits. Inspect FDC 2708446 when “O's; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal, other, peanut butter

Exact source wording
“Cereal, other, peanut butter”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708485 · FNDDS 57420140
Named qualifiers
other · peanut butter
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow · Soy protein isolate · Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cereal, O's, flavored

Exact source wording
“Cereal, O's, flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708446 · FNDDS 57103100
Named qualifiers
O's · flavored

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “other” and “peanut butter”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal, other, peanut butter 40 g169 kcal 422 kcal 7.3 g 11.1 g 5 g 525 mg
Cereal, other, honey 40 g155 kcal 388 kcal 8 g 5.7 g 6.1 g 504 mg
Cereal, other, chocolate 40 g154 kcal 384 kcal 5.4 g 4.6 g 3.2 g 486 mg
Cereal, other, fruit flavored 40 g153 kcal 383 kcal 4.7 g 3.6 g 2.9 g 523 mg
Cereal, granola 110 g462 kcal 420 kcal 9.8 g 13 g 7.4 g 161 mg
Cereal, crunch 35 g139 kcal 398 kcal 4.3 g 5.5 g 2.7 g 701 mg
Cereal, cinnamon toast 40 g166 kcal 414 kcal 5.9 g 9.9 g 5.1 g 539 mg

How to compare FDC 2708485: its source amount is 40 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708485, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

169 kcal

40 g

1 prepackaged single serving

127 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708485, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

4.1 mg≈ 23% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

29.2 g≈ 11% Daily Value

Calcium

132.4 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708485’s 40 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 40 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 169 kcal Not established
Protein 2.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 29.2 g 11%
Total fat 4.4 g 6%
Dietary fiber 2 g 7%
Sugars 12.4 g Not established
Sodium 210 mg 9%
Saturated fat 0.5 g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 51.6 mg 1%
Calcium 132.4 mg 10%
Iron 4.1 mg 23%
Magnesium 14.8 mg 4%
Vitamin C 9.2 mg 10%
Vitamin D 2 µg 10%
Vitamin A 2 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 2.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708485, approximate percentages divide the displayed 40 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708485 to 14 source inputs totaling 100.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, other, peanut butter” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

14 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow, Sugars, granulated, Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20422 · encyclopedia page available 45 GM 45 g 44.7%
2 Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dryUSDA ingredient 8120 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%
3 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 29.8%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.3 GM 1.3 g 1.3%
5 Fiber, total dietary, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999291 · encyclopedia page available 0.2 GM 0.2 g 0.2%
6 Oil, canolaUSDA ingredient 4582 · encyclopedia page available 7 GM 7 g 7%
7 Soy protein isolateUSDA ingredient 16122 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%
8 Peanut butter, smooth style, without saltUSDA ingredient 16398 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%
9 Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available 0.02 GM 0 g 0%
10 Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available 0.01 GM 0 g 0%
11 Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available 0.01 GM 0 g 0%
12 Calcium as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999301 · encyclopedia page available 0.03 GM 0 g 0%
13 Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available 0.05 GM 0.1 g 0%
14 Vitamin C as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999401 · encyclopedia page available 0.02 GM 0 g 0%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708485, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories422 kcal385 kcal+37 kcal
Protein7.3 g8.6 g−1.3 g
Carbohydrate73 g76 g−3 g
Total fat11.1 g5.4 g+5.7 g
Dietary fiber5 g7.6 g−2.6 g
Sodium525 mg580 mg−55 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 37 more calories, 1.3 g less protein, and 5.7 g more total fat than “Cereal, O's, flavored.”

Only this record lists Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow; Soy protein isolate; Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Fiber, total dietary, as ingredient; and 7 more.

Listed only in this record: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow; Soy protein isolate; Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708485 with FDC 2708446 at equal mass; use their 40 g and 40 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708485 versus FDC 2708446 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Cereal, other, peanut butter,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708485 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 422 kcal per 100 g becomes 169 kcal at 40 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708485

FNDDS food code: 57420140

The scaling for FDC 2708485 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, other, peanut butter” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 40 g weight, 14-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.