Dairymoderate variability

Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated calories: 26 per 1 tablespoon (6 g)

This exact USDA record reports 26 calories for 1 tablespoon (6 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 tablespoon · 6 g

Calories
26 kcal
Protein
1.9 g
Carbohydrate
0.5 g
Total fat
1.8 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
87 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 6.2 g

26calories

Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated

Protein
1.9 g
Carbs
0.5 g
Fat
1.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705728

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 26 calories for 1 tablespoon at 6 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 412 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.9 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 87 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, parmesan, grated, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 26–412 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705728: “Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705728, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 4.7 g 19 kcal 1.4 g 0 g 65 mg
1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure 6.2 g 26 kcal 1.9 g 0 g 87 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 100 g 412 kcal 29.9 g 0 g 1,400 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cheese

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705728’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

412 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
334 kcal
Middle 50%
290–374 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

29.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.3 g
Middle 50%
20–27 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

1,400 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
743 mg
Middle 50%
626–1,100 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705728’s 6 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1 g

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium87 mg

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705706 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 tablespoon to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 6.2 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 26 kcal to 412 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705706

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.6 g more carbohydrate than “Cheese, Brick.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cheese, parmesan, grated

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Cheese, parmesan, grated supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “Parmesan; dry grated” fits. Inspect FDC 2705706 when “Brick” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705728 · FNDDS 14108010
Named qualifiers
Parmesan · dry grated
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, parmesan, grated · Cheese, parmesan, grated, refrigerated

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cheese, Brick

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Brick”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705706 · FNDDS 14102010
Named qualifiers
Brick
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, brick

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Parmesan” and “dry grated”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCheese, Parmesan, dry grated 6 g26 kcal 412 kcal 29.9 g 28.8 g 0 g 1,400 mg
Cheese, Gruyere 21 g87 kcal 413 kcal 29.8 g 32.3 g 0 g 714 mg
Cheese, Cheddar 21 g86 kcal 409 kcal 23.3 g 34 g 0 g 654 mg
Cheese, Colby 21 g83 kcal 394 kcal 23.8 g 32.1 g 0 g 604 mg
Cheese, Swiss 21 g83 kcal 393 kcal 27 g 31 g 0 g 185 mg
Cheese, Monterey 21 g82 kcal 392 kcal 22.6 g 32.6 g 0 g 662 mg
Cheese, Fontina 21 g82 kcal 389 kcal 25.6 g 31.1 g 0 g 800 mg

How to compare FDC 2705728: its source amount is 6 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705728, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

412 kcal

100 g

1 tablespoon

26 kcal

6 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705728, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

1 g≈ 5% Daily Value

Calcium

56.9 mg≈ 4% Daily Value

Sodium

86.8 mg≈ 4% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705728’s 6 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 6 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 26 kcal Not established
Protein 1.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0.5 g 0%
Total fat 1.8 g 2%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 86.8 mg 4%
Saturated fat 1 g 5%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 5.3 mg 2%
Potassium 8 mg 0%
Calcium 56.9 mg 4%
Iron 0 mg 0%
Magnesium 2.2 mg 1%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 14.3 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 1.7 g Not established

For FDC 2705728, approximate percentages divide the displayed 6 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705728 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cheese, parmesan, grated, Cheese, parmesan, grated, refrigerated. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 50%
2 Cheese, parmesan, grated, refrigeratedUSDA ingredient 100272 50 GM 50 g 50%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705728, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories412 kcal371 kcal+41 kcal
Protein29.9 g23.2 g+6.7 g
Carbohydrate8.4 g2.8 g+5.6 g
Total fat28.8 g29.7 g−0.9 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium1,400 mg560 mg+840 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 41 more calories, 6.7 g more protein, and 5.6 g more carbohydrate than “Cheese, Brick.”

Only this record lists Cheese, parmesan, grated; Cheese, parmesan, grated, refrigerated. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, brick. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cheese, parmesan, grated; Cheese, parmesan, grated, refrigerated.

Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, brick.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 6 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (6 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705728 with FDC 2705706 at equal mass; use their 6 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705728 versus FDC 2705706 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705728 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 412 kcal per 100 g becomes 26 kcal at 6 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705728

FNDDS food code: 14108010

The scaling for FDC 2705728 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, Parmesan, dry grated” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 6 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.