Energy
middle half250 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 438 calories for 1 breast (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked
Quick facts
1 breast · 175 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium breast · 175 g
438calories
Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 438 calories for 1 breast at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 250 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 36.1 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 579 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, representing 73.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 breast at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 71–488 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705976: “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705976, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large breast” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 71 kcal | 5.9 g | 0.1 g | 94 mg |
| 1 medium breastUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 438 kcal | 36.1 g | 0.5 g | 579 mg |
| 1 large breastUSDA-listed household measure | 195 g | 488 kcal | 40.2 g | 0.6 g | 645 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705976’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half250 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half20.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter0.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter331 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705976’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium37 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium579 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.9 g
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705977 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 195 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 71 kcal to 488 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.2 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from pre-cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw supplies 73.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fried; coated; skin / coating eaten; from pre-cooked” fits. Inspect FDC 2705977 when “fried; coated; skin / coating not eaten; from pre-cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fried”, “coated”, “skin / coating eaten”, and “from pre-cooked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked | 175 g438 kcal | 250 kcal | 20.6 g | 14.8 g | 0.3 g | 331 mg |
| Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from pre-cooked | 120 g211 kcal | 176 kcal | 29.6 g | 5.5 g | 0 g | 353 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked | 85 g210 kcal | 247 kcal | 18.3 g | 15.7 g | 0.3 g | 479 mg |
| Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from raw | 175 g425 kcal | 243 kcal | 21.5 g | 14.1 g | 0.2 g | 299 mg |
| Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked | 110 g305 kcal | 277 kcal | 18.2 g | 19 g | 0.3 g | 464 mg |
| Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from pre-cooked | 70 g134 kcal | 192 kcal | 24.1 g | 9.9 g | 0 g | 410 mg |
| Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from raw | 120 g211 kcal | 176 kcal | 29.6 g | 5.5 g | 0 g | 353 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705976: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705976, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
338 kcal
135 g
375 kcal
150 g
438 kcal
175 g
488 kcal
195 g
75 kcal
30 g
150 kcal
60 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705976, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
133 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueTotal fat
25.9 g≈ 33% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705976’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705976 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 36.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705976 at 175 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 438 kcal 250 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 36.1 g 20.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 12.6 g 7.2 g | 5% 3% |
| Total fat | 25.9 g 14.8 g | 33% 19% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.5 g 0.3 g | 2% 1% |
| Sugars | 0.2 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 579.3 mg 331 mg | 25% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 4.9 g 2.8 g | 25% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 10.2 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 7.7 g 4.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 133 mg 76 mg | 44% 25% |
| Potassium | 411.3 mg 235 mg | 9% 5% |
| Calcium | 24.5 mg 14 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.9 mg | 9% 5% |
| Magnesium | 36.8 mg 21 mg | 9% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 26.3 µg 15 µg | 3% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 97.7 g 55.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705976, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705976 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, Breading or batter as ingredient in food, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from rawUSDA ingredient 24122130 · encyclopedia page available | 74 GM | 74 g | 73.9% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.1 GM | 0.1 g | 0.1% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 8 GM | 8 g | 8% |
| 4 | Breading or batter as ingredient in foodUSDA ingredient 99995000 · encyclopedia page available | 18 GM | 18 g | 18% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705976, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 250 kcal | 176 kcal | +74 kcal |
| Protein | 20.6 g | 29.6 g | −9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.2 g | 0 g | +7.2 g |
| Total fat | 14.8 g | 5.5 g | +9.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g | 0 g | +0.3 g |
| Sodium | 331 mg | 353 mg | −22 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 74 more calories, 9 g less protein, and 7.2 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from pre-cooked.”
Only this record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Salt, table; Breading or batter as ingredient in food. Only the comparison record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Vegetable oil, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Salt, table; Breading or batter as ingredient in food.
Listed only in the comparison: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (175 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (120 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705976 with FDC 2705977 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705976 versus FDC 2705977 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705976 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705976 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method.
For “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705976 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 250 kcal per 100 g becomes 438 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 breast has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705976
FNDDS food code: 24127210
The scaling for FDC 2705976 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.