Energy
lower quarter178 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 294 calories for 1 cup, cooked, diced (165 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked, diced · 165 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked, diced · 165 g
294calories
Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 294 calories for 1 cup, cooked, diced at 165 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 178 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 40.1 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 780 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw, representing 80% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked, diced at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 51–374 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705970: “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705970, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 51 kcal | 6.9 g | 0.1 g | 134 mg |
| 1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure | 165 g | 294 kcal | 40.1 g | 0.3 g | 780 mg |
| 1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)USDA-listed household measure | 210 g | 374 kcal | 51 g | 0.4 g | 993 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705970’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter178 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half24.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half473 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705970’s 165 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Potassium543 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium41 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium780 mg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.5 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705968 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 210 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 51 kcal to 374 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.3 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw supplies 80% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “grilled with sauce; skin not eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705968 when “grilled without sauce; skin not eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “grilled with sauce” and “skin not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 165 g294 kcal | 178 kcal | 24.3 g | 4.9 g | 0.2 g | 473 mg |
| Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 120 g211 kcal | 176 kcal | 29.6 g | 5.5 g | 0 g | 353 mg |
| Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten | 175 g354 kcal | 202 kcal | 21.2 g | 9.2 g | 0.2 g | 454 mg |
| Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten | 130 g268 kcal | 206 kcal | 25.7 g | 10.6 g | 0 g | 329 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 75 g129 kcal | 172 kcal | 19.4 g | 6.6 g | 0.2 g | 592 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 50 g85 kcal | 169 kcal | 23.6 g | 7.5 g | 0 g | 432 mg |
| Chicken thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 100 g191 kcal | 191 kcal | 19.8 g | 8.6 g | 0.2 g | 575 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705970: its source amount is 165 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705970, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
294 kcal
165 g
249 kcal
140 g
294 kcal
165 g
329 kcal
185 g
294 kcal
165 g
53 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705970, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
128.7 mg≈ 43% Daily ValueSodium
780.5 mg≈ 34% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705970’s 165 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705970 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 40.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705970 at 165 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 165 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 294 kcal 178 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 40.1 g 24.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 12.1 g 7.3 g | 4% 3% |
| Total fat | 8.1 g 4.9 g | 10% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g 0.2 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 9.9 g 6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 780.5 mg 473 mg | 34% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 1.5 g 0.9 g | 7% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.6 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 128.7 mg 78 mg | 43% 26% |
| Potassium | 542.9 mg 329 mg | 12% 7% |
| Calcium | 18.2 mg 11 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.8 mg 0.5 mg | 4% 3% |
| Magnesium | 41.3 mg 25 mg | 10% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 14.9 µg 9 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 101 g 61.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705970, approximate percentages divide the displayed 165 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705970 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw, Sauce, barbecue, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from rawUSDA ingredient 24122131 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 80% |
| 2 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 3 | Sauce, barbecueUSDA ingredient 6150 · encyclopedia page available | 18 GM | 18 g | 18% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705970, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 178 kcal | 176 kcal | +2 kcal |
| Protein | 24.3 g | 29.6 g | −5.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.3 g | 0 g | +7.3 g |
| Total fat | 4.9 g | 5.5 g | −0.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g | 0 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 473 mg | 353 mg | +120 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 5.3 g less protein, 7.3 g more carbohydrate, and 120 mg more sodium than “Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten.”
Only this record lists Sauce, barbecue. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw; Vegetable oil, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Sauce, barbecue.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 165 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked, diced (165 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (120 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705970 with FDC 2705968 at equal mass; use their 165 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705970 versus FDC 2705968 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705970 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705970 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705970 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 178 kcal per 100 g becomes 294 kcal at 165 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked, diced has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705970
FNDDS food code: 24123311
The scaling for FDC 2705970 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 165 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.