Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten calories: 354 per 1 breast (175 g)

This exact USDA record reports 354 calories for 1 breast (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 breast · 175 g

Calories
354 kcal
Protein
37.1 g
Carbohydrate
12.8 g
Total fat
16 g
Fiber
0.4 g
Sodium
795 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium breast · 175 g

354calories

Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten

Protein
37.1 g
Carbs
12.8 g
Fat
16 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705969

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 354 calories for 1 breast at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 202 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 37.1 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 795 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, representing 80% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 breast at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 57–444 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705969: “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705969, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 57 kcal 6 g 0.1 g 129 mg
1 medium breastUSDA-listed household measure 175 g 354 kcal 37.1 g 0.4 g 795 mg
1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)USDA-listed household measure 220 g 444 kcal 46.6 g 0.4 g 999 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705969’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

202 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

21.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

454 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705969’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Potassium490 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium39 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium795 mg

≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.7 g

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705967 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 220 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 57 kcal to 444 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705967

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.3 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw supplies 80% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “grilled with sauce; skin eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705967 when “grilled without sauce; skin eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705969 · FNDDS 24123310
Named qualifiers
grilled with sauce · skin eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Sauce, barbecue

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705967 · FNDDS 24123300
Named qualifiers
grilled without sauce · skin eaten

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “grilled with sauce” and “skin eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten 175 g354 kcal 202 kcal 21.2 g 9.2 g 0.2 g 454 mg
Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten 130 g268 kcal 206 kcal 25.7 g 10.6 g 0 g 329 mg
Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten 165 g294 kcal 178 kcal 24.3 g 4.9 g 0.2 g 473 mg
Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg
Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin eaten 60 g122 kcal 204 kcal 22.7 g 11.8 g 0 g 427 mg
Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten 85 g170 kcal 200 kcal 18.7 g 10.2 g 0.2 g 588 mg
Chicken thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten 70 g134 kcal 192 kcal 24.1 g 9.9 g 0 g 410 mg

How to compare FDC 2705969: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705969, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

333 kcal

165 g

1 small breast

303 kcal

150 g

1 medium breast

354 kcal

175 g

1 large breast

394 kcal

195 g

1 breast, NS as to size

354 kcal

175 g

1 small or thin slice

61 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705969, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

136.5 mg≈ 46% Daily Value

Sodium

794.5 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705969’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705969 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 37.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705969 at 175 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 795 mg sodium, about 35% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 354 kcal Not established
Protein 37.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 12.8 g 5%
Total fat 16 g 21%
Dietary fiber 0.4 g 1%
Sugars 10.5 g Not established
Sodium 794.5 mg 35%
Saturated fat 3.7 g 18%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 136.5 mg 46%
Potassium 490 mg 10%
Calcium 21 mg 2%
Iron 1 mg 5%
Magnesium 38.5 mg 9%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 28 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 105.7 g Not established

For FDC 2705969, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705969 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, Sauce, barbecue, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from rawUSDA ingredient 24122130 · encyclopedia page available 80 GM 80 g 80%
2 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%
3 Sauce, barbecueUSDA ingredient 6150 · encyclopedia page available 18 GM 18 g 18%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705969, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories202 kcal206 kcal−4 kcal
Protein21.2 g25.7 g−4.5 g
Carbohydrate7.3 g0 g+7.3 g
Total fat9.2 g10.6 g−1.5 g
Dietary fiber0.2 g0 g+0.2 g
Sodium454 mg329 mg+125 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4.5 g less protein, 7.3 g more carbohydrate, and 1.5 g less total fat than “Chicken breast, grilled without sauce, skin eaten.”

Only this record lists Sauce, barbecue. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Vegetable oil, NFS.

Listed only in this record: Sauce, barbecue.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (175 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (130 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705969 with FDC 2705967 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 130 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705969 versus FDC 2705967 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705969 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705969 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 202 kcal per 100 g becomes 354 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 breast has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705969

FNDDS food code: 24123310

The scaling for FDC 2705969 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, grilled with sauce, skin eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.