Energy
middle half200 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 170 calories for 1 medium drumstick (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium drumstick · 85 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium drumstick · 85 g
170calories
Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 170 calories for 1 medium drumstick at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 200 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 15.9 g protein, 0.2 g fiber, and 500 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted, representing 79.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium drumstick at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 57–330 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706012: “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706012, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 57 kcal | 5.3 g | 0.1 g | 167 mg |
| 1 medium drumstickUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 170 kcal | 15.9 g | 0.2 g | 500 mg |
| 1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure | 165 g | 330 kcal | 30.9 g | 0.3 g | 970 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706012’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half200 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter18.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter588 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706012’s 85 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium500 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.1 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706010 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 165 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 57 kcal to 330 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.3 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted supplies 79.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “grilled with sauce; skin eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2706010 when “grilled without sauce; skin eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “grilled with sauce” and “skin eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten | 85 g170 kcal | 200 kcal | 18.7 g | 10.2 g | 0.2 g | 588 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin eaten | 60 g122 kcal | 204 kcal | 22.7 g | 11.8 g | 0 g | 427 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 75 g129 kcal | 172 kcal | 19.4 g | 6.6 g | 0.2 g | 592 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 50 g85 kcal | 169 kcal | 23.6 g | 7.5 g | 0 g | 432 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 120 g220 kcal | 183 kcal | 23.9 g | 9 g | 0 g | 419 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 185 g339 kcal | 183 kcal | 19.6 g | 7.8 g | 0.2 g | 582 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin eaten | 195 g429 kcal | 220 kcal | 18.6 g | 12.3 g | 0.2 g | 578 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706012: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706012, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
330 kcal
165 g
130 kcal
65 g
170 kcal
85 g
220 kcal
110 g
170 kcal
85 g
57 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706012, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
87.6 mg≈ 29% Daily ValueSodium
499.8 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706012’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706012 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706012 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 170 kcal 200 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 15.9 g 18.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 6.2 g 7.3 g | 2% 3% |
| Total fat | 8.7 g 10.2 g | 11% 13% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g 0.2 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 5 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 499.8 mg 588 mg | 22% 26% |
| Saturated fat | 2.1 g 2.5 g | 10% 12% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.5 g 4.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 87.6 mg 103 mg | 29% 34% |
| Potassium | 201.5 mg 237 mg | 4% 5% |
| Calcium | 12.8 mg 15 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.9 mg 1 mg | 5% 6% |
| Magnesium | 17 mg 20 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 9.4 µg 11 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 53.1 g 62.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706012, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706012 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted, Sauce, barbecue, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5069 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 79.4% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 4 | Sauce, barbecueUSDA ingredient 6150 · encyclopedia page available | 18 GM | 18 g | 17.9% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706012, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 200 kcal | 204 kcal | −4 kcal |
| Protein | 18.7 g | 22.7 g | −4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.3 g | 0 g | +7.3 g |
| Total fat | 10.2 g | 11.8 g | −1.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g | 0 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 588 mg | 427 mg | +161 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4 g less protein, 7.3 g more carbohydrate, and 1.6 g less total fat than “Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin eaten.”
Only this record lists Sauce, barbecue. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted; Salt, table; Vegetable oil, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Sauce, barbecue.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium drumstick (85 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium drumstick (60 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706012 with FDC 2706010 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706012 versus FDC 2706010 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706012 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706012 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706012 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 200 kcal per 100 g becomes 170 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium drumstick has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706012
FNDDS food code: 24142510
The scaling for FDC 2706012 can be exact while the match to “Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.