Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken drumstick, baked/broiled, skin removed calories: 84 per 1 drumstick (50 g)

This exact USDA record reports 84 calories for 1 drumstick (50 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant

Quick facts

1 drumstick · 50 g

Calories
84 kcal
Protein
11.8 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
3.8 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
254 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 drumstick · 50 g

84calories

Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant

Protein
11.8 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
3.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706007

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 84 calories for 1 drumstick at 50 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 168 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 11.8 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 254 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted, representing 97% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 drumstick at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 48–227 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706007: “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706007, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 48 kcal 6.7 g 0 g 144 mg
1 drumstickUSDA-listed household measure 50 g 84 kcal 11.8 g 0 g 254 mg
1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 227 kcal 31.7 g 0 g 684 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706007’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

168 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

23.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

507 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706007’s 50 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium254 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.9 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706006 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 cup, cooked, diced

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 48 kcal to 227 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706006

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.3 g less total fat than “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted supplies 97% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “baked or broiled; skin not eaten; from fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2706006 when “baked or broiled; skin eaten; from fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706007 · FNDDS 24142321
Named qualifiers
baked or broiled · skin not eaten · from fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706006 · FNDDS 24142320
Named qualifiers
baked or broiled · skin eaten · from fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked or broiled”, “skin not eaten”, and “from fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant 50 g84 kcal 168 kcal 23.5 g 7.5 g 0 g 507 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant 60 g122 kcal 203 kcal 22.7 g 11.8 g 0 g 503 mg
Chicken breast, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.4 g 0 g 430 mg
Chicken thigh, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant 70 g134 kcal 192 kcal 24 g 9.9 g 0 g 486 mg
Chicken breast, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant 130 g268 kcal 206 kcal 25.7 g 10.6 g 0 g 406 mg
Chicken thigh, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant 80 g194 kcal 243 kcal 22.6 g 16.2 g 0 g 482 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked 50 g86 kcal 172 kcal 27.7 g 6.8 g 0 g 403 mg

How to compare FDC 2706007: its source amount is 50 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706007, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

227 kcal

135 g

1 drumstick

84 kcal

50 g

1 oz, cooked

48 kcal

28 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706007, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

63 mg≈ 21% Daily Value

Sodium

253.5 mg≈ 11% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706007’s 50 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706007 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 11.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706007 at 50 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 254 mg sodium, about 11% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 50 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 84 kcal Not established
Protein 11.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 3.8 g 5%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 253.5 mg 11%
Saturated fat 0.9 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Cholesterol 63 mg 21%
Potassium 124 mg 3%
Calcium 5.5 mg 0%
Iron 0.6 mg 3%
Magnesium 10.5 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 3 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 34 g Not established

For FDC 2706007, approximate percentages divide the displayed 50 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706007 to 3 source inputs totaling 101 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted, Vegetable oil, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

101 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5073 · encyclopedia page available 98 GM 98 g 97%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 GM 1 g 1%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706007, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant

USDA category
Chicken, whole pieces
FDC ID
2706007
FNDDS code
24142321
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories168 kcal203 kcal−35 kcal
Protein23.5 g22.7 g+0.8 g
Carbohydrate0 g0 gSame listed value
Total fat7.5 g11.8 g−4.3 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium507 mg503 mg+4 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 35 less calories and 4.3 g less total fat than “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from fast food / restaurant.”

Only this record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted. Only the comparison record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Salt, table; Vegetable oil, NFS.

Listed only in this record: Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted.

Listed only in the comparison: Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 50 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 drumstick (50 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 drumstick (60 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706007 with FDC 2706006 at equal mass; use their 50 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706007 versus FDC 2706006 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2706007 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method.

For “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706007 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 168 kcal per 100 g becomes 84 kcal at 50 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 drumstick has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706007

FNDDS food code: 24142321

The scaling for FDC 2706007 can be exact while the match to “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 50 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.