Energy
middle half245 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 86 calories for 1 neck (35 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 neck · 35 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 neck (yield after cooking, bone removed) · 35 g
86calories
Chicken, neck or ribs
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 86 calories for 1 neck at 35 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 245 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.8 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 131 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmered, representing 99.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 neck at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706082: “Chicken, neck or ribs.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706082, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 26.3 g | 64 kcal | 5.1 g | 0 g | 98 mg |
| 1 neck (yield after cooking, bone removed)USDA-listed household measure | 35 g | 86 kcal | 6.8 g | 0 g | 131 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 43.8 g | 107 kcal | 8.5 g | 0 g | 164 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706082’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half245 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half19.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half374 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706082’s 35 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat1.7 g
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium131 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken, neck or ribs,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706081 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 26.3–43.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 64 kcal and 107 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 6.3 g less protein than “Chicken, back.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmered supplies 99.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “neck or ribs” fits. Inspect FDC 2706081 when “back” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “neck or ribs”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken, neck or ribs | 35 g86 kcal | 245 kcal | 19.4 g | 18 g | 0 g | 374 mg |
| Chicken wing, stewed | 90 g222 kcal | 247 kcal | 22.6 g | 16.7 g | 0 g | 374 mg |
| Chicken, ground | 85 g171 kcal | 201 kcal | 27.1 g | 10.3 g | 0 g | 400 mg |
| Chicken, back | 85 g253 kcal | 298 kcal | 25.7 g | 20.8 g | 0 g | 409 mg |
| Chicken wing, rotisserie | 70 g180 kcal | 257 kcal | 23.4 g | 18 g | 0 g | 579 mg |
| Chicken wing, sauteed | 70 g186 kcal | 265 kcal | 23.1 g | 18.4 g | 0 g | 402 mg |
| Chicken wing, grilled with sauce | 110 g275 kcal | 250 kcal | 19 g | 15.5 g | 0.2 g | 568 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706082: its source amount is 35 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706082, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
86 kcal
35 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706082, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
1.7 g≈ 9% Daily ValueCholesterol
24.2 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706082’s 35 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706082 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 35 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 86 kcal 245 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.8 g 19.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 6.3 g 18 g | 8% 23% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 130.9 mg 374 mg | 6% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 1.7 g 5 g | 9% 25% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.5 g 7.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 3.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 24.2 mg 69 mg | 8% 23% |
| Potassium | 37.5 mg 107 mg | 1% 2% |
| Calcium | 9.5 mg 27 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.8 mg 2.3 mg | 4% 13% |
| Magnesium | 4.6 mg 13 mg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0.1 µg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 16.8 µg 48 µg | 2% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 21.4 g 61.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706082, approximate percentages divide the displayed 35 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706082 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken, neck or ribs” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmered, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmeredUSDA ingredient 5087 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.2% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.14 TS | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706082, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 245 kcal | 298 kcal | −53 kcal |
| Protein | 19.4 g | 25.7 g | −6.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 18 g | 20.8 g | −2.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 374 mg | 409 mg | −35 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 53 less calories, 6.3 g less protein, and 2.8 g less total fat than “Chicken, back.”
Only this record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmered. Only the comparison record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, back, meat and skin, cooked, roasted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, broilers or fryers, neck, meat and skin, cooked simmered.
Listed only in the comparison: Chicken, broilers or fryers, back, meat and skin, cooked, roasted.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 neck (35 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small back (110 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706082 with FDC 2706081 at equal mass; use their 35 g and 85 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706082 versus FDC 2706081 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken, neck or ribs” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706082 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken, neck or ribs,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706082 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 245 kcal per 100 g becomes 86 kcal at 35 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 neck has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706082
FNDDS food code: 24180200
The scaling for FDC 2706082 can be exact while the match to “Chicken, neck or ribs” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 35 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.