Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken/turkey with cheese sauce calories: 417 per 1 cup (241 g)

This exact USDA record reports 417 calories for 1 cup (241 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce

Quick facts

1 cup · 241 g

Calories
417 kcal
Protein
52.5 g
Carbohydrate
4 g
Total fat
21.4 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
1,270 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 241 g

417calories

Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce

Protein
52.5 g
Carbs
4 g
Fat
21.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706440

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 417 calories for 1 cup at 241 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 173 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 52.5 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 1,270 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, ns as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, representing 69.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706440: “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706440, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 180.8 g 313 kcal 39.4 g 0 g 953 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 241 g 417 kcal 52.5 g 0 g 1,270 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 301.3 g 521 kcal 65.7 g 0 g 1,588 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Poultry mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706440’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

173 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
133 kcal
Middle 50%
122–156 kcal

Based on 130 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

21.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
6.6–13.6 g

Based on 130 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.2 g

Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

527 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
358 mg
Middle 50%
341–454 mg

Based on 130 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706440’s 241 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium248 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium53 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium1,270 mg

≈ 55% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat8.4 g

≈ 42% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706533 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 241 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 180.8–301.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 313 kcal and 521 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706533

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.6 g less dietary fiber than “Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten supplies 69.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce” fits. Inspect FDC 2706533 when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706440 · FNDDS 27146200

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706533 · FNDDS 27242310
Source inputs unique in this pair
Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked · Beverages, water, tap, drinking

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken or turkey with cheese sauce 241 g417 kcal 173 kcal 21.8 g 8.9 g 0 g 527 mg
Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce 280 g409 kcal 146 kcal 9 g 6.2 g 0.6 g 341 mg
Chicken or turkey with cream sauce 241 g378 kcal 157 kcal 19.8 g 7.5 g 0 g 510 mg
Chicken or turkey and rice, no sauce 245 g365 kcal 149 kcal 6.5 g 5.8 g 0.2 g 353 mg
Chicken or turkey and noodles, no sauce 196 g290 kcal 148 kcal 7.7 g 6.1 g 0.7 g 353 mg
Chicken or turkey with mushroom sauce 256 g348 kcal 136 kcal 19.3 g 5.7 g 0.1 g 521 mg
Chicken or turkey and noodles with mushroom sauce 280 g381 kcal 136 kcal 6.9 g 5.5 g 0.8 g 337 mg

How to compare FDC 2706440: its source amount is 241 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706440, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

417 kcal

241 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706440, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

216.9 mg≈ 72% Daily Value

Sodium

1,270.1 mg≈ 55% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706440’s 241 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706440 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 52.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706440 at 241 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1270 mg sodium, about 55% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 241 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 417 kcal Not established
Protein 52.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 4 g 1%
Total fat 21.4 g 27%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 1,270.1 mg 55%
Saturated fat 8.4 g 42%
Monounsaturated Fat 8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 216.9 mg 72%
Potassium 571.2 mg 12%
Calcium 248.2 mg 19%
Iron 1.5 mg 8%
Magnesium 53 mg 13%
Vitamin C 0.5 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.7 µg 4%
Vitamin A 72.3 µg 8%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 159.1 g Not established

For FDC 2706440, approximate percentages divide the displayed 241 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706440 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, Cheese sauce, prepared from recipe, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available 70 GM 70 g 69.7%
2 Cheese sauce, prepared from recipeUSDA ingredient 1164 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 29.9%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.9 0.4 g 0.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706440, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories173 kcal146 kcal+27 kcal
Protein21.8 g9 g+12.9 g
Carbohydrate1.6 g13.6 g−12 g
Total fat8.9 g6.2 g+2.7 g
Dietary fiber0 g0.6 g−0.6 g
Sodium527 mg341 mg+186 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 more calories, 12.9 g more protein, and 12 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken or turkey and noodles with cheese sauce.”

Only the comparison record lists Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked; Beverages, water, tap, drinking. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten; Cheese sauce, prepared from recipe; Salt, table.

Listed only in the comparison: Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 241 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (241 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 280 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (224 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706440 with FDC 2706533 at equal mass; use their 241 g and 280 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706440 versus FDC 2706533 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706440 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 173 kcal per 100 g becomes 417 kcal at 241 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706440

FNDDS food code: 27146200

The scaling for FDC 2706440 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey with cheese sauce” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 241 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.