Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Chocolate candy with cereal calories: 230 per 1 pouch (45 g)

This exact USDA record reports 230 calories for 1 pouch (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 pouch · 45 g

Calories
230 kcal
Protein
3.4 g
Carbohydrate
26.9 g
Total fat
13.2 g
Fiber
1.5 g
Sodium
39 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 pouch/regular size · 45 g

230calories

Chocolate candy with cereal

Protein
3.4 g
Carbs
26.9 g
Fat
13.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710331

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 230 calories for 1 pouch at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 511 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.4 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 39 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 pouch at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 41–920 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710331: “Chocolate candy with cereal.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710331, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 sharing/movie theater size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure 8 g 41 kcal 0.6 g 0.3 g 7 mg
1 pouch/regular sizeUSDA-listed household measure 45 g 230 kcal 3.4 g 1.5 g 39 mg
1 sharing/movie theater sizeUSDA-listed household measure 180 g 920 kcal 13.8 g 5.9 g 155 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Candy containing chocolate

The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Candy containing chocolate USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710331’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

511 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
500 kcal
Middle 50%
483–535 kcal

Based on 17 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

7.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.5 g
Middle 50%
5.1–7.8 g

Based on 17 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

3.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.2–4.1 g

Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

86 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
86 mg
Middle 50%
50–138 mg

Based on 17 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710331’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium28 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat7.2 g

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium39 mg

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chocolate candy with cereal,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710328 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 piece to 1 sharing/movie theater size

    USDA assigns those measures 8 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 41 kcal to 920 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710328

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 7 mg more sodium than “Chocolate candy.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Chocolate candy with cereal” fits. Inspect FDC 2710328 when the exact wording “Chocolate candy” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chocolate candy with cereal

Exact source wording
“Chocolate candy with cereal”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710331 · FNDDS 91705020
Source inputs unique in this pair
Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chocolate candy

Exact source wording
“Chocolate candy”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710328 · FNDDS 91705010
Source inputs unique in this pair
Candies, milk chocolate

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChocolate candy with cereal 45 g230 kcal 511 kcal 7.6 g 29.4 g 3.3 g 86 mg
Chocolate candy 45 g241 kcal 535 kcal 7.7 g 29.7 g 3.4 g 79 mg
Chocolate candy, candy shell 45 g221 kcal 492 kcal 4.3 g 21.1 g 2.8 g 61 mg
Chocolate candy with nuts 45 g245 kcal 545 kcal 11 g 33.7 g 4.4 g 64 mg
Dark chocolate candy 45 g248 kcal 550 kcal 5.1 g 32.2 g 7.2 g 23 mg
Chocolate candy, cookie filled 45 g230 kcal 510 kcal 5.7 g 25.4 g 1 g 126 mg
Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts 45 g228 kcal 506 kcal 11 g 25.4 g 3.4 g 122 mg

How to compare FDC 2710331: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710331, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece

41 kcal

8 g

1 miniature/bite size

51 kcal

10 g

1 fun/snack size

77 kcal

15 g

1 pouch/regular size

230 kcal

45 g

1 large/king size

460 kcal

90 g

1 sharing/movie theater size

920 kcal

180 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710331, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

7.2 g≈ 36% Daily Value

Total fat

13.2 g≈ 17% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

26.9 g≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710331’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 230 kcal Not established
Protein 3.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 26.9 g 10%
Total fat 13.2 g 17%
Dietary fiber 1.5 g 5%
Sugars 23 g Not established
Sodium 38.7 mg 2%
Saturated fat 7.2 g 36%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 10.4 mg 3%
Potassium 166.5 mg 4%
Calcium 84.2 mg 6%
Iron 1.2 mg 7%
Magnesium 27.9 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0.3 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 29.3 µg 3%
Caffeine 9 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.7 g Not established

For FDC 2710331, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710331 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chocolate candy with cereal” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cerealUSDA ingredient 19134 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710331, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Candy containing chocolate” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories511 kcal535 kcal−24 kcal
Protein7.6 g7.7 g−0 g
Carbohydrate59.7 g59.4 g+0.3 g
Total fat29.4 g29.7 g−0.3 g
Dietary fiber3.3 g3.4 g−0.1 g
Sodium86 mg79 mg+7 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal. Only the comparison record lists Candies, milk chocolate. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Candies, milk chocolate, with rice cereal.

Listed only in the comparison: Candies, milk chocolate.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710331 with FDC 2710328 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710331 versus FDC 2710328 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full candy containing chocolate source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Chocolate candy with cereal,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710331 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 511 kcal per 100 g becomes 230 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 pouch has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710331

FNDDS food code: 91705020

The scaling for FDC 2710331 can be exact while the match to “Chocolate candy with cereal” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.