Energy
middle half260 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 267 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 248–300 kcal
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 468 calories for 1 regular (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 180 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 180 g
468calories
Egg salad sandwich on white
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 468 calories for 1 regular at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 260 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 18 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 724 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is egg salad, made with mayonnaise, representing 66.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 234–702 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707280: “Egg salad sandwich on white.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707280, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 234 kcal | 9 g | 0.7 g | 362 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 468 kcal | 18 g | 1.4 g | 724 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 270 g | 702 kcal | 26.9 g | 2.2 g | 1,085 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 46 exact records in the Egg/breakfast sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707280’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half260 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter10 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter402 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707280’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A147.6 µg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.4 g
≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium724 mg
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Egg salad sandwich on white,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707281 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 270 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 234 kcal to 702 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1 g less dietary fiber than “Egg salad sandwich on wheat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Egg salad, made with mayonnaise supplies 66.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Egg salad sandwich on white” fits. Inspect FDC 2707281 when the exact wording “Egg salad sandwich on wheat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordEgg salad sandwich on white | 180 g468 kcal | 260 kcal | 10 g | 16.6 g | 0.8 g | 402 mg |
| Egg white sandwich | 115 g191 kcal | 166 kcal | 9.4 g | 3.6 g | 1.8 g | 357 mg |
| Egg salad sandwich on wheat | 180 g466 kcal | 259 kcal | 10.6 g | 16.8 g | 1.8 g | 399 mg |
| Egg sandwich on white bread | 115 g262 kcal | 228 kcal | 10.5 g | 9.1 g | 1.2 g | 353 mg |
| Egg white sandwich, with cheese | 135 g265 kcal | 196 kcal | 11.1 g | 7.5 g | 1.5 g | 458 mg |
| Egg white sandwich, with meat | 170 g332 kcal | 195 kcal | 12.8 g | 8.4 g | 1.2 g | 508 mg |
| Egg sandwich on white bread, with meat | 155 g414 kcal | 267 kcal | 12.1 g | 15.6 g | 0.9 g | 443 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707280: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707280, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
468 kcal
180 g
702 kcal
270 g
702 kcal
270 g
234 kcal
90 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707280, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
369 mg≈ 123% Daily ValueTotal fat
29.9 g≈ 38% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707280’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707280 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 18 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707280 at 180 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 468 kcal 260 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 18 g 10 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 30.8 g 17.1 g | 11% 6% |
| Total fat | 29.9 g 16.6 g | 38% 21% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g 0.8 g | 5% 3% |
| Sugars | 4.4 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 723.6 mg 402 mg | 31% 17% |
| Saturated fat | 6.4 g 3.5 g | 32% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.3 g 4.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 13 g 7.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 369 mg 205 mg | 123% 68% |
| Potassium | 196.2 mg 109 mg | 4% 2% |
| Calcium | 176.4 mg 98 mg | 14% 8% |
| Iron | 3.2 mg 1.8 mg | 18% 10% |
| Magnesium | 25.2 mg 14 mg | 6% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.2 µg 1.2 µg | 11% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 147.6 µg 82 µg | 16% 9% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 98.1 g 54.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707280, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707280 to 2 source inputs totaling 180 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg salad sandwich on white” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Egg salad, made with mayonnaise, Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
180 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 33.3% |
| 2 | Egg salad, made with mayonnaiseUSDA ingredient 32103000 | 120 GM | 120 g | 66.7% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707280, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Egg/breakfast sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 260 kcal | 259 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 10 g | 10.6 g | −0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 17.1 g | 15.8 g | +1.3 g |
| Total fat | 16.6 g | 16.8 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 1.8 g | −1 g |
| Sodium | 402 mg | 399 mg | +3 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1 g less dietary fiber than “Egg salad sandwich on wheat.”
Only this record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared. Only the comparison record lists Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Egg salad, made with mayonnaise.
Listed only in this record: Bread, white, commercially prepared.
Listed only in the comparison: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (180 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (180 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707280 with FDC 2707281 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 180 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707280 versus FDC 2707281 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full egg/breakfast sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Egg salad sandwich on white,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707280 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 260 kcal per 100 g becomes 468 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707280
FNDDS food code: 32203010
The scaling for FDC 2707280 can be exact while the match to “Egg salad sandwich on white” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.