Fish & seafoodmoderate variability

Fish, cod, baked/broiled, coated calories: 213 per 1 small/regular fillet (140 g)

This exact USDA record reports 213 calories for 1 small/regular fillet (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated

Quick facts

1 small/regular fillet · 140 g

Calories
213 kcal
Protein
24.2 g
Carbohydrate
10.9 g
Total fat
7.4 g
Fiber
0.4 g
Sodium
528 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small/regular fillet · 140 g

213calories

Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated

Protein
24.2 g
Carbs
10.9 g
Fat
7.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706243

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 213 calories for 1 small/regular fillet at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 152 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 24.2 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 528 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, cod, pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen), representing 80.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small/regular fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 26–638 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706243: “Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706243, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 whole fish, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 17 g 26 kcal 2.9 g 0.1 g 64 mg
1 small/regular filletUSDA-listed household measure 140 g 213 kcal 24.2 g 0.4 g 528 mg
1 whole fish, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 420 g 638 kcal 72.7 g 1.3 g 1,583 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Fish

The comparison set contains 89 exact records in the Fish USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706243’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

152 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
178 kcal
Middle 50%
134–228 kcal

Based on 89 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

17.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
20.6 g
Middle 50%
17.3–23.3 g

Based on 89 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.3 g

Based on 89 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

377 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 mg
Middle 50%
290–377 mg

Based on 89 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706243’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium34 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium368 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium528 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.9 g

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706241 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 whole fish, any size

    USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 420 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 26 kcal to 638 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706241

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.8 g more carbohydrate than “Fish, cod, baked or broiled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen)

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen) supplies 80.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cod; baked or broiled; coated” fits. Inspect FDC 2706241 when “cod; baked or broiled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated

Exact source wording
“Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706243 · FNDDS 26109130
Named qualifiers
cod · baked or broiled · coated
Source inputs unique in this pair
Breading or batter as ingredient in food

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Fish, cod, baked or broiled

Exact source wording
“Fish, cod, baked or broiled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706241 · FNDDS 26109120
Named qualifiers
cod · baked or broiled

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cod”, “baked or broiled”, and “coated”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordFish, cod, baked or broiled, coated 140 g213 kcal 152 kcal 17.3 g 5.3 g 0.3 g 377 mg
Fish, cod, baked or broiled 140 g176 kcal 126 kcal 19 g 5 g 0 g 351 mg
Fish, haddock, baked or broiled, coated 140 g213 kcal 152 kcal 18.4 g 5.3 g 0.3 g 334 mg
Fish, flounder, baked or broiled, coated 90 g138 kcal 153 kcal 14.3 g 6.9 g 0.3 g 348 mg
Fish, perch, baked or broiled, coated 90 g147 kcal 163 kcal 17.3 g 6.5 g 0.3 g 342 mg
Fish, whiting, baked or broiled, coated 90 g157 kcal 174 kcal 20.5 g 6.2 g 0.3 g 339 mg
Fish, tilapia, baked or broiled, coated 90 g162 kcal 180 kcal 22.3 g 6.6 g 0.3 g 318 mg

How to compare FDC 2706243: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706243, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small/regular fillet

213 kcal

140 g

1 large fillet

319 kcal

210 g

1 steak

319 kcal

210 g

1 whole fish, any size

638 kcal

420 g

1 cup

205 kcal

135 g

1 oz yields

30 kcal

20 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706243, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

79.8 mg≈ 27% Daily Value

Sodium

527.8 mg≈ 23% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706243’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706243 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 24.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706243 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 528 mg sodium, about 23% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 213 kcal Not established
Protein 24.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 10.9 g 4%
Total fat 7.4 g 9%
Dietary fiber 0.4 g 2%
Sugars 0.2 g Not established
Sodium 527.8 mg 23%
Saturated fat 1.9 g 9%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 79.8 mg 27%
Potassium 368.2 mg 8%
Calcium 26.6 mg 2%
Iron 1.1 mg 6%
Magnesium 33.6 mg 8%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.8 µg 4%
Vitamin A 33.6 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 95.9 g Not established

For FDC 2706243, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706243 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen), Breading or batter as ingredient in food, Oil or table fat, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen)USDA ingredient 15019 · encyclopedia page available 81 GM 81 g 80.7%
2 Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available 4 GM 4 g 4%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.4%
4 Breading or batter as ingredient in foodUSDA ingredient 99995000 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 14.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706243, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fish” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories152 kcal126 kcal+26 kcal
Protein17.3 g19 g−1.7 g
Carbohydrate7.8 g0 g+7.8 g
Total fat5.3 g5 g+0.2 g
Dietary fiber0.3 g0 g+0.3 g
Sodium377 mg351 mg+26 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 26 more calories and 7.8 g more carbohydrate than “Fish, cod, baked or broiled.”

Only this record lists Breading or batter as ingredient in food. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen); Oil or table fat, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Breading or batter as ingredient in food.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706243 with FDC 2706241 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706243 versus FDC 2706241 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full fish source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2706243 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.

For “Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    species or cut

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, butter, or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706243 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 152 kcal per 100 g becomes 213 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small/regular fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706243

FNDDS food code: 26109130

The scaling for FDC 2706243 can be exact while the match to “Fish, cod, baked or broiled, coated” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.