Energy
lower quarter108 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 178 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 134–228 kcal
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 151 calories for 1 small/regular fillet (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small/regular fillet · 140 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small/regular fillet · 140 g
151calories
Fish, cod, grilled
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 151 calories for 1 small/regular fillet at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 108 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 27.2 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 484 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, cod, pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen), representing 97.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small/regular fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 18–454 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706242: “Fish, cod, grilled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706242, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 whole fish, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 17 g | 18 kcal | 3.3 g | 0 g | 59 mg |
| 1 small/regular filletUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 151 kcal | 27.2 g | 0 g | 484 mg |
| 1 whole fish, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 420 g | 454 kcal | 81.5 g | 0 g | 1,453 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 89 exact records in the Fish USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706242’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter108 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half19.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half346 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706242’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Potassium417 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium35 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium484 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Fish, cod, grilled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706241 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 420 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 18 kcal to 454 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.3 g less total fat than “Fish, cod, baked or broiled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen) supplies 97.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cod; grilled” fits. Inspect FDC 2706241 when “cod; baked or broiled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cod” and “grilled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFish, cod, grilled | 140 g151 kcal | 108 kcal | 19.4 g | 2.8 g | 0 g | 346 mg |
| Fish, haddock, grilled | 140 g151 kcal | 108 kcal | 20.7 g | 2.8 g | 0 g | 294 mg |
| Fish, flounder, grilled | 90 g98 kcal | 109 kcal | 15.7 g | 4.7 g | 0 g | 311 mg |
| Fish, perch, grilled | 90 g109 kcal | 121 kcal | 19.4 g | 4.2 g | 0 g | 303 mg |
| Fish, cod, steamed | 140 g122 kcal | 87 kcal | 19.3 g | 0.5 g | 0 g | 235 mg |
| Fish, whiting, grilled | 90 g121 kcal | 134 kcal | 23.2 g | 3.9 g | 0 g | 299 mg |
| Fish, tilapia, grilled | 90 g128 kcal | 142 kcal | 25.5 g | 4.4 g | 0 g | 274 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706242: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706242, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
151 kcal
140 g
227 kcal
210 g
227 kcal
210 g
454 kcal
420 g
146 kcal
135 g
22 kcal
20 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706242, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
85.4 mg≈ 29% Daily ValueSodium
484.4 mg≈ 21% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706242’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706242 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 27.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706242 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 151 kcal 108 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 27.2 g 19.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 3.9 g 2.8 g | 5% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 484.4 mg 346 mg | 21% 15% |
| Saturated fat | 1 g 0.7 g | 5% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 85.4 mg 61 mg | 28% 20% |
| Potassium | 417.2 mg 298 mg | 9% 6% |
| Calcium | 15.4 mg 11 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.3 mg 0.2 mg | 2% 1% |
| Magnesium | 35 mg 25 mg | 8% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1 µg 0.7 µg | 5% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 16.8 µg 12 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 107.5 g 76.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706242, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706242 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish, cod, grilled” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen), Oil or table fat, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen)USDA ingredient 15019 · encyclopedia page available | 98 GM | 98 g | 97.6% |
| 2 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706242, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fish” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 108 kcal | 126 kcal | −18 kcal |
| Protein | 19.4 g | 19 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | −0 g |
| Total fat | 2.8 g | 5 g | −2.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 346 mg | 351 mg | −5 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 18 less calories and 2.3 g less total fat than “Fish, cod, baked or broiled.”
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Fish, cod, Pacific, raw (may have been previously frozen); Oil or table fat, NFS; Salt, table.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706242 with FDC 2706241 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706242 versus FDC 2706241 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fish source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706242 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Fish, cod, grilled” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706242 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.
For “Fish, cod, grilled,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706242 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 108 kcal per 100 g becomes 151 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small/regular fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706242
FNDDS food code: 26109123
The scaling for FDC 2706242 can be exact while the match to “Fish, cod, grilled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.