Energy
middle half134 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 178 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 134–228 kcal
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 121 calories for 1 small/regular fillet (90 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small/regular fillet · 90 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small/regular fillet · 90 g
121calories
Fish, whiting, grilled
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 121 calories for 1 small/regular fillet at 90 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 134 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 20.9 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 269 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, whiting, mixed species, raw, representing 97.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small/regular fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 23–362 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706314: “Fish, whiting, grilled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706314, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 whole fish, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 17 g | 23 kcal | 3.9 g | 0 g | 51 mg |
| 1 small/regular filletUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 121 kcal | 20.9 g | 0 g | 269 mg |
| 1 whole fish, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 270 g | 362 kcal | 62.6 g | 0 g | 807 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 89 exact records in the Fish USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706314’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half134 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half23.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half299 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706314’s 90 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin D; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin D1.6 µg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium284 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium269 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Fish, whiting, grilled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706313 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 270 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 23 kcal to 362 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g less total fat than “Fish, whiting, baked or broiled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Fish, whiting, mixed species, raw supplies 97.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whiting; grilled” fits. Inspect FDC 2706313 when “whiting; baked or broiled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whiting” and “grilled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFish, whiting, grilled | 90 g121 kcal | 134 kcal | 23.2 g | 3.9 g | 0 g | 299 mg |
| Fish, tilapia, grilled | 90 g128 kcal | 142 kcal | 25.5 g | 4.4 g | 0 g | 274 mg |
| Fish, bass, grilled | 90 g129 kcal | 143 kcal | 23.4 g | 4.8 g | 0 g | 294 mg |
| Fish, perch, grilled | 90 g109 kcal | 121 kcal | 19.4 g | 4.2 g | 0 g | 303 mg |
| Fish, whiting, steamed | 90 g103 kcal | 114 kcal | 23.1 g | 1.7 g | 0 g | 189 mg |
| Fish, flounder, grilled | 90 g98 kcal | 109 kcal | 15.7 g | 4.7 g | 0 g | 311 mg |
| Fish, cod, grilled | 140 g151 kcal | 108 kcal | 19.4 g | 2.8 g | 0 g | 346 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706314: its source amount is 90 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706314, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
121 kcal
90 g
181 kcal
135 g
362 kcal
270 g
181 kcal
135 g
27 kcal
20 g
23 kcal
17 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706314, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
78.3 mg≈ 26% Daily ValueSodium
269.1 mg≈ 12% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706314’s 90 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706314 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706314 at 90 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 90 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 121 kcal 134 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 20.9 g 23.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 3.5 g 3.9 g | 5% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 269.1 mg 299 mg | 12% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 0.9 g | 4% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 78.3 mg 87 mg | 26% 29% |
| Potassium | 284.4 mg 316 mg | 6% 7% |
| Calcium | 54.9 mg 61 mg | 4% 5% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 0.4 mg | 2% 2% |
| Magnesium | 24.3 mg 27 mg | 6% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1.6 µg 1.8 µg | 8% 9% |
| Vitamin A | 37.8 µg 42 µg | 4% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 65 g 72.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706314, approximate percentages divide the displayed 90 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706314 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish, whiting, grilled” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, whiting, mixed species, raw, Oil or table fat, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fish, whiting, mixed species, rawUSDA ingredient 15132 · encyclopedia page available | 98 GM | 98 g | 97.6% |
| 2 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706314, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fish” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 134 kcal | 153 kcal | −19 kcal |
| Protein | 23.2 g | 22.8 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | −0 g |
| Total fat | 3.9 g | 6.2 g | −2.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 299 mg | 305 mg | −6 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 19 less calories and 2.2 g less total fat than “Fish, whiting, baked or broiled.”
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Fish, whiting, mixed species, raw; Oil or table fat, NFS; Salt, table.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (90 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (90 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706314 with FDC 2706313 at equal mass; use their 90 g and 90 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706314 versus FDC 2706313 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fish source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706314 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Fish, whiting, grilled” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706314 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.
For “Fish, whiting, grilled,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706314 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 134 kcal per 100 g becomes 121 kcal at 90 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small/regular fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706314
FNDDS food code: 26157123
The scaling for FDC 2706314 can be exact while the match to “Fish, whiting, grilled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 90 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.