Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Ham salad sandwich on white calories: 436 per 1 sandwich (180 g)

This exact USDA record reports 436 calories for 1 sandwich (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 180 g

Calories
436 kcal
Protein
21.6 g
Carbohydrate
32.9 g
Total fat
23.9 g
Fiber
1.8 g
Sodium
1,456 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 180 g

436calories

Ham salad sandwich on white

Protein
21.6 g
Carbs
32.9 g
Fat
23.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706971

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 436 calories for 1 sandwich at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 242 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 21.6 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 1,456 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ham or pork salad, representing 66.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706971: “Ham salad sandwich on white.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706971, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 135 g 327 kcal 16.2 g 1.4 g 1,092 mg
1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 180 g 436 kcal 21.6 g 1.8 g 1,456 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 225 g 545 kcal 27 g 2.3 g 1,820 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Deli and cured meat sandwiches

The comparison set contains 61 exact records in the Deli and cured meat sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706971’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

242 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
219 kcal
Middle 50%
192–266 kcal

Based on 61 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

12 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
13.9 g
Middle 50%
13–14.9 g

Based on 61 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.2 g
Middle 50%
1–2.2 g

Based on 61 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

809 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
743 mg
Middle 50%
687–801 mg

Based on 61 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706971’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium146 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium1,456 mg

≈ 63% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4.5 g

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Ham salad sandwich on white,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706964 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 180 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 135–225 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 327 kcal and 545 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706964

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 9.6 g more total fat than “Ham sandwich on white.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Ham or pork salad

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Ham or pork salad supplies 66.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Ham salad sandwich on white” fits. Inspect FDC 2706964 when the exact wording “Ham sandwich on white” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Ham salad sandwich on white

Exact source wording
“Ham salad sandwich on white”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706971 · FNDDS 27520340
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ham or pork salad

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Ham sandwich on white

Exact source wording
“Ham sandwich on white”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706964 · FNDDS 27520210
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added)

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHam salad sandwich on white 180 g436 kcal 242 kcal 12 g 13.3 g 1 g 809 mg
Ham sandwich on white 115 g215 kcal 187 kcal 12.9 g 3.7 g 1.2 g 662 mg
Ham salad sandwich on wheat 180 g434 kcal 241 kcal 12.6 g 13.4 g 2.1 g 806 mg
Ham sandwich on white, with cheese 135 g288 kcal 213 kcal 14.1 g 7.5 g 1 g 716 mg
Turkey and ham sandwich on white 145 g249 kcal 172 kcal 13.1 g 3.7 g 1 g 683 mg
Turkey and ham sandwich on white, with cheese 165 g322 kcal 195 kcal 14 g 6.8 g 0.8 g 725 mg
Ham sandwich wrap 135 g311 kcal 230 kcal 13.5 g 9.4 g 1.5 g 825 mg

How to compare FDC 2706971: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706971, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich, any size

436 kcal

180 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706971, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

1,456.2 mg≈ 63% Daily Value

Total fat

23.9 g≈ 31% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706971’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706971 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 21.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706971 at 180 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1456 mg sodium, about 63% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 436 kcal Not established
Protein 21.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 32.9 g 12%
Total fat 23.9 g 31%
Dietary fiber 1.8 g 6%
Sugars 5.7 g Not established
Sodium 1,456.2 mg 63%
Saturated fat 4.5 g 23%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 12.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 45 mg 15%
Potassium 343.8 mg 7%
Calcium 145.8 mg 11%
Iron 2.7 mg 15%
Magnesium 34.2 mg 8%
Vitamin C 0.9 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 3%
Vitamin A 14.4 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 97 g Not established

For FDC 2706971, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706971 to 2 source inputs totaling 180 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ham salad sandwich on white” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ham or pork salad, Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

180 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 33.3%
2 Ham or pork saladUSDA ingredient 27420020 120 GM 120 g 66.7%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706971, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Deli and cured meat sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories242 kcal187 kcal+55 kcal
Protein12 g12.9 g−0.9 g
Carbohydrate18.3 g25.6 g−7.3 g
Total fat13.3 g3.7 g+9.6 g
Dietary fiber1 g1.2 g−0.2 g
Sodium809 mg662 mg+147 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 55 more calories, 7.3 g less carbohydrate, and 9.6 g more total fat than “Ham sandwich on white.”

Only this record lists Ham or pork salad. Only the comparison record lists Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared.

Listed only in this record: Ham or pork salad.

Listed only in the comparison: Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added).

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (180 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (115 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706971 with FDC 2706964 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 115 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706971 versus FDC 2706964 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full deli and cured meat sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Ham salad sandwich on white,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706971 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 242 kcal per 100 g becomes 436 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706971

FNDDS food code: 27520340

The scaling for FDC 2706971 can be exact while the match to “Ham salad sandwich on white” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.