Energy
lower quarter178 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 219 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 192–266 kcal
Based on 61 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 231 calories for 1 regular (130 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 130 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 130 g
231calories
Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 231 calories for 1 regular at 130 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 178 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 17.3 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 893 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added), representing 53.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 116–347 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706968: “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706968, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 65 g | 116 kcal | 8.6 g | 0.7 g | 447 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 130 g | 231 kcal | 17.3 g | 1.4 g | 893 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 195 g | 347 kcal | 25.9 g | 2.1 g | 1,340 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 61 exact records in the Deli and cured meat sandwiches USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706968’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter178 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half13.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half687 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706968’s 130 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium130 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium893 mg
≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.3 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706969 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 65 g and 195 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 116 kcal to 347 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.4 g less total fat than “Ham sandwich or sub, with cheese, restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added) supplies 53.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2706969 when “with cheese; restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordHam sandwich or sub, restaurant | 130 g231 kcal | 178 kcal | 13.3 g | 3.7 g | 1.1 g | 687 mg |
| Turkey and ham sandwich or sub, restaurant | 165 g269 kcal | 163 kcal | 13.5 g | 3.7 g | 0.8 g | 705 mg |
| Ham sandwich or sub, with cheese, restaurant | 160 g336 kcal | 210 kcal | 14.6 g | 8.1 g | 0.9 g | 744 mg |
| Turkey and ham sandwich or sub, with cheese, restaurant | 195 g372 kcal | 191 kcal | 14.5 g | 7.3 g | 0.7 g | 749 mg |
| Turkey sandwich or sub, restaurant | 130 g234 kcal | 180 kcal | 12.3 g | 3.7 g | 1.1 g | 644 mg |
| Club sandwich or sub, restaurant | 145 g339 kcal | 234 kcal | 16 g | 10.6 g | 0.8 g | 814 mg |
| Chicken deli sandwich or sub, restaurant | 130 g229 kcal | 176 kcal | 13.7 g | 2.7 g | 1.1 g | 763 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706968: its source amount is 130 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706968, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
231 kcal
130 g
347 kcal
195 g
347 kcal
195 g
116 kcal
65 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706968, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
893.1 mg≈ 39% Daily ValueIron
2.4 mg≈ 13% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706968’s 130 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706968 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 17.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706968 at 130 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 130 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 231 kcal 178 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 17.3 g 13.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 29.6 g 22.8 g | 11% 8% |
| Total fat | 4.8 g 3.7 g | 6% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g 1.1 g | 5% 4% |
| Sugars | 3.2 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 893.1 mg 687 mg | 39% 30% |
| Saturated fat | 1.3 g 1 g | 6% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.5 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.5 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 28.6 mg 22 mg | 10% 7% |
| Potassium | 367.9 mg 283 mg | 8% 6% |
| Calcium | 130 mg 100 mg | 10% 8% |
| Iron | 2.4 mg 1.9 mg | 13% 10% |
| Magnesium | 29.9 mg 23 mg | 7% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.3 µg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 74.4 g 57.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706968, approximate percentages divide the displayed 130 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706968 to 2 source inputs totaling 130 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added), Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
130 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 46.2% |
| 2 | Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added)USDA ingredient 7028 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 53.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706968, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Deli and cured meat sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 178 kcal | 210 kcal | −32 kcal |
| Protein | 13.3 g | 14.6 g | −1.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 22.8 g | 19.7 g | +3.1 g |
| Total fat | 3.7 g | 8.1 g | −4.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g | 0.9 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 687 mg | 744 mg | −57 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 32 less calories, 3.1 g more carbohydrate, and 4.4 g less total fat than “Ham sandwich or sub, with cheese, restaurant.”
Only the comparison record lists Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added).
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (130 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 160 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (160 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706968 with FDC 2706969 at equal mass; use their 130 g and 160 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706968 versus FDC 2706969 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full deli and cured meat sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706968 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings.
For “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706968 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 178 kcal per 100 g becomes 231 kcal at 130 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706968
FNDDS food code: 27520255
The scaling for FDC 2706968 can be exact while the match to “Ham sandwich or sub, restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 130 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.