Energy
middle half179 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 164 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 157–181 kcal
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 304 calories for 1 cup (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant
Quick facts
1 cup · 170 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 170 g
304calories
Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 304 calories for 1 cup at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 179 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 9.7 g protein, 7.1 g fiber, and 503 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is kidney beans, from dried, fat added, representing 58.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708987: “Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708987, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 127.5 g | 228 kcal | 7.3 g | 5.4 g | 377 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 304 kcal | 9.7 g | 7.1 g | 503 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 212.5 g | 380 kcal | 12.2 g | 8.9 g | 629 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Bean, pea, legume dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708987’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half179 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter5.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half296 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708987’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber7.1 g
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron4 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium503 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.6 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708986 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 127.5–212.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 228 kcal and 380 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.6 g more dietary fiber than “Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Kidney beans, from dried, fat added supplies 58.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “from fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2708986 when “from fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “from fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordKidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant | 170 g304 kcal | 179 kcal | 5.7 g | 7.1 g | 4.2 g | 296 mg |
| Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant | 170 g315 kcal | 185 kcal | 6.3 g | 7 g | 3.6 g | 299 mg |
| Black beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant | 170 g309 kcal | 182 kcal | 5.8 g | 7.1 g | 4.9 g | 296 mg |
| Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant | 170 g320 kcal | 188 kcal | 5.9 g | 7.2 g | 5 g | 296 mg |
| Kidney beans and white rice | 170 g269 kcal | 158 kcal | 5.9 g | 4.3 g | 4.3 g | 229 mg |
| Kidney beans and brown rice | 170 g264 kcal | 155 kcal | 5.8 g | 4.6 g | 4.5 g | 211 mg |
| Beans and white rice | 170 g279 kcal | 164 kcal | 6.5 g | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | 231 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708987: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708987, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
304 kcal
170 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708987, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Dietary fiber
7.1 g≈ 26% Daily ValueSodium
503.2 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueIron
3.5 mg≈ 20% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708987’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708987 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 304 kcal 179 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 9.7 g 5.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 39.4 g 23.2 g | 14% 8% |
| Total fat | 12 g 7.1 g | 15% 9% |
| Dietary fiber | 7.1 g 4.2 g | 26% 15% |
| Sugars | 0.3 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 503.2 mg 296 mg | 22% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.6 g 1 g | 8% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.9 g 2.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.7 g 2.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 392.7 mg 231 mg | 8% 5% |
| Calcium | 32.3 mg 19 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 3.5 mg 2.1 mg | 19% 11% |
| Magnesium | 49.3 mg 29 mg | 12% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 1 mg 0.6 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 106.3 g 62.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708987, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708987 to 4 source inputs totaling 103.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Kidney beans, from dried, fat added, Rice, white, cooked, no added fat, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
103.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kidney beans, from dried, fat addedUSDA ingredient 41106010 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 58.1% |
| 2 | Rice, white, cooked, no added fatUSDA ingredient 56205008 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 38.8% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 2.9% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708987, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Bean, pea, legume dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 179 kcal | 185 kcal | −6 kcal |
| Protein | 5.7 g | 6.3 g | −0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23.2 g | 24.4 g | −1.2 g |
| Total fat | 7.1 g | 7 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.2 g | 3.6 g | +0.6 g |
| Sodium | 296 mg | 299 mg | −3 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Kidney beans, from dried, fat added. Only the comparison record lists White beans, from dried, fat added. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rice, white, cooked, no added fat; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Kidney beans, from dried, fat added.
Listed only in the comparison: White beans, from dried, fat added.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708987 with FDC 2708986 at equal mass; use their 170 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708987 versus FDC 2708986 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full bean, pea, legume dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708987 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, preparation, added fat.
For “Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708987 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 179 kcal per 100 g becomes 304 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708987
FNDDS food code: 58160102
The scaling for FDC 2708987 can be exact while the match to “Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.