Beans, nuts & protein foodsmoderate variability

Pinto beans and rice, fast-food/restaurant calories: 320 per 1 cup (170 g)

This exact USDA record reports 320 calories for 1 cup (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant

Quick facts

1 cup · 170 g

Calories
320 kcal
Protein
10 g
Carbohydrate
42.5 g
Total fat
12.2 g
Fiber
8.5 g
Sodium
503 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 170 g

320calories

Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant

Protein
10 g
Carbs
42.5 g
Fat
12.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708989

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 320 calories for 1 cup at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 188 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 10 g protein, 8.5 g fiber, and 503 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pinto beans, from dried, fat added, representing 58.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708989: “Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708989, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 127.5 g 240 kcal 7.5 g 6.4 g 377 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 320 kcal 10 g 8.5 g 503 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 212.5 g 400 kcal 12.5 g 10.6 g 629 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Bean, pea, legume dishes

The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Bean, pea, legume dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708989’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

188 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
164 kcal
Middle 50%
157–181 kcal

Based on 23 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.9 g
Middle 50%
5.8–6.3 g

Based on 23 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4.2 g
Middle 50%
3.6–5 g

Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

296 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
296 mg
Middle 50%
228–339 mg

Based on 23 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708989’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber8.5 g

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron3 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium503 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.7 g

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708986 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 170 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 127.5–212.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 240 kcal and 400 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708986

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.4 g more dietary fiber than “Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pinto beans, from dried, fat added

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pinto beans, from dried, fat added supplies 58.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “from fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2708986 when “from fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708989 · FNDDS 58160106
Named qualifiers
from fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Pinto beans, from dried, fat added

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708986 · FNDDS 58160100
Named qualifiers
from fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
White beans, from dried, fat added

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “from fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant 170 g320 kcal 188 kcal 5.9 g 7.2 g 5 g 296 mg
Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant 170 g315 kcal 185 kcal 6.3 g 7 g 3.6 g 299 mg
Black beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant 170 g309 kcal 182 kcal 5.8 g 7.1 g 4.9 g 296 mg
Kidney beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant 170 g304 kcal 179 kcal 5.7 g 7.1 g 4.2 g 296 mg
Pinto beans and white rice 170 g284 kcal 167 kcal 6.1 g 4.4 g 5.2 g 228 mg
Pinto beans and brown rice 170 g279 kcal 164 kcal 6 g 4.7 g 5.4 g 211 mg
Beans and white rice 170 g279 kcal 164 kcal 6.5 g 4.2 g 3.7 g 231 mg

How to compare FDC 2708989: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708989, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

320 kcal

170 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708989, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Dietary fiber

8.5 g≈ 30% Daily Value

Sodium

503.2 mg≈ 22% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708989’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708989 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 10 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708989 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 8.5 g dietary fiber, about 30% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 503 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 320 kcal Not established
Protein 10 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 42.5 g 15%
Total fat 12.2 g 16%
Dietary fiber 8.5 g 30%
Sugars 0.3 g Not established
Sodium 503.2 mg 22%
Saturated fat 1.7 g 8%
Monounsaturated Fat 5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 423.3 mg 9%
Calcium 49.3 mg 4%
Iron 2.7 mg 15%
Magnesium 54.4 mg 13%
Vitamin C 0.7 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 102.7 g Not established

For FDC 2708989, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708989 to 4 source inputs totaling 103.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pinto beans, from dried, fat added, Rice, white, cooked, no added fat, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

103.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pinto beans, from dried, fat addedUSDA ingredient 41104010 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 58.1%
2 Rice, white, cooked, no added fatUSDA ingredient 56205008 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 38.8%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 3 GM 3 g 2.9%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.2 GM 0.2 g 0.2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708989, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Bean, pea, legume dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories188 kcal185 kcal+3 kcal
Protein5.9 g6.3 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate25 g24.4 g+0.6 g
Total fat7.2 g7 g+0.2 g
Dietary fiber5 g3.6 g+1.4 g
Sodium296 mg299 mg−3 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.4 g more dietary fiber than “Beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant.”

Only this record lists Pinto beans, from dried, fat added. Only the comparison record lists White beans, from dried, fat added. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Rice, white, cooked, no added fat; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Pinto beans, from dried, fat added.

Listed only in the comparison: White beans, from dried, fat added.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708989 with FDC 2708986 at equal mass; use their 170 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708989 versus FDC 2708986 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full bean, pea, legume dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708989 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, preparation, added fat.

For “Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    preparation

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708989 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 188 kcal per 100 g becomes 320 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708989

FNDDS food code: 58160106

The scaling for FDC 2708989 can be exact while the match to “Pinto beans and rice, from fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.