Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Muffin, fruit, low fat calories: 332 per 1 medium (130 g)

This exact USDA record reports 332 calories for 1 medium (130 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 130 g

Calories
332 kcal
Protein
5.5 g
Carbohydrate
65 g
Total fat
5.5 g
Fiber
5.5 g
Sodium
537 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 130 g

332calories

Muffin, fruit, low fat

Protein
5.5 g
Carbs
65 g
Fat
5.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707831

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 332 calories for 1 medium at 130 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 255 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.5 g protein, 5.5 g fiber, and 537 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 26–459 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707831: “Muffin, fruit, low fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707831, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 bite sizeUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 26 kcal 0.4 g 0.4 g 41 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 130 g 332 kcal 5.5 g 5.5 g 537 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 180 g 459 kcal 7.6 g 7.6 g 743 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Biscuits, muffins, quick breads

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707831’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

255 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
305 kcal
Middle 50%
271–372 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

4.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–6.9 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

4.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.4 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

413 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
393 mg
Middle 50%
337–449 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707831’s 130 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber5.5 g

≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron3 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium537 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Muffin, fruit, low fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707830 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 bite size to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 26 kcal to 459 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707830

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Muffin, fruit.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fruit; low fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2707830 when “fruit” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Muffin, fruit, low fat

Exact source wording
“Muffin, fruit, low fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707831 · FNDDS 52302020
Named qualifiers
fruit · low fat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Muffin, fruit

Exact source wording
“Muffin, fruit”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707830 · FNDDS 52302010
Named qualifiers
fruit
Source inputs unique in this pair
Muffins, blueberry, commercially prepared (Includes mini-muffins)

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fruit” and “low fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMuffin, fruit, low fat 130 g332 kcal 255 kcal 4.2 g 4.2 g 4.2 g 413 mg
Muffin, fruit 130 g488 kcal 375 kcal 4.5 g 16.1 g 1.1 g 336 mg
Muffin, oat bran 130 g351 kcal 270 kcal 7 g 7.4 g 4.6 g 393 mg
Muffin, pumpkin 130 g397 kcal 305 kcal 5 g 12.9 g 1.4 g 285 mg
Muffin, carrot 130 g408 kcal 314 kcal 5 g 13.2 g 1.4 g 309 mg
Muffin, wheat bran 130 g270 kcal 208 kcal 6.3 g 5 g 2.2 g 208 mg
Muffin, cheese 130 g477 kcal 367 kcal 9.7 g 23 g 1 g 491 mg

How to compare FDC 2707831: its source amount is 130 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707831, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature

64 kcal

25 g

1 small

179 kcal

70 g

1 medium

332 kcal

130 g

1 large

459 kcal

180 g

1 bite size

26 kcal

10 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707831, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

65 g≈ 24% Daily Value

Sodium

536.9 mg≈ 23% Daily Value

Dietary fiber

5.5 g≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707831’s 130 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707831 at 130 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 5.5 g dietary fiber, about 20% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 537 mg sodium, about 23% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 130 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 332 kcal Not established
Protein 5.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 65 g 24%
Total fat 5.5 g 7%
Dietary fiber 5.5 g 20%
Sugars 35.1 g Not established
Sodium 536.9 mg 23%
Saturated fat 2 g 10%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 36.4 mg 12%
Potassium 124.8 mg 3%
Calcium 45.5 mg 4%
Iron 2.6 mg 14%
Magnesium 13 mg 3%
Vitamin C 1.2 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 13 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 51.9 g Not established

For FDC 2707831, approximate percentages divide the displayed 130 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707831 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Muffin, fruit, low fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fatUSDA ingredient 18940 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707831, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories255 kcal375 kcal−120 kcal
Protein4.2 g4.5 g−0.3 g
Carbohydrate50 g53 g−3 g
Total fat4.2 g16.1 g−11.9 g
Dietary fiber4.2 g1.1 g+3.1 g
Sodium413 mg336 mg+77 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 120 less calories, 11.9 g less total fat, and 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Muffin, fruit.”

Only this record lists Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat. Only the comparison record lists Muffins, blueberry, commercially prepared (Includes mini-muffins). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Muffin, blueberry, commercially prepared, low-fat.

Listed only in the comparison: Muffins, blueberry, commercially prepared (Includes mini-muffins).

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (130 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (130 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707831 with FDC 2707830 at equal mass; use their 130 g and 130 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707831 versus FDC 2707830 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707831 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Muffin, fruit, low fat,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707831 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 255 kcal per 100 g becomes 332 kcal at 130 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707831

FNDDS food code: 52302020

The scaling for FDC 2707831 can be exact while the match to “Muffin, fruit, low fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 130 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.