Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Oatmeal, regular or quick, with nondairy milk, no added fat calories: 228 per 1 cup, cooked (240 g)

This exact USDA record reports 228 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat

Quick facts

1 cup, cooked · 240 g

Calories
228 kcal
Protein
8 g
Carbohydrate
34.6 g
Total fat
6.5 g
Fiber
4.3 g
Sodium
281 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g

228calories

Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat

Protein
8 g
Carbs
34.6 g
Fat
6.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708385

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 228 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 95 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 8 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 281 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is non-dairy milk, nfs, representing 85.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 162–461 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708385: “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708385, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, dry, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 162 kcal 5.7 g 3.1 g 199 mg
1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 240 g 228 kcal 8 g 4.3 g 281 mg
1 cup, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 485 g 461 kcal 16.2 g 8.7 g 567 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Oatmeal

The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Oatmeal USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708385’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

95 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
101 kcal
Middle 50%
84–114 kcal

Based on 20 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

3.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–3.3 g

Based on 20 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.7–1.9 g

Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

117 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
96 mg
Middle 50%
79–128 mg

Based on 20 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708385’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium391 mg

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium79 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium281 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.8 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708386 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, dry, yields to 1 cup, dry, yields

    USDA assigns those measures 170 g and 485 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 162 kcal to 461 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708386

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.5 g less total fat than “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Non-dairy milk, NFS

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Non-dairy milk, NFS supplies 85.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “regular or quick; made with non-dairy milk; no added fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708386 when “regular or quick; made with non-dairy milk; fat added” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708385 · FNDDS 56203076
Named qualifiers
regular or quick · made with non-dairy milk · no added fat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708386 · FNDDS 56203077
Named qualifiers
regular or quick · made with non-dairy milk · fat added
Source inputs unique in this pair
Table fat, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “regular or quick”, “made with non-dairy milk”, and “no added fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordOatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat 240 g228 kcal 95 kcal 3.4 g 2.7 g 1.8 g 117 mg
Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added 240 g257 kcal 107 kcal 3.3 g 4.2 g 1.8 g 127 mg
Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, no added fat 240 g278 kcal 116 kcal 5.6 g 3.3 g 1.7 g 105 mg
Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added 240 g307 kcal 128 kcal 5.5 g 4.8 g 1.7 g 115 mg
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat 240 g226 kcal 94 kcal 3.2 g 2.6 g 2 g 83 mg
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with non-dairy milk, fat added 240 g271 kcal 113 kcal 3.1 g 5 g 1.9 g 99 mg
Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with water, fat added 240 g182 kcal 76 kcal 2.2 g 2.6 g 1.7 g 81 mg

How to compare FDC 2708385: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708385, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked

228 kcal

240 g

1 cup, dry, yields

461 kcal

485 g

1 oz, dry, yields

162 kcal

170 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708385, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Calcium

391.2 mg≈ 30% Daily Value

Magnesium

79.2 mg≈ 19% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708385’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708385 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708385 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4.3 g dietary fiber, about 15% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 281 mg sodium, about 12% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 228 kcal Not established
Protein 8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 34.6 g 13%
Total fat 6.5 g 8%
Dietary fiber 4.3 g 15%
Sugars 5.3 g Not established
Sodium 280.8 mg 12%
Saturated fat 0.8 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 264 mg 6%
Calcium 391.2 mg 30%
Iron 2.4 mg 13%
Magnesium 79.2 mg 19%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 2.4 µg 12%
Vitamin A 86.4 µg 10%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 188.6 g Not established

For FDC 2708385, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708385 to 3 source inputs totaling 280.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Non-dairy milk, NFS, Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

280.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dryUSDA ingredient 8120 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 14.3%
2 Non-dairy milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11300100 · encyclopedia page available 240 GM 240 g 85.6%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708385, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Oatmeal” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories95 kcal107 kcal−12 kcal
Protein3.4 g3.3 g+0 g
Carbohydrate14.4 g14.2 g+0.2 g
Total fat2.7 g4.2 g−1.5 g
Dietary fiber1.8 g1.8 gSame listed value
Sodium117 mg127 mg−10 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 12 less calories and 1.5 g less total fat than “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added.”

Only the comparison record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Non-dairy milk, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in the comparison: Table fat, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708385 with FDC 2708386 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708385 versus FDC 2708386 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full oatmeal source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708385 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708385 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 95 kcal per 100 g becomes 228 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708385

FNDDS food code: 56203076

The scaling for FDC 2708385 can be exact while the match to “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.