Energy
upper quarter128 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 101 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 84–114 kcal
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 307 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g
307calories
Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 307 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 128 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.2 g protein, 4.1 g fiber, and 276 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 84.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 218–621 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708384: “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708384, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, dry, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 218 kcal | 9.3 g | 2.9 g | 196 mg |
| 1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 307 kcal | 13.2 g | 4.1 g | 276 mg |
| 1 cup, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 485 g | 621 kcal | 26.6 g | 8.2 g | 558 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Oatmeal USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708384’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter128 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter5.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half115 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708384’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium319 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium84 mg
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5 g
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium276 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708383 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 170 g and 485 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 218 kcal to 621 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.5 g more total fat than “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, no added fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 84.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “regular or quick; made with milk; fat added” fits. Inspect FDC 2708383 when “regular or quick; made with milk; no added fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “regular or quick”, “made with milk”, and “fat added”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordOatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added | 240 g307 kcal | 128 kcal | 5.5 g | 4.8 g | 1.7 g | 115 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, no added fat | 240 g278 kcal | 116 kcal | 5.6 g | 3.3 g | 1.7 g | 105 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, fat added | 240 g257 kcal | 107 kcal | 3.3 g | 4.2 g | 1.8 g | 127 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat | 240 g228 kcal | 95 kcal | 3.4 g | 2.7 g | 1.8 g | 117 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with water, fat added | 240 g182 kcal | 76 kcal | 2.2 g | 2.6 g | 1.7 g | 81 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat | 240 g154 kcal | 64 kcal | 2.2 g | 1.1 g | 1.7 g | 70 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with milk, fat added | 240 g310 kcal | 129 kcal | 4.8 g | 5.4 g | 1.8 g | 90 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708384: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708384, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
307 kcal
240 g
621 kcal
485 g
218 kcal
170 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708384, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
5 g≈ 25% Daily ValueCalcium
319.2 mg≈ 25% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708384’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708384 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708384 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 307 kcal 128 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.2 g 5.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 38.4 g 16 g | 14% 6% |
| Total fat | 11.4 g 4.8 g | 15% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.1 g 1.7 g | 15% 6% |
| Sugars | 12 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 276 mg 115 mg | 12% 5% |
| Saturated fat | 5 g 2.1 g | 25% 10% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.9 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.7 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 28.8 mg 12 mg | 10% 4% |
| Potassium | 508.8 mg 212 mg | 11% 5% |
| Calcium | 319.2 mg 133 mg | 25% 10% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 84 mg 35 mg | 20% 8% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.6 µg 1.1 µg | 13% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 175.2 µg 73 µg | 19% 8% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 174.2 g 72.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708384, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708384 to 4 source inputs totaling 285.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry, Table fat, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
285.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dryUSDA ingredient 8120 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 14% |
| 2 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 240 GM | 240 g | 84.1% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.1% |
| 4 | Table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81100000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 1.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708384, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Oatmeal” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 128 kcal | 116 kcal | +12 kcal |
| Protein | 5.5 g | 5.6 g | −0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16 g | 16.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Total fat | 4.8 g | 3.3 g | +1.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g | 1.7 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 115 mg | 105 mg | +10 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 12 more calories and 1.5 g more total fat than “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, no added fat.”
Only this record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Milk, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Table fat, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708384 with FDC 2708383 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708384 versus FDC 2708383 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full oatmeal source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708384 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708384 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708384 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 128 kcal per 100 g becomes 307 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708384
FNDDS food code: 56203067
The scaling for FDC 2708384 can be exact while the match to “Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with milk, fat added” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.