Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Whole-grain pasta, tomato sauce, poultry & vegetables, restaurant calories: 413 per 1 cup (250 g)

This exact USDA record reports 413 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant

Quick facts

1 cup · 250 g

Calories
413 kcal
Protein
14.3 g
Carbohydrate
42.8 g
Total fat
21.9 g
Fiber
6.3 g
Sodium
873 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g

413calories

Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant

Protein
14.3 g
Carbs
42.8 g
Fat
21.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708894

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 413 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 165 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 14.3 g protein, 6.3 g fiber, and 873 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 48% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708894: “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708894, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 187.5 g 309 kcal 10.7 g 4.7 g 654 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 250 g 413 kcal 14.3 g 6.3 g 873 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 312.5 g 516 kcal 17.9 g 7.8 g 1,091 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708894’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

165 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
154 kcal
Middle 50%
125–177 kcal

Based on 169 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.8 g
Middle 50%
4.4–6.3 g

Based on 169 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1–2 g

Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

349 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
336 mg
Middle 50%
233–398 mg

Based on 169 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708894’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber6.3 g

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium85 mg

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium873 mg

≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.1 g

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708882 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 250 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 309 kcal and 516 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708882

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g more protein than “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 48% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “whole grain; with tomato-based sauce; poultry; and added vegetables” fits. Inspect FDC 2708882 when “whole grain; with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables; restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant

Exact source wording
“Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708894 · FNDDS 58146651
Named qualifiers
whole grain · with tomato-based sauce · poultry · and added vegetables
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant

Exact source wording
“Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708882 · FNDDS 58146611
Named qualifiers
whole grain · with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables · restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”, “with tomato-based sauce”, “poultry”, and “and added vegetables”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g413 kcal 165 kcal 5.7 g 8.8 g 2.5 g 349 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g385 kcal 154 kcal 3.6 g 8.2 g 2.6 g 344 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, seafood, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g400 kcal 160 kcal 5.3 g 8.2 g 2.5 g 359 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g430 kcal 172 kcal 5.6 g 9.5 g 2.5 g 349 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and poultry, restaurant 250 g418 kcal 167 kcal 5.7 g 8.9 g 2.5 g 384 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g423 kcal 169 kcal 5.6 g 8.4 g 1.5 g 347 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat 250 g313 kcal 125 kcal 6.1 g 3.8 g 2.6 g 298 mg

How to compare FDC 2708894: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708894, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

413 kcal

250 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708894, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

872.5 mg≈ 38% Daily Value

Total fat

21.9 g≈ 28% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708894’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708894 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708894 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 6.3 g dietary fiber, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 873 mg sodium, about 38% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 413 kcal Not established
Protein 14.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 42.8 g 16%
Total fat 21.9 g 28%
Dietary fiber 6.3 g 22%
Sugars 5.4 g Not established
Sodium 872.5 mg 38%
Saturated fat 3.1 g 16%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 8.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 20 mg 7%
Potassium 462.5 mg 10%
Calcium 42.5 mg 3%
Iron 2.9 mg 16%
Magnesium 85 mg 20%
Vitamin C 11 mg 12%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 35 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 167.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708894, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708894 to 4 source inputs totaling 291.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

291.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available 140 GM 140 g 48%
2 Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetablesUSDA ingredient 27141035 · encyclopedia page available 130 GM 130 g 44.6%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 6.9%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.5 GM 1.5 g 0.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708894, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant

USDA category
Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese
FDC ID
2708894
FNDDS code
58146651
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories165 kcal154 kcal+11 kcal
Protein5.7 g3.6 g+2.2 g
Carbohydrate17.1 g17.8 g−0.7 g
Total fat8.8 g8.2 g+0.5 g
Dietary fiber2.5 g2.6 g−0.1 g
Sodium349 mg344 mg+5 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 11 more calories and 2.2 g more protein than “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant.”

Only this record lists Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables. Only the comparison record lists Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables.

Listed only in the comparison: Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708894 with FDC 2708882 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708894 versus FDC 2708882 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins.

For “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708894 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 165 kcal per 100 g becomes 413 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708894

FNDDS food code: 58146651

The scaling for FDC 2708894 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.