Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Pasta with tomato sauce, meat & vegetables, restaurant calories: 440 per 1 cup (250 g)

This exact USDA record reports 440 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant

Quick facts

1 cup · 250 g

Calories
440 kcal
Protein
13.7 g
Carbohydrate
43.8 g
Total fat
22.9 g
Fiber
3.8 g
Sodium
870 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g

440calories

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant

Protein
13.7 g
Carbs
43.8 g
Fat
22.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708840

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 440 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 176 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 13.7 g protein, 3.8 g fiber, and 870 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, representing 48% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708840: “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708840, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 187.5 g 330 kcal 10.3 g 2.8 g 653 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 250 g 440 kcal 13.7 g 3.8 g 870 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 312.5 g 550 kcal 17.1 g 4.7 g 1,088 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708840’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

176 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
154 kcal
Middle 50%
125–177 kcal

Based on 169 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.8 g
Middle 50%
4.4–6.3 g

Based on 169 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1–2 g

Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

348 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
336 mg
Middle 50%
233–398 mg

Based on 169 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708840’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber3.8 g

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium870 mg

≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4 g

≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708833 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 250 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 330 kcal and 550 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708833

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2 g more protein than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt supplies 48% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “meat; and added vegetables; restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2708833 when “and added vegetables; restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant

Exact source wording
“Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708840 · FNDDS 58146331
Named qualifiers
meat · and added vegetables · restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, restaurant

Exact source wording
“Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708833 · FNDDS 58146301
Named qualifiers
and added vegetables · restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “meat”, “and added vegetables”, and “restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g440 kcal 176 kcal 5.5 g 9.2 g 1.5 g 348 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g395 kcal 158 kcal 3.5 g 7.8 g 1.6 g 343 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g430 kcal 172 kcal 5.6 g 9.5 g 2.5 g 349 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g423 kcal 169 kcal 5.6 g 8.4 g 1.5 g 347 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, seafood, and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g410 kcal 164 kcal 5.2 g 7.9 g 1.5 g 357 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce and meat, restaurant 250 g445 kcal 178 kcal 5.4 g 9.3 g 1.5 g 383 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, restaurant 250 g385 kcal 154 kcal 3.6 g 8.2 g 2.6 g 344 mg

How to compare FDC 2708840: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708840, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

440 kcal

250 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708840, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

870 mg≈ 38% Daily Value

Total fat

22.9 g≈ 29% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708840’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708840 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708840 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.8 g dietary fiber, about 13% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 870 mg sodium, about 38% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 440 kcal Not established
Protein 13.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 43.8 g 16%
Total fat 22.9 g 29%
Dietary fiber 3.8 g 13%
Sugars 5.2 g Not established
Sodium 870 mg 38%
Saturated fat 4 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 9.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 7.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 20 mg 7%
Potassium 402.5 mg 9%
Calcium 35 mg 3%
Iron 2.7 mg 15%
Magnesium 42.5 mg 10%
Vitamin C 11 mg 12%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 30 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 166.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708840, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708840 to 4 source inputs totaling 291.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

291.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available 140 GM 140 g 48%
2 Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetablesUSDA ingredient 27162060 · encyclopedia page available 130 GM 130 g 44.6%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 6.9%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.5 GM 1.5 g 0.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708840, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant

USDA category
Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese
FDC ID
2708840
FNDDS code
58146331
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories176 kcal158 kcal+18 kcal
Protein5.5 g3.5 g+2 g
Carbohydrate17.5 g18.1 g−0.6 g
Total fat9.2 g7.8 g+1.3 g
Dietary fiber1.5 g1.6 g−0.1 g
Sodium348 mg343 mg+5 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 18 more calories, 2 g more protein, and 1.3 g more total fat than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, restaurant.”

Only this record lists Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables. Only the comparison record lists Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables.

Listed only in the comparison: Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708840 with FDC 2708833 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708840 versus FDC 2708833 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708840 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins.

For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708840 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 176 kcal per 100 g becomes 440 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708840

FNDDS food code: 58146331

The scaling for FDC 2708840 can be exact while the match to “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.