Mixed disheshigher variability

Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust calories: 351 per 1 piece, NFS (142 g)

This exact USDA record reports 351 calories for 1 piece, NFS (142 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 piece, NFS · 142 g

Calories
351 kcal
Protein
18 g
Carbohydrate
44.4 g
Total fat
11.2 g
Fiber
5.7 g
Sodium
598 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 piece, NFS · 142 g

351calories

Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust

Protein
18 g
Carbs
44.4 g
Fat
11.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708620

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 351 calories for 1 piece, NFS at 142 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 247 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 18 g protein, 5.7 g fiber, and 598 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is school lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thin crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 piece, NFS at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–351 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708620: “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708620, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 piece, NFS” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure 5.6 g 14 kcal 0.7 g 0.2 g 24 mg
1 personal size pizza (5-7" diameter)USDA-listed household measure 128 g 316 kcal 16.3 g 5.1 g 539 mg
1 piece, NFSUSDA-listed household measure 142 g 351 kcal 18 g 5.7 g 598 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pizza

The comparison set contains 86 exact records in the Pizza USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708620’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

247 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
266 kcal
Middle 50%
243–277 kcal

Based on 86 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

12.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.4 g
Middle 50%
10–12.5 g

Based on 86 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.2 g
Middle 50%
1.9–2.7 g

Based on 86 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

421 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
510 mg
Middle 50%
470–570 mg

Based on 86 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708620’s 142 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium310 mg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber5.7 g

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.7 g

≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium598 mg

≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708619 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 surface inch to 1 piece, NFS

    USDA assigns those measures 5.6 g and 142 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 351 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708619

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.6 g more dietary fiber than “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, medium crust.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thin crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cheese; from school lunch; thin crust” fits. Inspect FDC 2708619 when “cheese; from school lunch; medium crust” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust

Exact source wording
“Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708620 · FNDDS 58106235
Named qualifiers
cheese · from school lunch · thin crust

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, medium crust

Exact source wording
“Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, medium crust”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708619 · FNDDS 58106234
Named qualifiers
cheese · from school lunch · medium crust
Source inputs unique in this pair
School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thick crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese”, “from school lunch”, and “thin crust”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust 142 g351 kcal 247 kcal 12.7 g 7.9 g 4 g 421 mg
Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, medium crust 147 g368 kcal 250 kcal 13.7 g 8.6 g 3.4 g 421 mg
Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thick crust 158 g401 kcal 254 kcal 14.6 g 9.3 g 2.9 g 421 mg
Pizza with pepperoni, from school lunch, thin crust 142 g361 kcal 254 kcal 12.8 g 8.6 g 4.3 g 495 mg
Pizza, no cheese, thin crust 150 g414 kcal 276 kcal 7.5 g 13.7 g 1.8 g 551 mg
Pizza, cheese, from frozen, thin crust 194 g510 kcal 263 kcal 11.9 g 11.1 g 3 g 471 mg
Pizza, cheese, with fruit, thin crust 208 g478 kcal 230 kcal 9.5 g 8.1 g 2.1 g 447 mg

How to compare FDC 2708620: its source amount is 142 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708620, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece, NFS

351 kcal

142 g

1 personal size pizza (5-7" diameter)

316 kcal

128 g

1 surface inch

14 kcal

6 g

A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708620, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

5.7 g≈ 28% Daily Value

Sodium

597.8 mg≈ 26% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708620’s 142 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708620 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 18 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708620 at 142 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 5.7 g dietary fiber, about 20% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 598 mg sodium, about 26% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 142 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 351 kcal Not established
Protein 18 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 44.4 g 16%
Total fat 11.2 g 14%
Dietary fiber 5.7 g 20%
Sugars 10.1 g Not established
Sodium 597.8 mg 26%
Saturated fat 5.7 g 28%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 17 mg 6%
Potassium 494.2 mg 11%
Calcium 309.6 mg 24%
Iron 3.6 mg 20%
Magnesium 72.4 mg 17%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 93.7 µg 10%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 64.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708620, approximate percentages divide the displayed 142 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708620 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thin crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thin crust, whole grain, frozen, cookedUSDA ingredient 21600 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708620, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pizza” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories247 kcal250 kcal−3 kcal
Protein12.7 g13.7 g−1 g
Carbohydrate31.3 g29.7 g+1.6 g
Total fat7.9 g8.6 g−0.7 g
Dietary fiber4 g3.4 g+0.6 g
Sodium421 mg421 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only the comparison record lists School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thick crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thin crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked.

Listed only in the comparison: School Lunch, pizza, cheese topping, thick crust, whole grain, frozen, cooked.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 142 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece, NFS (142 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 147 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece, NFS (147 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708620 with FDC 2708619 at equal mass; use their 142 g and 147 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708620 versus FDC 2708619 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pizza source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708620 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.

For “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe and ingredient ratios

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    added cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    sauces and toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708620 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 247 kcal per 100 g becomes 351 kcal at 142 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 piece, NFS has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708620

FNDDS food code: 58106235

The scaling for FDC 2708620 can be exact while the match to “Pizza, cheese, from school lunch, thin crust” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 142 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.