Energy
middle half455 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 490 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 437–531 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 137 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 30 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g
137calories
Popcorn chips, sweet flavors
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 137 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 455 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.6 g protein, 1.3 g fiber, and 73 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted, representing 79.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 5–387 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708244: “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708244, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 1 g | 5 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 2 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 137 kcal | 2.6 g | 1.3 g | 73 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 387 kcal | 7.4 g | 3.6 g | 207 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708244’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half455 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter243 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708244’s 30 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium23 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium73 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.6 g
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708243 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 1 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 5 kcal to 387 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 343 mg less sodium than “Popcorn chips, other flavors.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted supplies 79.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “sweet flavors” fits. Inspect FDC 2708243 when “other flavors” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “sweet flavors”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPopcorn chips, sweet flavors | 30 g137 kcal | 455 kcal | 8.8 g | 13.5 g | 4.2 g | 243 mg |
| Popcorn chips, other flavors | 30 g131 kcal | 438 kcal | 10.2 g | 11.2 g | 4.9 g | 586 mg |
| Popcorn chips, plain | 30 g131 kcal | 438 kcal | 10.2 g | 11.2 g | 4.9 g | 586 mg |
| Sweet potato chips | 28 g148 kcal | 529 kcal | 2.9 g | 32.2 g | 8.8 g | 227 mg |
| Tortilla chips, other flavors (Doritos) | 30 g156 kcal | 519 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.4 g | 5.1 g | 691 mg |
| Bean chips | 30 g134 kcal | 448 kcal | 14.6 g | 21.6 g | 9.7 g | 410 mg |
| Shrimp chips | 40 g170 kcal | 426 kcal | 7.1 g | 17.9 g | 5.6 g | 571 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708244: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708244, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
5 kcal
1 g
137 kcal
30 g
127 kcal
28 g
259 kcal
57 g
387 kcal
85 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708244, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
22.4 g≈ 8% Daily ValueMagnesium
23.1 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708244’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708244 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 137 kcal 455 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.6 g 8.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 22.4 g 74.6 g | 8% 27% |
| Total fat | 4.1 g 13.5 g | 5% 17% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.3 g 4.2 g | 5% 15% |
| Sugars | 3.5 g 11.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 72.9 mg 243 mg | 3% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 0.6 g 1.9 g | 3% 9% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 3.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 65.1 mg 217 mg | 1% 5% |
| Calcium | 38.1 mg 127 mg | 3% 10% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 1.3 mg | 2% 7% |
| Magnesium | 23.1 mg 77 mg | 6% 18% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0.9 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.4 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708244, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708244 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted, Sugars, granulated, Oil, corn. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 19833 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 79.5% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 11 GM | 11 g | 10.9% |
| 3 | Oil, cornUSDA ingredient 4518 · encyclopedia page available | 9 GM | 9 g | 8.9% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708244, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 455 kcal | 438 kcal | +17 kcal |
| Protein | 8.8 g | 10.2 g | −1.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 74.6 g | 74.2 g | +0.4 g |
| Total fat | 13.5 g | 11.2 g | +2.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.2 g | 4.9 g | −0.7 g |
| Sodium | 243 mg | 586 mg | −343 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.5 g less protein, 2.3 g more total fat, and 343 mg less sodium than “Popcorn chips, other flavors.”
Only this record lists Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted; Oil, corn; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Sugars, granulated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708244 with FDC 2708243 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708244 versus FDC 2708243 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708244 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708244 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 455 kcal per 100 g becomes 137 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708244
FNDDS food code: 54404020
The scaling for FDC 2708244 can be exact while the match to “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.