Energy
middle half529 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 490 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 437–531 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 148 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small bag · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g
148calories
Sweet potato chips
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 148 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 529 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0.8 g protein, 2.5 g fiber, and 64 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, sweet potato chips, unsalted, representing 99.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–450 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709710: “Sweet potato chips.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709710, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 11 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.2 g | 5 mg |
| 1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 148 kcal | 0.8 g | 2.5 g | 64 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 450 kcal | 2.5 g | 7.5 g | 193 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709710’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half529 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter8.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter227 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709710’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A330.4 µg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2.5 g
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium64 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Sweet potato chips,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708244 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 450 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.8 g less protein than “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, sweet potato chips, unsalted supplies 99.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Sweet potato chips” fits. Inspect FDC 2708244 when “sweet flavors” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSweet potato chips | 28 g148 kcal | 529 kcal | 2.9 g | 32.2 g | 8.8 g | 227 mg |
| Popcorn chips, sweet flavors | 30 g137 kcal | 455 kcal | 8.8 g | 13.5 g | 4.2 g | 243 mg |
| Vegetable chips | 30 g149 kcal | 495 kcal | 4.7 g | 26.6 g | 7.8 g | 329 mg |
| Corn chips, plain | 45 g241 kcal | 535 kcal | 6.1 g | 33.1 g | 4 g | 817 mg |
| Tortilla chips, flavored | 30 g156 kcal | 519 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.4 g | 5.1 g | 691 mg |
| Corn chips, flavored | 45 g244 kcal | 543 kcal | 6.1 g | 34 g | 4 g | 509 mg |
| Bean chips | 30 g134 kcal | 448 kcal | 14.6 g | 21.6 g | 9.7 g | 410 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709710: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709710, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
11 kcal
2 g
148 kcal
28 g
302 kcal
57 g
450 kcal
85 g
95 kcal
18 g
132 kcal
25 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709710, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
330.4 µg≈ 37% Daily ValueTotal fat
9 g≈ 12% Daily ValueDietary fiber
2.5 g≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709710’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 148 kcal 529 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0.8 g 2.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15.8 g 56.5 g | 6% 21% |
| Total fat | 9 g 32.2 g | 12% 41% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.5 g 8.8 g | 9% 31% |
| Sugars | 2.5 g 8.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 63.6 mg 227 mg | 3% 10% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 2.9 g | 4% 15% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.6 g 9.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.4 g 12.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 257.6 mg 920 mg | 5% 20% |
| Calcium | 16.5 mg 59 mg | 1% 5% |
| Iron | 0.6 mg 2.1 mg | 3% 12% |
| Magnesium | 18.2 mg 65 mg | 4% 15% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 330.4 µg 1,180 µg | 37% 131% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 1.3 g 4.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709710, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709710 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Sweet potato chips” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, sweet potato chips, unsalted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, sweet potato chips, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 25012 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.5% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709710, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 529 kcal | 455 kcal | +74 kcal |
| Protein | 2.9 g | 8.8 g | −5.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 56.5 g | 74.6 g | −18.1 g |
| Total fat | 32.2 g | 13.5 g | +18.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 8.8 g | 4.2 g | +4.6 g |
| Sodium | 227 mg | 243 mg | −16 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 74 more calories, 5.8 g less protein, and 18.1 g less carbohydrate than “Popcorn chips, sweet flavors.”
Only this record lists Snacks, sweet potato chips, unsalted. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Oil, corn. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Snacks, sweet potato chips, unsalted.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Oil, corn.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709710 with FDC 2708244 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709710 versus FDC 2708244 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Sweet potato chips,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709710 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 529 kcal per 100 g becomes 148 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709710
FNDDS food code: 73410210
The scaling for FDC 2709710 can be exact while the match to “Sweet potato chips” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.