Energy
middle half116 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 116–131 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 197 calories for 1 medium (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine
Quick facts
1 medium · 170 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium · 170 g
197calories
Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 197 calories for 1 medium at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 116 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4 g protein, 3.6 g fiber, and 321 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt, representing 94.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 70–348 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709398: “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709398, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 baby potato” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 baby potatoUSDA-listed household measure | 60 g | 70 kcal | 1.4 g | 1.3 g | 113 mg |
| 1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 197 kcal | 4 g | 3.6 g | 321 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 300 g | 348 kcal | 7.1 g | 6.3 g | 567 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the White potatoes, baked or boiled USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709398’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half116 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half2.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half189 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709398’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Potassium865 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin C15 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium321 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709408 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 60 g and 300 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 70 kcal to 348 kcal.
The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt supplies 94.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2709398 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “boiled”, “from fresh”, “peel eaten”, and “made with margarine”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine | 170 g197 kcal | 116 kcal | 2.4 g | 3.2 g | 2.1 g | 189 mg |
| Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with margarine | 170 g197 kcal | 116 kcal | 1.9 g | 3.2 g | 1.4 g | 185 mg |
| Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine | 170 g197 kcal | 116 kcal | 2.4 g | 3.2 g | 2.1 g | 189 mg |
| Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with margarine | 170 g197 kcal | 116 kcal | 1.9 g | 3.2 g | 1.4 g | 185 mg |
| Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter | 170 g209 kcal | 123 kcal | 1.9 g | 4 g | 1.4 g | 176 mg |
| Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with butter | 170 g209 kcal | 123 kcal | 2.4 g | 4 g | 2.1 g | 181 mg |
| Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with oil | 170 g223 kcal | 131 kcal | 1.9 g | 4.8 g | 1.4 g | 152 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709398: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709398, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
70 kcal
60 g
70 kcal
60 g
151 kcal
130 g
197 kcal
170 g
348 kcal
300 g
186 kcal
160 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709398, Potassium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Potassium
865.3 mg≈ 18% Daily ValueVitamin C
15.5 mg≈ 17% Daily ValueSodium
321.3 mg≈ 14% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709398’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709398 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 197 kcal 116 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4 g 2.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 34.2 g 20.1 g | 12% 7% |
| Total fat | 5.5 g 3.2 g | 7% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.6 g 2.1 g | 13% 8% |
| Sugars | 1.9 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 321.3 mg 189 mg | 14% 8% |
| Saturated fat | 1.1 g 0.6 g | 5% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.2 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 865.3 mg 509 mg | 18% 11% |
| Calcium | 25.5 mg 15 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 1 mg | 10% 6% |
| Magnesium | 45.9 mg 27 mg | 11% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 15.5 mg 9.1 mg | 17% 10% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.2 µg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 68 µg 40 µg | 8% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 123.4 g 72.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709398, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709398 to 3 source inputs totaling 105.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt, Margarine, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
105.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without saltUSDA ingredient 11674 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 94.9% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.4% |
| 3 | Margarine, NFSUSDA ingredient 81102000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 4.7% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709398, the close-record rule searches the USDA “White potatoes, baked or boiled” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
Source-equivalent fields
Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2709398 and FDC 2709408 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.
Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709398 versus FDC 2709408 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full white potatoes, baked or boiled source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709398 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.
For “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709398 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 116 kcal per 100 g becomes 197 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709398
FNDDS food code: 71103150
The scaling for FDC 2709398 can be exact while the match to “Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.