Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free calories: 126 per 1 small bag (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 126 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 small bag · 28 g

Calories
126 kcal
Protein
1.1 g
Carbohydrate
21 g
Total fat
4.4 g
Fiber
0.4 g
Sodium
186 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g

126calories

Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free

Protein
1.1 g
Carbs
21 g
Fat
4.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708263

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 126 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 451 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.1 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 186 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flour, representing 40% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 9–388 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708263: “Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708263, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 pretzel stick” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 pretzel stickUSDA-listed household measure 2 g 9 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 13 mg
1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 126 kcal 1.1 g 0.4 g 186 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 86 g 388 kcal 3.2 g 1.2 g 570 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pretzels/snack mix

The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708263’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

451 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
370 kcal
Middle 50%
340–388 kcal

Based on 37 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8.2 g
Middle 50%
6.2–9.9 g

Based on 37 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.8 g
Middle 50%
1.6–3.5 g

Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

663 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
685 mg
Middle 50%
310–1,040 mg

Based on 37 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708263’s 28 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat2.5 g

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium186 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708254 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 pretzel stick to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 86 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 9 kcal to 388 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708254

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 907 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Snacks, Pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flour

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Snacks, Pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flour supplies 40% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “hard; coated; gluten free” fits. Inspect FDC 2708254 when “hard; plain; gluten free” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free

Exact source wording
“Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708263 · FNDDS 54408260
Named qualifiers
hard · coated · gluten free
Source inputs unique in this pair
Sugars, granulated · Candies, white chocolate

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free

Exact source wording
“Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708254 · FNDDS 54408081
Named qualifiers
hard · plain · gluten free

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “hard”, “coated”, and “gluten free”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPretzels, hard, coated, gluten free 28 g126 kcal 451 kcal 3.8 g 15.6 g 1.4 g 663 mg
Pretzels, hard, flavored, gluten free 28 g110 kcal 393 kcal 3.5 g 7.6 g 3.3 g 1,620 mg
Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free 28 g109 kcal 389 kcal 3.5 g 6.7 g 3.3 g 1,570 mg
Pretzels, hard, yogurt coated 28 g123 kcal 438 kcal 5.9 g 12.2 g 1.1 g 441 mg
Pretzels, hard, chocolate coated 28 g131 kcal 467 kcal 7.1 g 17.6 g 3.5 g 494 mg
Pretzels, soft, gluten free, coated or flavored 95 g310 kcal 326 kcal 4.1 g 10.4 g 3.7 g 808 mg
Pretzels, hard, white chocolate coated 28 g125 kcal 445 kcal 5.9 g 14.2 g 1.2 g 442 mg

How to compare FDC 2708263: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708263, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature/bite size

18 kcal

4 g

1-3 ring thin pretzel

32 kcal

7 g

1-3 ring thick pretzel

140 kcal

31 g

1 pretzel stick

9 kcal

2 g

1 rod

108 kcal

24 g

1 pretzel, NS as to size

18 kcal

4 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708263, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

2.5 g≈ 13% Daily Value

Sodium

185.6 mg≈ 8% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

21 g≈ 8% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708263’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 126 kcal Not established
Protein 1.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 21 g 8%
Total fat 4.4 g 6%
Dietary fiber 0.4 g 1%
Sugars 12.7 g Not established
Sodium 185.6 mg 8%
Saturated fat 2.5 g 13%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 2.2 mg 1%
Potassium 39.8 mg 1%
Calcium 22.4 mg 2%
Iron 0.1 mg 0%
Magnesium 2.2 mg 1%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 1.1 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.9 g Not established

For FDC 2708263, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708263 to 3 source inputs totaling 250 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, Pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flour, Candies, white chocolate, Sugars, granulated. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

250 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, Pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flourUSDA ingredient 25065 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 40%
2 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 20%
3 Candies, white chocolateUSDA ingredient 19087 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 40%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708263, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories451 kcal389 kcal+62 kcal
Protein3.8 g3.5 g+0.2 g
Carbohydrate75.1 g78.6 g−3.5 g
Total fat15.6 g6.7 g+8.9 g
Dietary fiber1.4 g3.3 g−1.9 g
Sodium663 mg1,570 mg−907 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 62 more calories, 8.9 g more total fat, and 1.9 g less dietary fiber than “Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free.”

Only this record lists Sugars, granulated; Candies, white chocolate. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Snacks, Pretzels, gluten- free made with cornstarch and potato flour.

Listed only in this record: Sugars, granulated; Candies, white chocolate.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708263 with FDC 2708254 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708263 versus FDC 2708254 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708263 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708263 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 451 kcal per 100 g becomes 126 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708263

FNDDS food code: 54408260

The scaling for FDC 2708263 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.