Energy
upper quarter454 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 370 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–388 kcal
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 127 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small bag · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g
127calories
Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 127 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 454 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.9 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 291 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted, representing 66.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–436 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708266: “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708266, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/bite size” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/bite sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 3 g | 14 kcal | 0.4 g | 0.1 g | 31 mg |
| 1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 127 kcal | 3.9 g | 1.1 g | 291 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 96 g | 436 kcal | 13.4 g | 3.7 g | 998 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708266’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter454 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter14 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter3.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half1,040 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708266’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium21 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium291 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708252 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 3 g and 96 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 436 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 15.1 g more total fat than “Pretzels, hard, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted supplies 66.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “hard; peanut butter filled” fits. Inspect FDC 2708252 when “hard; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “hard” and “peanut butter filled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPretzels, hard, peanut butter filled | 28 g127 kcal | 454 kcal | 14 g | 19 g | 3.9 g | 1,040 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, cheese filled | 28 g130 kcal | 463 kcal | 9.9 g | 16.9 g | 3.6 g | 1,120 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, chocolate coated | 28 g131 kcal | 467 kcal | 7.1 g | 17.6 g | 3.5 g | 494 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, yogurt coated | 28 g123 kcal | 438 kcal | 5.9 g | 12.2 g | 1.1 g | 441 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, flavored | 28 g109 kcal | 388 kcal | 9.9 g | 3.9 g | 3.4 g | 1,180 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, multigrain | 28 g107 kcal | 381 kcal | 10.2 g | 3 g | 4.2 g | 1,100 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, coated, gluten free | 28 g126 kcal | 451 kcal | 3.8 g | 15.6 g | 1.4 g | 663 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708266: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708266, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
14 kcal
3 g
14 kcal
3 g
127 kcal
28 g
259 kcal
57 g
386 kcal
85 g
114 kcal
25 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708266, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
291.2 mg≈ 13% Daily ValueTotal fat
5.3 g≈ 7% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708266’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708266 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 3.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708266 at 28 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 127 kcal 454 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.9 g 14 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 17 g 60.8 g | 6% 22% |
| Total fat | 5.3 g 19 g | 7% 24% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 3.9 g | 4% 14% |
| Sugars | 1.4 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 291.2 mg 1,040 mg | 13% 45% |
| Saturated fat | 1 g 3.7 g | 5% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.5 g 9.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 93.2 mg 333 mg | 2% 7% |
| Calcium | 9.5 mg 34 mg | 1% 3% |
| Iron | 1 mg 3.6 mg | 6% 20% |
| Magnesium | 21 mg 75 mg | 5% 18% |
| Vitamin C | 0.4 mg 1.4 mg | 0% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.7 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708266, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708266 to 3 source inputs totaling 150.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted, Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
150.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, saltedUSDA ingredient 19047 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 66.4% |
| 2 | Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 16098 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 33.2% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708266, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 454 kcal | 388 kcal | +66 kcal |
| Protein | 14 g | 9.9 g | +4.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 60.8 g | 79.4 g | −18.6 g |
| Total fat | 19 g | 3.9 g | +15.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.9 g | 3.4 g | +0.5 g |
| Sodium | 1,040 mg | 1,180 mg | −140 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 66 more calories, 4.1 g more protein, and 18.6 g less carbohydrate than “Pretzels, hard, flavored.”
Only this record lists Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). Only the comparison record lists Vegetable oil, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Listed only in the comparison: Vegetable oil, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708266 with FDC 2708252 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708266 versus FDC 2708252 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708266 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708266 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 454 kcal per 100 g becomes 127 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708266
FNDDS food code: 54408310
The scaling for FDC 2708266 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, hard, peanut butter filled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.