Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Roll, white, hoagie, submarine calories: 296 per 1 medium (106 g)

This exact USDA record reports 296 calories for 1 medium (106 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 106 g

Calories
296 kcal
Protein
10.4 g
Carbohydrate
53.1 g
Total fat
4.1 g
Fiber
1.9 g
Sodium
524 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium (8" long) · 106 g

296calories

Roll, white, hoagie, submarine

Protein
10.4 g
Carbs
53.1 g
Fat
4.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707663

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 296 calories for 1 medium at 106 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 10.4 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 524 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 204–427 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707663: “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707663, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 small (5-1/2" long)” through “1 large (11-1/2" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 small (5-1/2" long)USDA-listed household measure 73 g 204 kcal 7.1 g 1.3 g 361 mg
1 medium (8" long)USDA-listed household measure 106 g 296 kcal 10.4 g 1.9 g 524 mg
1 large (11-1/2" long)USDA-listed household measure 153 g 427 kcal 14.9 g 2.8 g 756 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Rolls and buns

The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Rolls and buns USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707663’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

279 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
279 kcal
Middle 50%
272–313 kcal

Based on 17 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

9.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
9.3–10.8 g

Based on 17 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.3 g
Middle 50%
2.2–3.8 g

Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

494 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
524 mg
Middle 50%
494–602 mg

Based on 17 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707663’s 106 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron4 mg

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium153 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium524 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.9 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707654 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 small (5-1/2" long) to 1 large (11-1/2" long)

    USDA assigns those measures 73 g and 153 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 204 kcal to 427 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707654

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Roll, white, soft.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “white; hoagie; submarine” fits. Inspect FDC 2707654 when “white; soft” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Roll, white, hoagie, submarine

Exact source wording
“Roll, white, hoagie, submarine”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707663 · FNDDS 51157000
Named qualifiers
white · hoagie · submarine

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Roll, white, soft

Exact source wording
“Roll, white, soft”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707654 · FNDDS 51150000
Named qualifiers
white · soft

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “white”, “hoagie”, and “submarine”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordRoll, white, hoagie, submarine 106 g296 kcal 279 kcal 9.8 g 3.9 g 1.8 g 494 mg
Roll, white, soft 43 g120 kcal 279 kcal 9.8 g 3.9 g 1.8 g 494 mg
Roll, white, hard 56 g164 kcal 293 kcal 9.9 g 4.3 g 2.3 g 544 mg
Roll, whole grain white 43 g110 kcal 255 kcal 9.3 g 3.5 g 2.3 g 512 mg
Roll, oatmeal 36 g97 kcal 269 kcal 8.4 g 4.4 g 4 g 447 mg
Roll, multigrain 43 g113 kcal 263 kcal 9.6 g 6 g 3.8 g 458 mg
Roll, wheat or cracked wheat 43 g117 kcal 273 kcal 8.6 g 6.3 g 3.8 g 524 mg

How to compare FDC 2707663: its source amount is 106 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707663, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small (5-1/2" long)

204 kcal

73 g

1 medium (8" long)

296 kcal

106 g

1 large (11-1/2" long)

427 kcal

153 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707663, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

523.6 mg≈ 23% Daily Value

Iron

3.6 mg≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707663’s 106 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707663 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 10.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707663 at 106 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 524 mg sodium, about 23% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 106 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 296 kcal Not established
Protein 10.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 53.1 g 19%
Total fat 4.1 g 5%
Dietary fiber 1.9 g 7%
Sugars 7.7 g Not established
Sodium 523.6 mg 23%
Saturated fat 0.9 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 129.3 mg 3%
Calcium 152.6 mg 12%
Iron 3.6 mg 20%
Magnesium 24.4 mg 6%
Vitamin C 1.4 mg 2%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 36.4 g Not established

For FDC 2707663, approximate percentages divide the displayed 106 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707663 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707663, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Rolls and buns” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories279 kcal279 kcalSame listed value
Protein9.8 g9.8 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate50.1 g50.1 gSame listed value
Total fat3.9 g3.9 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber1.8 g1.8 gSame listed value
Sodium494 mg494 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations match

The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.

Shared listed inputs: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 106 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (106 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 43 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium roll (43 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707663 with FDC 2707654 at equal mass; use their 106 g and 43 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707663 versus FDC 2707654 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full rolls and buns source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707663 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 296 kcal at 106 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707663

FNDDS food code: 51157000

The scaling for FDC 2707663 can be exact while the match to “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 106 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.