Energy
middle half279 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 279 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 272–313 kcal
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 120 calories for 1 medium roll (43 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium roll · 43 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium/regular/sandwich size roll · 43 g
120calories
Roll, white, soft
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 120 calories for 1 medium roll at 43 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.2 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 212 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium roll at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 8–190 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707654: “Roll, white, soft.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707654, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 extra large roll” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 2.9 g | 8 kcal | 0.3 g | 0.1 g | 14 mg |
| 1 medium/regular/sandwich size rollUSDA-listed household measure | 43 g | 120 kcal | 4.2 g | 0.8 g | 212 mg |
| 1 extra large rollUSDA-listed household measure | 68 g | 190 kcal | 6.6 g | 1.2 g | 336 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Rolls and buns USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707654’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half279 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half494 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707654’s 43 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium212 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.4 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Roll, white, soft,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707663 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2.9 g and 68 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 8 kcal to 190 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Roll, white, hoagie, submarine.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “white; soft” fits. Inspect FDC 2707663 when “white; hoagie; submarine” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “white” and “soft”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordRoll, white, soft | 43 g120 kcal | 279 kcal | 9.8 g | 3.9 g | 1.8 g | 494 mg |
| Roll, white, hard | 56 g164 kcal | 293 kcal | 9.9 g | 4.3 g | 2.3 g | 544 mg |
| Roll, white, hoagie, submarine | 106 g296 kcal | 279 kcal | 9.8 g | 3.9 g | 1.8 g | 494 mg |
| Roll, whole grain white | 43 g110 kcal | 255 kcal | 9.3 g | 3.5 g | 2.3 g | 512 mg |
| Roll, oatmeal | 36 g97 kcal | 269 kcal | 8.4 g | 4.4 g | 4 g | 447 mg |
| Roll, multigrain | 43 g113 kcal | 263 kcal | 9.6 g | 6 g | 3.8 g | 458 mg |
| Roll, wheat or cracked wheat | 43 g117 kcal | 273 kcal | 8.6 g | 6.3 g | 3.8 g | 524 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707654: its source amount is 43 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707654, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
78 kcal
28 g
120 kcal
43 g
145 kcal
52 g
190 kcal
68 g
8 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707654, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
212.4 mg≈ 9% Daily ValueIron
1.5 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707654’s 43 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707654 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 43 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 120 kcal 279 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.2 g 9.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 21.5 g 50.1 g | 8% 18% |
| Total fat | 1.7 g 3.9 g | 2% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 1.8 g | 3% 6% |
| Sugars | 3.1 g 7.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 212.4 mg 494 mg | 9% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g 0.8 g | 2% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.8 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 52.5 mg 122 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 61.9 mg 144 mg | 5% 11% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 3.4 mg | 8% 19% |
| Magnesium | 9.9 mg 23 mg | 2% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.6 mg 1.3 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 14.7 g 34.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707654, approximate percentages divide the displayed 43 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707654 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Roll, white, soft” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707654, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Rolls and buns” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 279 kcal | 279 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 9.8 g | 9.8 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 50.1 g | 50.1 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 3.9 g | 3.9 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 1.8 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 494 mg | 494 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 43 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium roll (43 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 106 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (106 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707654 with FDC 2707663 at equal mass; use their 43 g and 106 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707654 versus FDC 2707663 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full rolls and buns source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Roll, white, soft” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707654 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Roll, white, soft,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707654 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 120 kcal at 43 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium roll has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707654
FNDDS food code: 51150000
The scaling for FDC 2707654 can be exact while the match to “Roll, white, soft” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 43 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.