Energy
upper quarter73 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 47 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 35–61 kcal
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 179 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 245 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g
179calories
Soup, Matzo ball
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 179 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 73 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.6 g protein, 2.2 g fiber, and 647 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 49.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709151: “Soup, Matzo ball.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709151, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 183.8 g | 134 kcal | 5.7 g | 1.7 g | 485 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 245 g | 179 kcal | 7.6 g | 2.2 g | 647 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 306.3 g | 224 kcal | 9.5 g | 2.8 g | 809 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 45 exact records in the Soups, broth-based USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709151’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter73 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half264 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709151’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A193.6 µg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium647 mg
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.3 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soup, Matzo ball,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707453 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183.8–306.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 134 kcal and 224 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.1 g less dietary fiber than “Soup, bean.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 49.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “Matzo ball” fits. Inspect FDC 2707453 when “bean” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Matzo ball”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoup, Matzo ball | 245 g179 kcal | 73 kcal | 3.1 g | 2 g | 0.9 g | 264 mg |
| Soup, bean | 255 g171 kcal | 67 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.8 g | 4 g | 244 mg |
| Soup, lentil | 255 g153 kcal | 60 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.7 g | 3.7 g | 244 mg |
| Soup, barley | 245 g142 kcal | 58 kcal | 3.3 g | 2.1 g | 1.1 g | 247 mg |
| Soup, meatball | 245 g127 kcal | 52 kcal | 2.7 g | 2.2 g | 0.9 g | 285 mg |
| Soup, rice | 245 g125 kcal | 51 kcal | 3.5 g | 1.2 g | 0.5 g | 247 mg |
| Soup, mulligatawany | 245 g118 kcal | 48 kcal | 1.7 g | 1.7 g | 1.8 g | 259 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709151: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709151, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
179 kcal
245 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709151, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
149.5 mg≈ 50% Daily ValueSodium
646.8 mg≈ 28% Daily ValueVitamin A
193.6 µg≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709151’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709151 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 179 kcal 73 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.6 g 3.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 26.2 g 10.7 g | 10% 4% |
| Total fat | 4.8 g 2 g | 6% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g 0.9 g | 8% 3% |
| Sugars | 2.6 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 646.8 mg 264 mg | 28% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 1.3 g 0.5 g | 7% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.7 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 149.5 mg 61 mg | 50% 20% |
| Potassium | 215.6 mg 88 mg | 5% 2% |
| Calcium | 46.6 mg 19 mg | 4% 1% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 0.6 mg | 8% 3% |
| Magnesium | 19.6 mg 8 mg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 3.4 mg 1.4 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 1 µg 0.4 µg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 193.6 µg 79 µg | 22% 9% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 204.1 g 83.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709151, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709151 to 6 source inputs totaling 100.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, Matzo ball” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Crackers, matzo, plainUSDA ingredient 18217 | 10 GM | 10 g | 9.9% |
| 2 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 14.9% |
| 3 | Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available | 25 GM | 25 g | 24.8% |
| 4 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 49.6% |
| 5 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709151, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, broth-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 73 kcal | 67 kcal | +6 kcal |
| Protein | 3.1 g | 3.8 g | −0.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 10.7 g | 11.6 g | −0.9 g |
| Total fat | 2 g | 0.8 g | +1.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.9 g | 4 g | −3.1 g |
| Sodium | 264 mg | 244 mg | +20 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.2 g more total fat and 3.1 g less dietary fiber than “Soup, bean.”
Only this record lists Crackers, matzo, plain; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. Only the comparison record lists Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Crackers, matzo, plain; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole.
Listed only in the comparison: Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709151 with FDC 2707453 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709151 versus FDC 2707453 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soups, broth-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soup, Matzo ball” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709151 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.
For “Soup, Matzo ball,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709151 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 73 kcal per 100 g becomes 179 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709151
FNDDS food code: 58404500
The scaling for FDC 2709151 can be exact while the match to “Soup, Matzo ball” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.