Soups & stewshigher variability

Soup, pho, with meat calories: 189 per 1 cup (245 g)

This exact USDA record reports 189 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 245 g

Calories
189 kcal
Protein
14.2 g
Carbohydrate
13.7 g
Total fat
8.2 g
Fiber
1 g
Sodium
894 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g

189calories

Soup, pho, with meat

Protein
14.2 g
Carbs
13.7 g
Fat
8.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707124

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 189 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 77 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 14.2 g protein, 1 g fiber, and 894 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 49.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707124: “Soup, pho, with meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707124, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 183.8 g 141 kcal 10.7 g 0.7 g 671 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 245 g 189 kcal 14.2 g 1 g 894 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 306.3 g 236 kcal 17.8 g 1.2 g 1,118 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ramen and Asian broth-based soups

The comparison set contains 13 exact records in the Ramen and Asian broth-based soups USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707124’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

77 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
66 kcal
Middle 50%
37–112 kcal

Based on 13 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.7 g
Middle 50%
2.2–5.8 g

Based on 13 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.5 g
Middle 50%
0.4–1 g

Based on 13 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

365 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
357 mg
Middle 50%
333–370 mg

Based on 13 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707124’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium894 mg

≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.1 g

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Soup, pho, with meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707125 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 245 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183.8–306.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 141 kcal and 236 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707125

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.4 g more protein than “Soup, pho, no meat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 49.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “pho; with meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2707125 when “pho; no meat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Soup, pho, with meat

Exact source wording
“Soup, pho, with meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707124 · FNDDS 28310330
Named qualifiers
pho · with meat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef as ingredient in recipes

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Soup, pho, no meat

Exact source wording
“Soup, pho, no meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707125 · FNDDS 28310335
Named qualifiers
pho · no meat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride (nigari) · Cabbage, chinese (pak-choi), raw · Vegetable oil, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “pho” and “with meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordSoup, pho, with meat 245 g189 kcal 77 kcal 5.8 g 3.3 g 0.4 g 365 mg
Soup, pho, no meat 245 g91 kcal 37 kcal 1.4 g 0.9 g 0.5 g 357 mg
Soup, seaweed 245 g91 kcal 37 kcal 3.7 g 1.9 g 0.2 g 324 mg
Soup, wonton 245 g81 kcal 33 kcal 2.4 g 1.3 g 0.3 g 370 mg
Soup, hot and sour 245 g96 kcal 39 kcal 2.6 g 1.2 g 0.5 g 376 mg
Soup, egg drop 245 g66 kcal 27 kcal 1.2 g 0.6 g 0.4 g 370 mg
Soup, miso or tofu 245 g59 kcal 24 kcal 2.2 g 0.9 g 0.6 g 467 mg

How to compare FDC 2707124: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707124, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

189 kcal

245 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707124, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

894.3 mg≈ 39% Daily Value

Saturated fat

3.1 g≈ 16% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707124’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707124 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707124 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 894 mg sodium, about 39% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 189 kcal Not established
Protein 14.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 13.7 g 5%
Total fat 8.2 g 10%
Dietary fiber 1 g 3%
Sugars 1.1 g Not established
Sodium 894.3 mg 39%
Saturated fat 3.1 g 16%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 44.1 mg 15%
Potassium 191.1 mg 4%
Calcium 22.1 mg 2%
Iron 1.4 mg 8%
Magnesium 17.2 mg 4%
Vitamin C 2.5 mg 3%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 2.5 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 206 g Not established

For FDC 2707124, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707124 to 6 source inputs totaling 100.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, pho, with meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Rice noodles, cooked, Beef as ingredient in recipes. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 49.6%
2 Rice noodles, cookedUSDA ingredient 20134 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 19.8%
3 Onions, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997510 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%
4 Mung beans, mature seeds, sprouted, rawUSDA ingredient 11043 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%
5 Beef as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992100 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 19.8%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.9 GM 0.9 g 0.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707124, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ramen and Asian broth-based soups” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories77 kcal37 kcal+40 kcal
Protein5.8 g1.4 g+4.4 g
Carbohydrate5.6 g5.9 g−0.3 g
Total fat3.3 g0.9 g+2.4 g
Dietary fiber0.4 g0.5 g−0.1 g
Sodium365 mg357 mg+8 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 40 more calories, 4.4 g more protein, and 2.4 g more total fat than “Soup, pho, no meat.”

Only this record lists Beef as ingredient in recipes. Only the comparison record lists Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride (nigari); Cabbage, chinese (pak-choi), raw; Vegetable oil, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Rice noodles, cooked; Onions, cooked, as ingredient; Mung beans, mature seeds, sprouted, raw; and 1 more.

Listed only in this record: Beef as ingredient in recipes.

Listed only in the comparison: Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride (nigari); Cabbage, chinese (pak-choi), raw; Vegetable oil, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707124 with FDC 2707125 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 245 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707124 versus FDC 2707125 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ramen and asian broth-based soups source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.

For “Soup, pho, with meat,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    bowl size

    Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    solid-to-broth ratio

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  3. 03

    recipe

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added cream, oil, or toppings

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707124 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 77 kcal per 100 g becomes 189 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707124

FNDDS food code: 28310330

The scaling for FDC 2707124 can be exact while the match to “Soup, pho, with meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.