Energy
middle half266 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 219 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 192–266 kcal
Based on 61 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 359 calories for 1 sandwich (135 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 135 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 135 g
359calories
Spam sandwich
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 359 calories for 1 sandwich at 135 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 266 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.5 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 1,233 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 45.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707055: “Spam sandwich.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707055, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 101.3 g | 269 kcal | 10.1 g | 1.1 g | 924 mg |
| 1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 359 kcal | 13.5 g | 1.5 g | 1,233 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 168.8 g | 449 kcal | 16.9 g | 1.9 g | 1,541 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 61 exact records in the Deli and cured meat sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707055’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half266 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter10 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter913 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 61 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707055’s 135 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium131 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,233 mg
≈ 54% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.2 g
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Spam sandwich,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706964 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 101.3–168.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 269 kcal and 449 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 9.1 g more total fat than “Ham sandwich on white.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 45.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Spam sandwich” fits. Inspect FDC 2706964 when the exact wording “Ham sandwich on white” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSpam sandwich | 135 g359 kcal | 266 kcal | 10 g | 12.8 g | 1.1 g | 913 mg |
| Reuben sandwich | 215 g606 kcal | 282 kcal | 10 g | 19.4 g | 2.2 g | 688 mg |
| Bologna sandwich on wheat | 115 g313 kcal | 272 kcal | 10.9 g | 13.5 g | 2.8 g | 759 mg |
| Bologna sandwich on white | 115 g315 kcal | 274 kcal | 9.9 g | 13.3 g | 1.2 g | 764 mg |
| Turkey sandwich wrap | 135 g313 kcal | 232 kcal | 12.8 g | 9.4 g | 1.5 g | 792 mg |
| Ham sandwich wrap | 135 g311 kcal | 230 kcal | 13.5 g | 9.4 g | 1.5 g | 825 mg |
| Italian sandwich on wheat | 165 g508 kcal | 308 kcal | 16.4 g | 18.9 g | 2 g | 1,010 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707055: its source amount is 135 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707055, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
359 kcal
135 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707055, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,232.6 mg≈ 54% Daily ValueSaturated fat
6.2 g≈ 31% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707055’s 135 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707055 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707055 at 135 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 135 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 359 kcal 266 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.5 g 10 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 37.3 g 27.6 g | 14% 10% |
| Total fat | 17.3 g 12.8 g | 22% 16% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 1.1 g | 5% 4% |
| Sugars | 6.9 g 5.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,232.6 mg 913 mg | 54% 40% |
| Saturated fat | 6.2 g 4.6 g | 31% 23% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.1 g 6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.3 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 40.5 mg 30 mg | 14% 10% |
| Potassium | 352.4 mg 261 mg | 7% 6% |
| Calcium | 131 mg 97 mg | 10% 7% |
| Iron | 2.5 mg 1.8 mg | 14% 10% |
| Magnesium | 27 mg 20 mg | 6% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.7 mg 0.5 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.3 µg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 4.1 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 62.9 g 46.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707055, approximate percentages divide the displayed 135 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707055 to 3 source inputs totaling 133 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Spam sandwich” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Luncheon meat, pork with ham, minced, canned, includes Spam (Hormel), Catsup. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
133 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 45.1% |
| 2 | Luncheon meat, pork with ham, minced, canned, includes Spam (Hormel)USDA ingredient 7908 | 56 GM | 56 g | 42.1% |
| 3 | CatsupUSDA ingredient 11935 · encyclopedia page available | 17 GM | 17 g | 12.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707055, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Deli and cured meat sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 266 kcal | 187 kcal | +79 kcal |
| Protein | 10 g | 12.9 g | −2.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 27.6 g | 25.6 g | +2 g |
| Total fat | 12.8 g | 3.7 g | +9.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g | 1.2 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 913 mg | 662 mg | +251 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 79 more calories, 2.9 g less protein, and 9.1 g more total fat than “Ham sandwich on white.”
Only this record lists Luncheon meat, pork with ham, minced, canned, includes Spam (Hormel); Catsup. Only the comparison record lists Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared.
Listed only in this record: Luncheon meat, pork with ham, minced, canned, includes Spam (Hormel); Catsup.
Listed only in the comparison: Ham, sliced, pre-packaged, deli meat (96%fat free, water added).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 135 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (135 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (115 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707055 with FDC 2706964 at equal mass; use their 135 g and 115 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707055 versus FDC 2706964 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full deli and cured meat sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Spam sandwich,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707055 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 266 kcal per 100 g becomes 359 kcal at 135 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707055
FNDDS food code: 27560920
The scaling for FDC 2707055 can be exact while the match to “Spam sandwich” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 135 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.