Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos) calories: 141 per 1 cup (30 g)

This exact USDA record reports 141 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 30 g

Calories
141 kcal
Protein
2.1 g
Carbohydrate
20.2 g
Total fat
6.2 g
Fiber
1.6 g
Sodium
156 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g

141calories

Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos)

Protein
2.1 g
Carbs
20.2 g
Fat
6.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708207

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 141 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 470 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.1 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 156 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, salted, representing 99.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–400 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708207: “Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708207, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 chipUSDA-listed household measure 3 g 14 kcal 0.2 g 0.2 g 16 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 141 kcal 2.1 g 1.6 g 156 mg
1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 400 kcal 6 g 4.6 g 441 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Tortilla, corn, other chips

The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708207’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

470 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
490 kcal
Middle 50%
437–531 kcal

Based on 28 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

7.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
7.4 g
Middle 50%
6.2–9.6 g

Based on 28 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

5.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4.9 g
Middle 50%
4–5.3 g

Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

519 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
517 mg
Middle 50%
329–694 mg

Based on 28 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708207’s 30 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium25 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber1.6 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium156 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.8 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708202 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 chip to 1 large single serving bag

    USDA assigns those measures 3 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 400 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708202

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 191 mg more sodium than “Tortilla chips, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, salted

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, salted supplies 99.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cool ranch flavor (Doritos)” fits. Inspect FDC 2708202 when “plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos)

Exact source wording
“Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708207 · FNDDS 54401111
Named qualifiers
cool ranch flavor (Doritos)
Source inputs unique in this pair
Salt, table

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Tortilla chips, plain

Exact source wording
“Tortilla chips, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708202 · FNDDS 54401075
Named qualifiers
plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cool ranch flavor (Doritos)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordTortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos) 30 g141 kcal 470 kcal 7.1 g 20.6 g 5.4 g 519 mg
Tortilla chips, nacho cheese flavor (Doritos) 30 g156 kcal 519 kcal 7.4 g 27.4 g 5.1 g 691 mg
Tortilla chips, other flavors (Doritos) 30 g156 kcal 519 kcal 7.4 g 27.4 g 5.1 g 691 mg
Tortilla chips, plain 30 g142 kcal 472 kcal 7.1 g 20.7 g 5.4 g 328 mg
Tortilla chips, flavored 30 g156 kcal 519 kcal 7.4 g 27.4 g 5.1 g 691 mg
Tortilla chips, reduced sodium 30 g147 kcal 489 kcal 9.4 g 19.8 g 4.5 g 13 mg
Tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted 30 g125 kcal 416 kcal 11 g 5.7 g 5.3 g 15 mg

How to compare FDC 2708207: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708207, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 chip

14 kcal

3 g

1 small single serving bag

132 kcal

28 g

1 medium single serving bag

268 kcal

57 g

1 large single serving bag

400 kcal

85 g

1 100 calorie package

94 kcal

20 g

1 cup

141 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708207, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

6.2 g≈ 8% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

20.2 g≈ 7% Daily Value

Sodium

155.7 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708207’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 141 kcal Not established
Protein 2.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 20.2 g 7%
Total fat 6.2 g 8%
Dietary fiber 1.6 g 6%
Sugars 0.2 g Not established
Sodium 155.7 mg 7%
Saturated fat 0.8 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 54.3 mg 1%
Calcium 31.8 mg 2%
Iron 0.5 mg 3%
Magnesium 25.2 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708207, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708207 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, salted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, saltedUSDA ingredient 19056 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 99.5%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 GM 0.5 g 0.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708207, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories470 kcal472 kcal−2 kcal
Protein7.1 g7.1 g−0 g
Carbohydrate67.4 g67.8 g−0.4 g
Total fat20.6 g20.7 g−0.1 g
Dietary fiber5.4 g5.4 gSame listed value
Sodium519 mg328 mg+191 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 191 mg more sodium than “Tortilla chips, plain.”

Only this record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Snacks, tortilla chips, plain, white corn, salted.

Listed only in this record: Salt, table.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708207 with FDC 2708202 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708207 versus FDC 2708202 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos),” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708207 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 470 kcal per 100 g becomes 141 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708207

FNDDS food code: 54401111

The scaling for FDC 2708207 can be exact while the match to “Tortilla chips, cool ranch flavor (Doritos)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.