Energy
middle half223 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 228 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 206–246 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 424 calories for 1 sandwich (190 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 190 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 190 g
424calories
Barbecue rib sandwich
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 424 calories for 1 sandwich at 190 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 223 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 26 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 885 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pork, fresh, shoulder, (boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braised, representing 37% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706974: “Barbecue rib sandwich.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706974, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 142.5 g | 318 kcal | 19.5 g | 1.3 g | 664 mg |
| 1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 190 g | 424 kcal | 26 g | 1.7 g | 885 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 237.5 g | 530 kcal | 32.5 g | 2.1 g | 1,107 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Meat and BBQ sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706974’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half223 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half13.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half466 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706974’s 190 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron4 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium137 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium885 mg
≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.1 g
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Barbecue rib sandwich,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706885 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 142.5–237.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 318 kcal and 530 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2 g less total fat than “Barbecue beef sandwich, on white bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braised supplies 37% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Barbecue rib sandwich” fits. Inspect FDC 2706885 when “on white bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBarbecue rib sandwich | 190 g424 kcal | 223 kcal | 13.7 g | 6.5 g | 0.9 g | 466 mg |
| Barbecue pork sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g428 kcal | 238 kcal | 15.5 g | 8.9 g | 2 g | 549 mg |
| Barbecue beef sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g432 kcal | 240 kcal | 17 g | 8.5 g | 2 g | 544 mg |
| Barbecue chicken sandwich, on white bun | 180 g367 kcal | 204 kcal | 15.9 g | 4.4 g | 0.8 g | 531 mg |
| Barbecue pork sandwich, on white bun | 180 g437 kcal | 243 kcal | 15 g | 8.8 g | 0.8 g | 567 mg |
| Barbecue beef sandwich, on white bun | 180 g441 kcal | 245 kcal | 16.5 g | 8.5 g | 0.8 g | 562 mg |
| Barbecue chicken sandwich, on wheat bun | 180 g358 kcal | 199 kcal | 16.5 g | 4.4 g | 2 g | 513 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706974: its source amount is 190 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706974, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
424 kcal
190 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706974, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
885.4 mg≈ 39% Daily ValueCholesterol
70.3 mg≈ 23% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706974’s 190 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706974 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 26 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706974 at 190 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 190 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 424 kcal 223 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 26 g 13.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 50.4 g 26.5 g | 18% 10% |
| Total fat | 12.3 g 6.5 g | 16% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g 0.9 g | 6% 3% |
| Sugars | 17.2 g 9.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 885.4 mg 466 mg | 38% 20% |
| Saturated fat | 4.1 g 2.2 g | 21% 11% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.9 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.3 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 70.3 mg 37 mg | 23% 12% |
| Potassium | 408.5 mg 215 mg | 9% 5% |
| Calcium | 136.8 mg 72 mg | 11% 6% |
| Iron | 4 mg 2.1 mg | 22% 12% |
| Magnesium | 38 mg 20 mg | 9% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 1.7 mg 0.9 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 0.4 µg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 3.8 µg 2 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 97.1 g 51.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706974, approximate percentages divide the displayed 190 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706974 to 6 source inputs totaling 189.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Barbecue rib sandwich” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braised, Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, Sauce, barbecue. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
189.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 10085 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 37% |
| 2 | Sauce, barbecueUSDA ingredient 6150 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 18.5% |
| 3 | Onions, rawUSDA ingredient 11282 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 3.7% |
| 4 | Pickles, cucumber, dill or kosher dillUSDA ingredient 11937 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 3.7% |
| 5 | Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 37% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706974, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat and BBQ sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 223 kcal | 245 kcal | −22 kcal |
| Protein | 13.7 g | 16.5 g | −2.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 26.5 g | 24.9 g | +1.6 g |
| Total fat | 6.5 g | 8.5 g | −2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.9 g | 0.8 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 466 mg | 562 mg | −96 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 22 less calories, 2.8 g less protein, and 2 g less total fat than “Barbecue beef sandwich, on white bun.”
Only this record lists Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braised; Sauce, barbecue; Onions, raw; Pickles, cucumber, dill or kosher dill. Only the comparison record lists Barbecue beef, with sauce. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.
Listed only in this record: Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean only, cooked, braised; Sauce, barbecue; Onions, raw; Pickles, cucumber, dill or kosher dill; and 1 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Barbecue beef, with sauce.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 190 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (190 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular sandwich (180 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706974 with FDC 2706885 at equal mass; use their 190 g and 180 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706974 versus FDC 2706885 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat and bbq sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Barbecue rib sandwich,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706974 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 223 kcal per 100 g becomes 424 kcal at 190 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706974
FNDDS food code: 27520500
The scaling for FDC 2706974 can be exact while the match to “Barbecue rib sandwich” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 190 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.