Energy
lower quarter113 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–156 kcal
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 271 calories for 1 cup (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 240 g
271calories
Beef curry
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 271 calories for 1 cup at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 113 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 18.2 g protein, 3.4 g fiber, and 862 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is curry sauce, representing 39% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706388: “Beef curry.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706388, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 180 g | 203 kcal | 13.6 g | 2.5 g | 646 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 271 kcal | 18.2 g | 3.4 g | 862 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 300 g | 339 kcal | 22.7 g | 4.2 g | 1,077 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 197 exact records in the Meat mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706388’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter113 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half7.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half359 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706388’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C21 mg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium862 mg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.3 g
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beef curry,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706389 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 180–300 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 203 kcal and 339 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 8.6 g less carbohydrate than “Beef curry with rice.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Curry sauce supplies 39% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Beef curry” fits. Inspect FDC 2706389 when the exact wording “Beef curry with rice” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeef curry | 240 g271 kcal | 113 kcal | 7.6 g | 6.6 g | 1.4 g | 359 mg |
| Beef curry with rice | 200 g238 kcal | 119 kcal | 5.6 g | 4.1 g | 1 g | 314 mg |
| Guisada, beef | 255 g293 kcal | 115 kcal | 10.8 g | 6.6 g | 0.5 g | 305 mg |
| Stew, beef | 255 g273 kcal | 107 kcal | 8.8 g | 5.1 g | 1.3 g | 307 mg |
| Beef burgundy | 183 g271 kcal | 148 kcal | 18.5 g | 6 g | 0.8 g | 369 mg |
| Beef stroganoff | 192 g288 kcal | 150 kcal | 10.1 g | 9.3 g | 0.7 g | 458 mg |
| Beef with gravy | 183 g285 kcal | 156 kcal | 21.6 g | 7.1 g | 0 g | 360 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706388: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706388, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
271 kcal
240 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706388, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
861.6 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueVitamin C
21.4 mg≈ 24% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706388’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706388 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 18.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706388 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 271 kcal 113 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 18.2 g 7.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15.7 g 6.5 g | 6% 2% |
| Total fat | 15.8 g 6.6 g | 20% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.4 g 1.4 g | 12% 5% |
| Sugars | 6.1 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 861.6 mg 359 mg | 37% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 4.3 g 1.8 g | 21% 9% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 6.2 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.3 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 48 mg 20 mg | 16% 7% |
| Potassium | 691.2 mg 288 mg | 15% 6% |
| Calcium | 48 mg 20 mg | 4% 2% |
| Iron | 2.8 mg 1.2 mg | 15% 6% |
| Magnesium | 40.8 mg 17 mg | 10% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 21.4 mg 8.9 mg | 24% 10% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 112.8 µg 47 µg | 13% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 186.7 g 77.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706388, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706388 to 5 source inputs totaling 102.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef curry” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Curry sauce, Vegetables as ingredient in curry, Beef, chuck for stew, separable lean and fat, all grades, cooked, braised. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
102.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Curry sauceUSDA ingredient 81312100 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 39% |
| 2 | Vegetables as ingredient in curryUSDA ingredient 99997810 | 40 GM | 40 g | 39% |
| 3 | Beef, chuck for stew, separable lean and fat, all grades, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 23090 | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.5% |
| 4 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 5 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706388, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 113 kcal | 119 kcal | −6 kcal |
| Protein | 7.6 g | 5.6 g | +2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.5 g | 15.1 g | −8.6 g |
| Total fat | 6.6 g | 4.1 g | +2.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g | 1 g | +0.4 g |
| Sodium | 359 mg | 314 mg | +45 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 2 g more protein, 8.6 g less carbohydrate, and 2.5 g more total fat than “Beef curry with rice.”
Only this record lists Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Beef, chuck for stew, separable lean and fat, all grades, cooked, braised; Vegetable oil, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Beef curry; Rice, cooked, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Beef, chuck for stew, separable lean and fat, all grades, cooked, braised; Vegetable oil, NFS; and 1 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Beef curry; Rice, cooked, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (200 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706388 with FDC 2706389 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 200 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706388 versus FDC 2706389 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Beef curry,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706388 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 113 kcal per 100 g becomes 271 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706388
FNDDS food code: 27116100
The scaling for FDC 2706388 can be exact while the match to “Beef curry” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.