Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Bread, cornmeal and molasses calories: 91 per 1 medium or regular slice (32 g)

This exact USDA record reports 91 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (32 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium or regular slice · 32 g

Calories
91 kcal
Protein
2.5 g
Carbohydrate
17.7 g
Total fat
1.2 g
Fiber
0.5 g
Sodium
100 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 32 g

91calories

Bread, cornmeal and molasses

Protein
2.5 g
Carbs
17.7 g
Fat
1.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707622

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 91 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 32 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 285 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.5 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 100 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, representing 46.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 29–123 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707622: “Bread, cornmeal and molasses.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707622, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 slice, snack-size” through “1 large or thick slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 slice, snack-sizeUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 29 kcal 0.8 g 0.2 g 31 mg
1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure 32 g 91 kcal 2.5 g 0.5 g 100 mg
1 large or thick sliceUSDA-listed household measure 43 g 123 kcal 3.4 g 0.7 g 135 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Yeast breads

The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707622’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

285 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
277 kcal
Middle 50%
262–299 kcal

Based on 104 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

7.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
8.8–11.4 g

Based on 104 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–6.3 g

Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

314 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
495 mg
Middle 50%
447–585 mg

Based on 104 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707622’s 32 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium22 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium100 mg

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.6 g

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Bread, cornmeal and molasses,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707623 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 slice, snack-size to 1 large or thick slice

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 43 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 29 kcal to 123 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707623

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 28 kcal less calories than “Bread, cornmeal and molasses, toasted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached supplies 46.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cornmeal and molasses” fits. Inspect FDC 2707623 when “cornmeal and molasses; toasted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Bread, cornmeal and molasses

Exact source wording
“Bread, cornmeal and molasses”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707622 · FNDDS 51115010
Named qualifiers
cornmeal and molasses
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached · Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow · Beverages, water, tap, drinking

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Bread, cornmeal and molasses, toasted

Exact source wording
“Bread, cornmeal and molasses, toasted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707623 · FNDDS 51115020
Named qualifiers
cornmeal and molasses · toasted
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, cornmeal and molasses

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cornmeal and molasses”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBread, cornmeal and molasses 32 g91 kcal 285 kcal 7.9 g 3.8 g 1.6 g 314 mg
Bread, cornmeal and molasses, toasted 29 g91 kcal 313 kcal 8.7 g 4.2 g 1.8 g 346 mg
Bread, pita 57 g157 kcal 275 kcal 9.1 g 1.2 g 2.2 g 536 mg
Bread, barley 28 g77 kcal 274 kcal 10.7 g 4.5 g 4 g 450 mg
Bread, Cuban 20 g54 kcal 272 kcal 10.8 g 2.4 g 2.2 g 602 mg
Bread, raisin 28 g76 kcal 270 kcal 8.8 g 3.3 g 2.5 g 408 mg
Bread, oatmeal 28 g75 kcal 269 kcal 8.4 g 4.4 g 4 g 447 mg

How to compare FDC 2707622: its source amount is 32 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707622, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small or thin/very thin slice

68 kcal

24 g

1 medium or regular slice

91 kcal

32 g

1 large or thick slice

123 kcal

43 g

1 slice, crust not eaten

43 kcal

15 g

1 slice, snack-size

29 kcal

10 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707622, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

1.3 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

17.7 g≈ 6% Daily Value

Magnesium

21.8 mg≈ 5% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707622’s 32 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 32 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 91 kcal Not established
Protein 2.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 17.7 g 6%
Total fat 1.2 g 2%
Dietary fiber 0.5 g 2%
Sugars 4.8 g Not established
Sodium 100.5 mg 4%
Saturated fat 0.6 g 3%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 2.6 mg 1%
Potassium 117.4 mg 2%
Calcium 16.6 mg 1%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 21.8 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 8.6 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 10 g Not established

For FDC 2707622, approximate percentages divide the displayed 32 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707622 to 7 source inputs totaling 883.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, cornmeal and molasses” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Molasses. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

883.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20083 · encyclopedia page available 3 C 411 g 46.5%
2 Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20022 · encyclopedia page available 0.25 C 34.5 g 3.9%
3 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 237 g 26.8%
4 MolassesUSDA ingredient 19304 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 C 160 g 18.1%
5 Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available 2 TB 28 g 3.2%
6 Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, active dryUSDA ingredient 18375 · encyclopedia page available 1 7 g 0.8%
7 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 TS 6 g 0.7%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707622, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories285 kcal313 kcal−28 kcal
Protein7.9 g8.7 g−0.8 g
Carbohydrate55.2 g60.7 g−5.5 g
Total fat3.8 g4.2 g−0.4 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.8 g−0.2 g
Sodium314 mg346 mg−32 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 28 less calories than “Bread, cornmeal and molasses, toasted.”

Only this record lists Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Molasses. Only the comparison record lists Bread, cornmeal and molasses. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Molasses; and 3 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Bread, cornmeal and molasses.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 32 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (32 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 29 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (29 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707622 with FDC 2707623 at equal mass; use their 32 g and 29 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707622 versus FDC 2707623 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Bread, cornmeal and molasses,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707622 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 285 kcal per 100 g becomes 91 kcal at 32 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707622

FNDDS food code: 51115010

The scaling for FDC 2707622 can be exact while the match to “Bread, cornmeal and molasses” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 32 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.