Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin/coating eaten, fast food calories: 323 per 1 thigh (110 g)

This exact USDA record reports 323 calories for 1 thigh (110 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food

Quick facts

1 thigh · 110 g

Calories
323 kcal
Protein
17.9 g
Carbohydrate
14.3 g
Total fat
21.7 g
Fiber
0.3 g
Sodium
823 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 thigh · 110 g

323calories

Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food

Protein
17.9 g
Carbs
14.3 g
Fat
21.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706050

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 323 calories for 1 thigh at 110 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 294 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 17.9 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 823 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fast foods, fried chicken, thigh, meat and skin and breading, representing 79.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 thigh at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 83–397 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706050: “Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706050, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 83 kcal 4.6 g 0.1 g 212 mg
1 thighUSDA-listed household measure 110 g 323 kcal 17.9 g 0.3 g 823 mg
1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 397 kcal 22 g 0.4 g 1,010 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706050’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

294 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

16.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

0.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

748 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706050’s 110 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium22 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium823 mg

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat5 g

≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706052 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 cup, cooked, diced

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 83 kcal to 397 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2706050 versus 2706052

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Fast Foods, Fried Chicken, Thigh, meat and skin and breading

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Fast Foods, Fried Chicken, Thigh, meat and skin and breading supplies 79.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2706050 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food

Exact source wording
“Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706050 · FNDDS 24157320
Named qualifiers
fried · coated · skin / coating eaten · from fast food

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from restaurant

Exact source wording
“Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706052 · FNDDS 24157330
Named qualifiers
fried · coated · skin / coating eaten · from restaurant

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fried”, “coated”, “skin / coating eaten”, and “from fast food”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food 110 g323 kcal 294 kcal 16.3 g 19.7 g 0.3 g 748 mg
Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from fast food 70 g153 kcal 218 kcal 19.4 g 12.8 g 0.2 g 613 mg
Chicken drumstick, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food / restaurant 85 g245 kcal 288 kcal 17.8 g 18.8 g 0.6 g 624 mg
Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from restaurant 110 g323 kcal 294 kcal 16.3 g 19.7 g 0.3 g 748 mg
Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food / restaurant 175 g478 kcal 273 kcal 19.3 g 17 g 0.3 g 549 mg
Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from pre-cooked 110 g305 kcal 277 kcal 18.2 g 19 g 0.3 g 464 mg
Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from raw 110 g300 kcal 273 kcal 19 g 18.6 g 0.2 g 346 mg

How to compare FDC 2706050: its source amount is 110 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706050, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

397 kcal

135 g

1 thigh

323 kcal

110 g

1 oz, cooked

83 kcal

28 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706050, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

822.8 mg≈ 36% Daily Value

Cholesterol

95.7 mg≈ 32% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706050’s 110 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706050 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 17.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706050 at 110 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 823 mg sodium, about 36% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 110 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 323 kcal Not established
Protein 17.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 14.3 g 5%
Total fat 21.7 g 28%
Dietary fiber 0.3 g 1%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 822.8 mg 36%
Saturated fat 5 g 25%
Monounsaturated Fat 9.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 95.7 mg 32%
Potassium 223.3 mg 5%
Calcium 55 mg 4%
Iron 1.4 mg 8%
Magnesium 22 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 15.4 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 53.4 g Not established

For FDC 2706050, approximate percentages divide the displayed 110 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706050 to 4 source inputs totaling 98.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fast Foods, Fried Chicken, Thigh, meat and skin and breading, Breading or batter as ingredient in food, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

98.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Fast Foods, Fried Chicken, Thigh, meat and skin and breadingUSDA ingredient 21471 78 GM 78 g 79.3%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.3 GM 0.3 g 0.3%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5.1%
4 Breading or batter as ingredient in foodUSDA ingredient 99995000 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 15.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706050, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food

USDA category
Chicken, whole pieces
FDC ID
2706050
FNDDS code
24157320

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2706050 and FDC 2706052 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706050 versus FDC 2706052 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2706050 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, amount of absorbed frying fat, portion size, cut and fat trim.

For “Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    amount of absorbed frying fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  4. 04

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706050 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 294 kcal per 100 g becomes 323 kcal at 110 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 thigh has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706050

FNDDS food code: 24157320

The scaling for FDC 2706050 can be exact while the match to “Chicken thigh, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, from fast food” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 110 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.